We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Satri House

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Satri House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

496 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Satri House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 371: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 17 November 2015

We (9 ladies) stayed at SATRI HOUSE 22 October for 3 nights. What an amazing tranquil place to stay. I cannot fault the service,the rooms, the breakfast or the staff. It was decorated with so many antiquities that everyday you discovered something new. It has 2 pools and lounge rooms that are devine. The Spa there was fantastic - had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Di L
Lamphoune V, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review

Dear Di L Sydney, Australia Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at SATRI House. Guest feed back is highly appreciated as it is the best mean at our disposal to correct potential wrongdoings. We are delighted to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. SATRI House...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

As hotels go, this is probably one of the most beautiful I have ever stayed in. It is an old palace converted into hotel use, and has been done so with a lot of attention to detail, which makes for a wonderful experience visually. There are many ornaments and original antiques scattered around , which also makes it feel homely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Captain B
Lamphoune V, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review

Dear Captain B London, United Kingdom Thank you for having taken the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at SATRI House. This feed back is very much appreciated since it enables us to correct wrong doings in a fairly prompt manner. Your comment about the buildings floor without carpet is well taken. Even though...

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2015

This is a lovely boutique type hotel set in beautiful gardens. It is about 15 minutes walk from the main street (shops & resturarants). Our room 6.1.1 was huge with it's own terrace, well furnished and spotlessly clean. The restuarant was lovely and the food good. All the staff were great and looked after us extremely well.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian L
Lamphoune V, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review

Dear Brian L Southend-On-Sea United Kingdom Thank you for having posted a comment on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at SATRI House. Guest comments are of utmost importance to us since they enable us to see if our operations are matching the targets set. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay and appreciated our facilities...

Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile

This place is absolutely worth staying even if it's not exactly downtown. Just a few min bike ride away from the night market and palace, it's gorgeous grounds is a photo op at every turn. Staff is very friendly. Bike rentals are free. Bar next to pool if you don't want to far for a drink. croissants at breakfast are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yi H
Lamphoune V, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review

Dear Yi H, Thank you for having taken the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at SATRI House. Guest comments are very helpful to evaluate whether our operations are in line with the defined standards of the house. We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 6 November 2015

I went to Luang Prabang and stayed in Satri House for 5 nights. I originally wondered if this would be too long but the hotel's proximity to the town centre was perfect for morning and evening walks into town as well as short bike rides. The hotel provided comfortable bicycles for this and this was a highlight of the trip...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Soraya S
Lamphoune V, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review

Dear Soraya S Hong Kong Region, China Many thanks for having taken the time to place a comment on Trip Advisor following your recent visit at SATRI House. These comments are extremely useful to promptly correct potential wrong doings. We are delighted to read that you seem to have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel's "fleet" of bikes...

Cornwall, UK
Reviewed 5 November 2015

Satri House is a wonderful hotel tucked away at the end of he town of Luang Prabang but just a short walk (30 mins) a quick bicycle ride (15 mins) or an even quicker tuk tuk journey (5 mins) into Luang Prabang itself. The hotel is truly beautiful and has a wonderful serene atmosphere. Due to the layout of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bizzylizzy56
Lamphoune V, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review

Dear Bizzylizzy56 Cornwall, UK Thank you for having taken the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at SATRI House. This direct guest feed back is essential to us and gives us a tool to immediately rectify potential mistakes. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. SATRI House was conceived...

Reviewed 5 November 2015

If you are after old world charm - this is the place for you! Filled with gorgeous antiques, including working antique telephones, I felt like I was living in the set of Indochine. The rooms are lovely and food excellent. Its a little out of town, but a pure haven of tranquility.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie F
Lamphoune V, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review

Dear Sophie F, Thank you for having taken the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to SATRI House. This immediate feed back enables us to remedy potential wrong doings in a fast way. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at SATRI House which was more designed as a private...

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 31 October 2015

The only complaint is that we could not stay longer. Beautifully laid out complex full of (semi)antiques. Colonial room (222), but last time the room (which number?) was seriously larger. The spa is good, but overpriced, certainly compared to elsewhere in LP but also to other spa's in high end resorts. Service is impeccable. Take a bike and go around....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PieterdeN
Lamphoune V, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review

Dear PieterdeN The Hague, The Netherlands Thank you for having taken the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at SATRI House. Guests feedback is always appreciated as it is our main mean of rectifying potential wrong doings. Your complaint is well taken and we will be happy to extend your stay at the occasion...

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2015

We stayed for 4 nights in two deluxe rooms and loved everything about the hotel. We didn't see a junior suite but were more than happy with our rooms which were located on the top floor with balconies. The rooms were spacious with large shower rooms and separate toilets and free wifi. The hotel was fully occupied when we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
Lamphoune V, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review

Dear Ann B Truro, United Kingdom Thank you so much for having taken the time to write a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at SATRI House. This kind of feedback is appreciated since it enables us to take immediate corrective actions whenever necessary. However, we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us....

St Nectan's Glen
Reviewed 2 October 2015

I booked this hotel for my daughter who was backpacking around Asia because I needed an important document signed and the Hotel said they could arrange everything from downloading the document, printing it and after signing DHL it back to the UK. Well not only did they do this but my daughter had a fantastic stay at the hotel, she...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank St-Nectans-Glen
Lamphoune V, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review

Dear St-Nectans-Glen St-Nectans&#39’s Glen Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at SATRI House. Comments, negative and positive, are the best way we have to assess our performance and we are grateful to all writers. We are glad to read that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us...

714 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (356)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (94)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (34)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (107)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (300)
Viewed
Amenities (30)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (37)
Viewed
Other (78)
Viewed
Main Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Satri Suite (40)
Viewed
Small Pool (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.1 km away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
783 reviews
1.2 km away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 70 in Luang Prabang
525 reviews
0.9 km away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#10 of 70 in Luang Prabang
609 reviews
1.3 km away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
714 reviews
1.8 km away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 70 in Luang Prabang
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the city, Satri House was built at the turn of the last century as the residence of Prince Souphanouvong. This building owns to Unesco Heritage. Satri House was refurbished in 2002 by Mrs. Lamphoune Voravongsa and has been run since as a hotel. During 2008 and 2012 the hotel has been enlarged with the addition of more colonial style buildings consisting of 14 Deluxe rooms, 14 junior suites and 3 Satri House suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Satri House

Address: 57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos
Region: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Price Range: $157 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Satri House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Satri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satri House Hotel Luang Prabang
Satri Hotel Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Satri House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Sintra

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Satri House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on 2nd floor away from roads”
 of 5 bubbles Charmaine_Ezra, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I think the modern rooms may be furthest from the noisy bar but check with management.”
 of 5 bubbles LoveFrenchWine, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose 2nd floor as noise travels on wood floors”
 of 5 bubbles P4434YPtimr, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good. No elevator due to this being a UNESCO building but staff carries all the luggage up to your room.”
 of 5 bubbles 753sherit, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“too many mosquitoes everywhere.”
 of 5 bubbles FCQB, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5