We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Casa Santo Domingo

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Casa Santo Domingo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Casa Santo Domingo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 690: English reviews
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 5 January 2017

When you enter the halls of this innovative hotel/museum, you enter another "world." The colonial decor, manicured gardens, works of art on walls, and the archeological findings were once a convent for nuns of the order of Santo Domingo de Guzman. If you don't stay at the hotel, you can still walk around and even take in a meal at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VKauf2014
IrisGomez, Gerente at Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. Its good to know that you enjoyed your experience at Santo Cielo and at CSD. We hope you return soon.

Goa, India
Reviewed 5 January 2017

A beautiful property with a lot of art pieces around. Nice landscaped gardens on this vast property. We didn't stay overnight and went only for lunch. Simple but hearty Guatemalan lunch of rice, beans, fried bananas, guacamole, chicken fried and beef. Lovely desserts. I don't know the name but they tasted like the spanish churos. Will definitely stay if back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeromeMarrelGoa
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

Centrally located hotel in Antigua. The service was very attentive. The hotel is clean, modern and has a lot to see. The spa was a pleasant surprise with its private pool and hot tubes and great lounging. Was very accommodating for families. :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea T
Walnut Creek, United States
Reviewed 3 January 2017

We had a wedding at the hotel. It was like movies. All guests were blown away. The food was beyond fantastic. The service was excellent. Our only complaint was that they were not willing to give us a block of rooms for our guests because the wedding was during the holidays. The other complaint was that they had promised us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elahe H
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Reviewed 3 January 2017

This hotel hasn't changed in 16 years... or for that matter a few hundred. It still caters to older tourists (I mean seniors) and young people who spend silly money to stay here because of it's name and apparent lustre. It is the least fun of most accomodation in Antigua and is more like an open-air overly polished museum than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuitcasedSoul_MGray
IrisGomez, Gerente at Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to know that you didn't enjoy your experience and hope to have the chance to serve you in the future.

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We visited this beautiful hotel for a wedding and we were just in awe with its beauty. It was once a convent but was converted to a Hotel and a Museum. As soon as you walk in you are recieved by the attentive staff and made to feel at home. Once we were in the room it was comfortable and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sparkdiva
IrisGomez, Gerente at Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your detailed review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed many of our services and mostly, that you were well taken care of. Please let us know if you plan a return visit.

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Great Hotel With all amenities I highly recommend you make reservations in advance , Restaurant is great we had to wait a few minutes even if we were guests at hotel. Beautiful place if not the best hotel in Antigua. Visit the museums and art all over the place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlos M
IrisGomez, Gerente at Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts here. We appreciate your feedback, which we will certainly use as we continue to better the experience at Casa Santo Domingo. We strive to provide excellence, and hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again as you deserve.

Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

This is probably my favorite hotel in my favorite city. The hotel sits atop the ruins of a monastery. You sleep with decades of history. Don't miss the complimentary tour of the grounds & museums to understand exactly how precious this property is. Even the "standard" room is first class as is the entire staff. At different stations throughout there...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cheryl H
IrisGomez, Gerente at Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Its rewarding to know you had such a nice experience in La Antigua and in CSD. Please return soon!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 19 December 2016

The hotel has a lovely garden and pool and is interesting in that it is a former convent and has a museum attached to it. Staff were attentive and courteous and meals were superb. all in all, a highly recommendable place in which to stay or have a meal when visiting the adjacent museum.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alec s
IrisGomez, Gerente at Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and also for your recommendation. Hope you can come back soon!

Florida City, Florida
Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

The hotel grounds are great with a lot of vegetation. The convent/hotel, has been restored. The wedding/food etc was fabulous. If you expect Mexican type of food, you will be disappointed. Guatemalan food is better ( my opinion). We rented a van from Hertz located in the complex for 12 of us and did our own tour with the help...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mike B
IrisGomez, Gerente at Casa Santo Domingo, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review! We are pleased to know you enjoyed your visit and had a wonderful experience. We hope you return in a near future.

1,042 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1009)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (370)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (98)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (15)
Viewed
Other (396)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigua hotels
23.3 km away
Porta Hotel Antigua
Porta Hotel Antigua
#2 of 81 in Antigua
782 reviews
22.8 km away
El Convento Boutique Hotel
23.5 km away
Camino Real Antigua
Camino Real Antigua
#7 of 81 in Antigua
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 km away
Hotel Cirilo
Hotel Cirilo
#4 of 81 in Antigua
390 reviews
23.2 km away
Hotel Casa Antigua
Hotel Casa Antigua
#26 of 81 in Antigua
401 reviews
23.4 km away
Meson Panza Verde
Meson Panza Verde
#8 of 81 in Antigua
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Casa Santo Domingo

Address: 3a Calle Oriente No 28 A, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Sacatepequez Department > Antigua
Price Range: $204 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Santo Domingo 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Santo Domingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Santo Domingo Hotel Antigua
Casa Santo Domingo Antigua Guatemala
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Antigua
#2 Business Hotel in Antigua
#4 Luxury Hotel in Antigua
#9 Romantic Hotel in Antigua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa Santo Domingo staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Casa Santo Domingo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We liked room 3 for added privacy. Bring food/drinks - has a bar fridge but no kitchen and no shop up there.”
  • private patio
  • private bed swing
  • private hot tub.
 of 5 bubbles Tanya1111, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“we have a suite which was huge”
 of 5 bubbles 98denisb, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles 466alecs, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to ask for a room with volcano view!”
 of 5 bubbles JUW65, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go for one of the rooms with jacuzzi, it's worth the extra price”
  • jacuzzi
 of 5 bubbles arthemise21, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5