We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Manichan Guesthouse

Travellers' Choice award winner
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Manichan Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

495 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Manichan Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 383: English reviews
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Manichan is a beautiful guesthouse run by a wonderful family who have great advice and information about Luang Prabang. The location in the middle of the morning market is terrific, and they have one of the best breakfasts in town.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle W
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Fantastic home cooked breakfast, served by their delightful children. Peter was very helpful organising any day trips we wanted. The half day elephant visit is a must! Thanks Peter and Family!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mandy0z
Luang Prabang Province, Laos
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Manichan is centrally located in LP. It's a really friendly, welcoming set up. Peter, with all the family, are helpful and attentive. The guesthouse is itself beautiful. A delicious and generous optional breakfast with home made produce makes for sociable start to the day. Great place, great stay. Reliable advice too on travel, visas and activities around. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nong K
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in Manichan guesthouse for 4 nights and another 2 nights when I came back from Northern Laos. I enjoyed my staying here, manager of the guesthouse, Peter, and whole his family was so nice to me, I felt very welcome here. I had a great room with AC, wooden floor and shared bathroom. Room was very nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anja L
Beijing, China
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Luang Prabang was easily my favorite place in Laos, and Manichan was its perfect accompaniment - unbeatable central location, nicely designed grounds, and super nice owners/guests. I booked a single room with shared bath, was upgraded to a double with shared bath, and I loved my room (#8) in the corner with two walls of windows. The shared bath never...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yang C
manichanguesthouse, Manager at Manichan Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review, Yang, we're happy that you've enjoyed your stay and we'll take care of the extra light in Room 8.. Happy travels!

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The guesthouse is pretty and in a nice location, but this is were the positives end. The owner is very unfriendly and, frankly, should not be in the hospitality business. He loves to compare his place to Europe, but he is not in Europe, so his comments are not applicable. I could go into details about his rude and defensive...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alaina L
manichanguesthouse, Manager at Manichan Guesthouse, responded to this review

Manichan guesthouse is also fabulous, according to 95 % of our guests and I'm really sorry if I had been to frank to this guest who I don't even remember. At this moment, we have 12 happy guests in our guesthouse, I'm pretty sure. Actually, we are at the end of the process of building a new school in Luang...

Munich
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I planned to stay a week in this place but shorten it. Because I did not feel welcome...no smile from the owner and found out that there are hotels and guesthouses that are offering a double room including fan, Aircon, WiFi, balcony, mosquito net and excellent breakfast for half(!!!) the price. Even ironed laundry is have price. So this place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bine3011
manichanguesthouse, General Manager at Manichan Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear travelers, We do not wish to waste to much time on this review ; - After 21 e-mail exchanges, this lady decided to book our single room with shared bathroom for 9 nights. - After 1 minute arrival, she decided to take the Twin room with private bathroom, the only room with windows to the courtyard, and she slept...

Sousse, Tunisia
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Manichan Guesthouse is located on a quiet side street and is a wonderful place to stay. The rooms open out onto a courtyard where there is a large table (for those who wish to be social with other guests) and several smaller ones (for those who wish to be more private). Peter, Manichan, their children and their new puppy,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JFTrumm
Paris, France
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent 3 nights at Manichan's in a room with shared bathroom. Although the house is very pretty and well located, we haven't been confortable from the start. First we were greeted by a woman (we presume it was Manichan, but no introduction was made) who told us we could have the room but that she could not perform the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Loreley75
manichanguesthouse, Manager at Manichan Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for all the positive details in your review. ..the guesthouse's location was good, the house is very pretty, brilliant breakfast, clean bed sheet and good bed and bathroom as well. Ratings should be about the quality of the guesthouse, not about your personal feelings... Also the AC works perfectly. I've even tested it yesterday, together with...

Boulder Creek
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Manichan and Peter are wonderful charming hosts. The private en suite rooms are very comfortable and right off the lovely courtyard where breakfast is served each morning. Breakfast consists of fresh baked croissants and bread, orange juice, and coffee. Eggs, omelets and pancakes are prepared to order. Walking around the old city and day and night markets is easy from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RedwoodResident

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.8 km away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#21 of 69 in Luang Prabang
295 reviews
0.8 km away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
257 reviews
1.3 km away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
862 reviews
0.8 km away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 259 in Luang Prabang
643 reviews
0.1 km away
Golden Lotus Place
Golden Lotus Place
#2 of 259 in Luang Prabang
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Colonial style house (once a hospital) in the middle of the UNESCO World Heritage section of Luang Prabang. Lovely garden and balcony where you can relax and swap stories with fellow guests. We are just 30 meters from the Mekong River and morning market and 130 meters from the Royal Palace Museum and Night Market. Famous breakfast and lots of helpful advice. It's our goal to make your stay relaxing and stress free. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manichan Guesthouse

Address: Unit 4/143 Ban Pakham, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Price Range: $21 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Manichan Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manichan Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Manichan Hotel Luang Prabang
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Manichan Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Manichan Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room number 8 is a corner room so you get airflow through it with the windows”
Philsgonemissing, 22 May 2017 | Read review
“See if you can get a room on top floor as opposed as to right on the patio.”
paulandc0, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We stayed ground floor, next to outside breakfast room which has wi-fi .He does have upstairs rooms which would accommodate families”
358jand, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs in the shared bathroom section you don't hear the guests chatting as much as you do downstairs around the courtyard.”
findlater, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 6 had a plumbing issue when we were there.”
528raeleneh, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$15* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$17
Agoda.comUS$16
HotelQuickly
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates