We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kamu Lodge

263 reviews
Save
Traveller (203)
Dining (29)
Room & Suite (25)
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good34%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“gold panning”(22 reviews)
“rice planting”(22 reviews)
“local village”(30 reviews)
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Paid Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (263)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Kamu Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
67
52
17
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
67
52
17
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold panningrice plantinglocal villagesolar powerwater buffalopaddy fieldspak ou cavesvillage childrenone nightvillage visitoptional activitiesmekong riveradjacent villageliving conditionsday cruiseoil lampstraditional laos food
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
81 - 85 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We were one English couple along with a 30+ group from France. We were made very welcome and were well looked after by Lee the lodge guide who accompanied us on site experiences. His English and detailed knowledge were exceptional. The food was OK and...More

1  Thank Hogbaggy
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Our trip started with a beautiful trip up the Mekong on a large long boat with other guests. Coffee was served. Very civilised and we just sat soaking up the changing scenery and life going on along the banks. Very relaxing and stunningly beautiful. It...More

1  Thank mabel98
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We spent one night at Kamu Lodge. We were one of only two couples in the property. Platform tents with minimal lighting are arranged along a series of dirt and stone pathways that are poorly lighted at night. The bed covers were soiled and the...More

3  Thank Kathy S
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a really special place about 2 hours upriver of Luang Prabang, right on the Mekong. it's definitely worth staying here if you want peace and quiet and to learn a bit about Lao culture and meet local people. When we arrived by boat...More

Thank Anna H
Response from VillaMaly, General Manager at Kamu LodgeResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Anna H, Sunny greetings from Luang Prabang... I would like to take the opportunity to thank you very much for your valuable feedback about your experience at Kamu Lodge. Without a doubt, i am sure that the whole team will be delighted to learn...More

Reviewed 15 October 2013

We did a 2 night stay at Kamu lodge and I think this is probably the perfect amount of time, shorter and you wouldn't really get a feel for the place. I think if you were after a retreat into nature a longer trip might...More

1  Thank Mellou33
View more reviews
PreviousNext
1151617181930
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Things to do
Restaurant
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (203)
Dining (29)
Room & Suite (25)
Family and Play Areas (7)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Neung V
15 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from GM_Laos | Property representative |
Hi - children are more than welcome to stay at Kamu Lodge, the thing to be mindful of (as the other traveler has suggested) is that the only access to and from the lodge is by boat. It's a steep walk on sand from the boat... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Tents 2,3 and 4 are in sheltered positions, under trees providing good shade and a view towards river."
Read review
"All fales (fortified tents) are in good locations"
Read review
"Make sure you save some time to relax in the chill out area, in the beautiful surroundings."
Read review
"Tents are all nicely placed on the hillside up from the river, no bad tents."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing