We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hawthorn House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hawthorn House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 103: English reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just returned from a fantastic stay at the Hawthorne House for Nantucket's Christmas Stroll. From our arrival to our departure I cannot say enough. Mitch and Diane graciously welcomed us, helped us with all our needs and could not have been more accommodating. The beautiful artwork and artistry throughout the Inn gives such a warm and comfortable feeling, be sure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
Ottawa
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I spent a couple of nights, last week, at the lovely Hawthorn House, in Nantucket. In town, location couldn't have been better. It was easy for me to walk to the ferry, even with all the stuff I had. The hosts are very nice people, lovely to chat with. My room was located on the second floor and I had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IrishSheaEyes
Man-from-Nantucket, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for the wonderful review. We do so love to be told that we're getting it right. Please come again!

Quincy, Massachusetts
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Great little spot walking distance from ferries right in the middle of shops and restaurants. We had a cute room with a balcony deck area. Ours had a separate private bath across the hall- sounds scary but actually was not bad at all- we had our own key and as long as we kept it locked, it was not an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skeeterplustbone
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

A nice place in a good location, but nothing special. The room was clean and comfortable. We didn't have much interaction with the owners. Breakfast was in the form of vouchers for a choice of three restaurants in the neighborhood (the smoked salmon bagel at The Bean was excellent).

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BadgerMarty
Man-from-Nantucket, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. And, thank you for pointing out that we have clean, comfortable rooms, that we treat our guests to an excellent breakfast at their choice of three local restaurants and that we have a terrific location. We are an owner occupied business--available for interaction with our guests all day, every day. We believe that "special" like...

McKinney, Texas
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Location of hawthorn house is good to old downtown and the ferry. You can walk from the ferry as its only three or four block. Beautiful area. Only complaint is our room is too small. Bearly room for a queen bed. Tiny bath. Just too small to stay in and for this reason I will not stay here again. If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kma M
Man-from-Nantucket, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review. We are, indeed, very proud of our excellent location in the downtown historic district. As stated in past responses, the Hawthorn House was built in 1849. As such, some of our rooms are small if compared to modern hotels. It's unfortunate that you didn't ask to see some of our other rooms during your...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Clean room; kind hosts. Instead of bfast, offer vouchers to three cafes in town, which was nice and plenty of money on them to take care of bfast each day! Daily room service, too. Can't beat the location, and wasn't noisy at night (and we were on the first floor, front room). Would rec this place to others!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amanda l
Man-from-Nantucket, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank You, for your kind words!

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Location is excellent. I suppose this place is affordable, for Nantucket. The rooms are decorated to look old...old fashioned wallpaper and such, but the carpet and bedding and all new and the bathroom is relatively modern. Bed comfortable. Window AC unit does the job and also helps block out external noise. No restaurant or food service of any kind on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeeingSites
Man-from-Nantucket, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you for this accurate review. Affordable is relative, especially in season. Within a block of us you could pay more than twice what we charge for a similar room. We're open all year long so when the summer madness is over the rates are scaled back by almost 2/3rds ... When describing our decor we like to say the...

Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

Looking for a great place to stay in the heart of Nantucket!!!! Well spend a weekend at the hawthorn house! This bed and breakfast was a very relaxing place to stay! The beds were very comfortable and the rooms had a very antique vibe.Making it a more enjoyable stay!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel O
Man-from-Nantucket, Owner at Hawthorn House, responded to this review

Thank you, Daniel! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Do come back again.

Manchester, Connecticut
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend while we attended a friend's wedding. This was one of the cheapest places we came across, although I dare use that word when describing anything in Nantucket. We were in a small corner room that had a small balcony but no bathroom. Our bathroom was located across the hall. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank filmgirl325
Columbia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 5 May 2016

Why would you go to Nantucket and not stay in an old Nantucket house? You can select your room when you book. We had room #2 just inside the front door. It had a side door on to a porch and was very comfortable. You could throw a stone to the information office, the Whaling Museum was very close and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vickie K

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nantucket hotels
0.1 km away
Jared Coffin House
Jared Coffin House
#9 of 13 in Nantucket
234 reviews
0.3 km away
Regatta Inn
Regatta Inn
#1 of 39 in Nantucket
306 reviews
0.4 km away
Centerboard Inn
Centerboard Inn
#2 of 39 in Nantucket
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Seven Sea Street Inn
Seven Sea Street Inn
#3 of 39 in Nantucket
457 reviews
0.1 km away
21 Broad Hotel
21 Broad Hotel
#4 of 39 in Nantucket
165 reviews
0.2 km away
The Periwinkle B&B
The Periwinkle B&B
#19 of 39 in Nantucket
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Superior location and value distinguish this attractive 1849 guesthouse. 9 rooms all have private baths, wi-fi, mini-refrigerators, and air-conditioning in season. Breakfast is provided in two local restaurants using a voucher system. Open year round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hawthorn House

Address: 2 Chestnut St, Nantucket, MA 02554-3507
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Nantucket
Price Range: $196 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hawthorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hawthorn House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Providence, Rhode Island
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hawthorn House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You are given breakfast vouchers for 3 local places to eat, as they do not have kitchen facilities available. I found this quite enjoyable.”
 of 5 bubbles IrishSheaEyes, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room too small”
 of 5 bubbles kmam2015, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Select your room when you book.”
 of 5 bubbles 400vickiek, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“Look at individual room descriptions carefully, they are all different.”
 of 5 bubbles ke312, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 is quiet and the detached bathroom is no problem”
 of 5 bubbles N6406DJamya, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay