We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

El Hostal de Su Merced

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
El Hostal de Su Merced
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

519 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 246: English reviews
Start your review of El Hostal de Su Merced
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you want a big anonymous impersonal chain hotel, this is not for you. On the other hand, if you want a quirky, beautiful, traditional one, with friendly staff who treat you as an individual, then we can't recommend it highly enough. The rooms are set on several floors, each off lovely patios that act as sun traps. At the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
Carmen G, Guest Relations Manager at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review

Dear Martin, It is wonderful to meet people like you, who really value ancient buildings and the care to keep them as originals as they were built. Thank you so much fo your kind words. They encourage us to keep up the good work, get our best wishes fo your trip home. It will be great to receive you any...

Danville, Kentucky
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

su Merced is a refurbished hacienda-style place with a central patio, rooms on 3 floors, and a very nice roof-top area for views of Sucre. Rooms are comfortable with heaters if needed. The restaurant is not remarkable, but does have an excellent breakfast buffet. The outstanding feature of the hotel is its most helpful (and largely multi-lingual) staff. The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kukulcandve
Carmen G, Guest Relations Manager at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for such a thoughtful review. It is just rewarding and prizing that you have had a delightful stay and keep good memories from us. We are more than proud to have had you as our guest. There is no doubt that we will be more than please to recieve you anytime you visit us...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent hotel. Very well located. Beautiful revamp old house. Very comfortable rooms with all the amenities of modern times. Excellent breakfast . Closed to all the historical places to visit. Visit upper late in the afternoon for a magnificent dusk picture

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmoros2205
Carmen G, Guest Relations Manager at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you very much for such a kind review.We are just rewarded for being chosen by you, even more if you have had a delightful stay and kept good memories from us. We are more than proud to have had you as our guest. There is no doubt that we will be more than pleased to recieve you...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 17 April 2017

It's a beautiful colonial style building. Room is spacious and comfortable. Breakfast is just excellent. They even provide drinking water on every floor and it's so nice and maybe the only hotel that we found free drinking water. I would give it full marks if there's no carpet. We got good exchange rate at the reception. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosaHongKong_China
Carmen G, Guest Relations Manager at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review

Dear Rosa, Thank you so much for your feedback and sharing your opinion with us, we do appreciate your kind reviews about our services and what can be improved, we would like to invite you any time to contact us and share your valuable ideas with us. We will be honored to receive you once again. Our warmest regards Raúl...

Reviewed 15 April 2017

My parents and I spent 3 nights in Sucre and wanted to book a hotel that was central and beautiful. This hotel met all of our expectations and surpassed them! We walked in and were immediately blown away by how beautiful the facility was. The staff was incredibly kind (especially Brenda, the concierge) and helpful. Just a few minutes walk...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Emma F
Carmen G, Guest Relations Manager at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review

Dear Emma, Thank you so much for your review and sharing your opinion with us, we do appreciate your kind remarks about our services. We were priviledged to have you here in Sucre we will love to receive you anytime soon. At your service. Raúl Espíndola desumerced.com

Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights for work. After reading the great reviews I decided to book this hotel for me and 3 other colleagues. What a disappointment. I had to change bedroom because my room was not fresh and had any windows that I could open without leaving me exposed to the outside (as the place is classical...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MLivia
Carmen G, Guest Relations Manager at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your time to post your review. It is important for us that you know all your concerns and observations are cared about during your staying and after it. Should we had had the chance to know of the details you weren't pleased about, be certain we would have been more than happy to accomodate them...

Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Our time in Sucre was memorable mostly due to our stay at Hotel de Su Merced. We sadly only had two nights there but I would have been happy to sty much longer. The decor is beautiful and comfortable and the many terraces and seating areas including a roof top terrace make for a perfect place to enjoy at cerveza...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary P
Carmen G, Guest Relations Manager at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review

Dear Rosemary, Thank you for your time and visit, lastly to share your experience with our travelling community. We are most grateful for you choosing us and hope to receive you anytime soon back. Our best wishes and regards. Raúl Espíndola desumerced.com

Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

This hostal is very good located in a just few minut walking from Plaza 25 de Mayo. Ee could go walking to all mainly tourist points in Sucre. The rooms are confortable e very clean. Excelent breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gloria T
Carmen G, Guest Relations Manager at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review

Dear Gloria, thank you very much for your nice review, it's delightful to hear about your staying in our hotel, as always the most rewarding is to know you are pleased with our services. Once again, thank you for giving us the chance of being part of your journey. Be welcome any time you want to visit our city. Raúl...

Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Top notch. Beautiful decorated rooms the hotel has an impressive colonial design with great view of the city rooftops and is located 2 blocks from the main square. staff is very kind and helpful. they went out of their way to accommodate my 6 month old baby. tasty buffet breakfast. And then it is really good price. I wish I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander_ccc
Carmen G, Guest Relations Manager at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review

Dear Alexander, It is not enough to thank you so much for such a kind and lovely, get our greatest appreciation. Accomplishing customer satisfaction is the best reward we have. We know for sure we have succeded whe our guests are happy with what our house and city has to offer. Receive our best wishes and regards, it will be...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We stayed here for three nights in late January. The hotel is characterful and set around a central atrium. There is a roof terrace with views out over Sucre. It is well located near the centre of town. The staff were all friendly and helpful; the room was comfortable, clean and well equipped and the breakfast excellent. Would thoroughly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndrewBrand
Carmen G, Guest Relations Manager at El Hostal de Su Merced, responded to this review

Dear Andrew! Thank you very much for your comments and sharing your experience with us. We really appreciate your kind visit and would like to invite you anytime you get bakc to Sucre. Our best wishes for you and good journey home. Raúl Espíndola desumerced.com

317 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (273)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (73)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:28
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (115)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sucre hotels
0.2 km away
Parador Santa Maria la Real
0.4 km away
Hotel Villa Antigua
Hotel Villa Antigua
#4 of 18 in Sucre
148 reviews
0.0 km away
Colonial Hotel
Colonial Hotel
#14 of 18 in Sucre
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
San Marino Royal Hotel
0.3 km away
Hotel Independencia
Hotel Independencia
#5 of 18 in Sucre
107 reviews
0.4 km away
Capital Plaza Hotel
Capital Plaza Hotel
#7 of 18 in Sucre
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Hotel de Su Merced, a house of XVII century that has been restored very carefully for creating an original place with character and charm.It’s a place where our guests can dream about the past and expect a warm and familiar service.We offer clean and spacious rooms decorated with special details.Our helpful and friendly staff will assure you a pleasant stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Hostal de Su Merced

Address: Azurduy 16 | Between N. Ortiz and Bolívar, Around Town, Sucre 12345, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > Chuquisaca Department > Sucre
Price Range: $72 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Hostal de Su Merced 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your El Hostal de Su Merced reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from El Hostal de Su Merced staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from El Hostal de Su Merced staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stairway to upper level rooms could tire some people.”
Kukulcandve, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Try to book a room away from the street since it can be a little noisy at night”
F6903QOemmaf, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms not backing on to the street are quieter”
AndrewBrand, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooftop Room”
ISMETCENGIC, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The best view is from Room 21 (a junior suite) and it is truly wonderful. However you have to climb 3 flights of stairs to get there.”
Jirecarol, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$64* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$123
Hotels.comUS$64
Orbitz.comUS$64
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates