We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

White Elephant

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
White Elephant
White Elephant
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

422 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 413: English reviews
Totowa, New Jersey
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

The warm friendly welcome we received was the start of a great weekend stay at the White Elephant. The staff was very accommodating and the hotel was outstanding in every way. The room was excellent with a stunning Harbour view. A nice fireplace and very spacious living room area made the stay unbelievably comfortable. The location was also great, just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vincent D
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review

Dear Vincent D; Thank you for posting your review. Stroll Weekend is just amazing. The island re-opens, the sales are AMAZING, the atmosphere is festive and fun. And the outfits, they are priceless. Glad you came! Sincerely, Bettina Landt General Manager

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We are staying in the white elephant residence for Christmas stroll weekend. When we arrived neither tv worked and the engineer had to come to fix them. The fridge door won't close and they will presumably fix that after we go (an engineer was supposed to come yesterday but did not). It's Sunday now, of a two day stay, and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank charliebrown5
Reviewed 15 November 2016

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful experience at this hotel, fantastic service all around from island arrival to departure. We stayed in room with harbour view which I highly recommend. We were starving after our ferry ride and decided to try the hotel restaurant for lunch which was unexpectedly very good, we also had breakfast there. We are already...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review

Dear Adam F; Thank you both for staying with us! Our Harborview rooms really are awesome aren't they? We have Harborview, Partial Harborview and Non-Harborview categories, and they really are all accurate descriptions. OUr cottages and lofts do not have water views. Thank you again and we hope to see you in 2017! Sincerely, Bettina Landt General Manager

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 November 2016

Spent one night there last week, and they really have it buttoned down. Swift pickup at the ferry, and although our room was not ready at arrival, they checked our bags, and they drove us back into town for lunch. they called us on the cell when the room was ready. Great view from very nice room, well appointed, great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bluewaterk330
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review

Dear bluewaterk330; Thank you for posting your review! Our rooms and location are lovely aren't they? Some are near the restaurant/bar, so while they have impressive views of the harbor, they can be noisy. I would recommend paying close attention to the room description if you book online, as we do describe them as "noisy". When in doubt, please call...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

What more can I say about this place other than what a wonderful stay. My wife and I recently visited for 3 nights as a getaway relaxation trip. The staff were so helpful and inviting. The rooms well very well kept and could. Or have asked for a better place To be on the island.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rory T
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review

Dear Rory T; Thank you for sharing your opinion of us! I am glad you were able to get away for three nights. That's always a treat! We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Bettina Landt Genreal Manager

United States
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Our return ferry to the mainland was cancelled due to bad weather; as 'ferry refugees', we needed a last-minute place to stay on Nantucket. The White Elephant had room and we booked for 1 night. The hotel staff were very welcoming, friendly and well-trained. Our room was of an average size with a Harbor view and a comfortable bed. Crisp...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah Ann A
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review

Dear Deborah Ann A; Thank you for posting your review! It sounds like you enjoyed our amenities, even as a 'ferry refugee'! Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Bettina Landt General Manager

Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Visited in the last week of October. Hotel was quiet but staff were friendly and attentive. Stayed in a ground floor suite. Suite was spacious comprising a king bed and a sofa bed for the kids. Only slight flaw was the evening turn down service that failed to make the sofa bed up - we returned late from a meal...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon D
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review

Dear Simon D; Thank you for staying with us! We are so glad you did. I apologize that housekeeping didn't make up your sofabed one night. We do have housekeeping on property until 11 in the evening (even in October) and 24 hours in season, so please don't hesitate to call us to assist! Thank you again for recommending us,...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We were given a corner room with our own private balcony overlooking the water. The bed is quite high so may be difficult for short people. The bed linens were the softest I have ever felt. Robes and slippers were awaiting us in the closet. The bathroom is quite large but not a lot of space around the sink for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank spaintravelerAtlanta
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review

Dear spaintravelerAtlanta; Thank you for your detailed review! You noticed our sheets, robes, slipper, amenities and towels! These are all items we absolutely pride ourselves in and love hearing that they are enjoyed! Our shuttle drivers do meet all the fast ferries that come in to the island, and we do offer a complimentary in town drop off service for...

Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Accommodations were lovely. Location was perfect; easy walk to Lola 41 where dinner was excellent. The staff were knowledgeable and friendly. They brought our bags to the boat so we could enjoy our final afternoon unencumbered.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erica W
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review

Dear Erica W; I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time on the island! Lola 41 is fun isn't it? Thank you for taking advantage of our service to bring bags to the boat! It makes the day a little better for sure. Please note that we do ask our guests to claim their bags from our...

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Great hotel, beautiful setting, perfect location and good service, very friendly staff. Our room was charming, albeit a bit small but we didn't have many options as we booked last minute. It was lovely and I would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
WhiteElephant1, General Manager at White Elephant, responded to this review

Dear Lauren R; Thank you for posting your review. Our rooms vary in size. Funny thing is that the rooms above the bar, while they are a bit noisier, are nice and big and have amazing views. If the size of the room is very important, it really is a good idea to call us and double check before selecting....

614 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (50)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (481)
Viewed
Amenities (79)
Viewed
Harborview Suite (49)
Viewed
Main Street Loft (123)
Viewed
Non-Harborview Suite (41)
Viewed
One Bedroom Garden Cottage (53)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room (Above Bar) (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.2 km away
White Elephant Village | Residences & Inn
0.5 km away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#8 of 13 in Nantucket
236 reviews
0.6 km away
Union Street Inn
Union Street Inn
#2 of 13 in Nantucket
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
The Wauwinet
The Wauwinet
#10 of 13 in Nantucket
209 reviews
4.3 km away
Nantucket Inn
Nantucket Inn
#7 of 13 in Nantucket
257 reviews
0.7 km away
76 Main
76 Main
#3 of 13 in Nantucket
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
Food & drink at the hotel
Brant Point Grill
Brant Point Grill
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The White Elephant has been an exclusive summertime retreat since the 1920s. The height of preppy New England elegance, this is the place where brides dream of being married and families come for generations. A stone's throw from the center of town, this 64-room island treasure has accommodations ranging from garden cottages to suites on the harbor. The hotel's mascot, a white elephant named Trunket, presides over its greener than green lawn. Set with plush lounge chairs, it overlooks bustling Nantucket Harbor and calm Children's Beach. Brant Point Grill serves up a famed Sunday brunch, with their signature Lobster Bloody Mary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Elephant

Address: 50 Easton Street, PO Box 2580, Nantucket, MA 02554
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Price Range: $352 - $3,586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Elephant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your White Elephant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Elephant Nantucket
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nantucket
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from White Elephant staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Stratham, NH
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from White Elephant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Harborview room was a long walk from lobby, but worth it”
 of 5 bubbles bluewaterk330, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try for a room with Harbor views or a balcony.”
 of 5 bubbles deb0rahanna, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the restaurant as it can be noisy when the hotel is busy.”
 of 5 bubbles spaintravelerAtlanta, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Well away from the reception area”
 of 5 bubbles deborahp21, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“ask for a harbor view room”
 of 5 bubbles laurapaine2016, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5