Bell Tower Hotel

Bell Tower Hotel

Traveller (59)
Panorama of the 2 Queen at the Bell Tower Hotel
360
Panoramas (9)
King Front Deluxe
Room & Suite (105)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#9 of 35 hotels in Ann Arbor
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Finding an ideal quaint hotel in Ann Arbor does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Bell Tower Hotel, a nice option for travelers like you. Across the street from the University of Michigan campus, around the corner from State Street and Nichols Arboretum make Bell Tower Hotel a great place to stay when visiting Ann Arbor. Our newly renovated guest rooms offer an elegant decor with double pillow top mattresses, a 43" flat screen HD TV and complimentary WiFi. The Bell Tower Hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and complimentary breakfast buffet, providing a pleasant respite from your busy day. For guests with a vehicle, valet parking is available at a small fee. Ann Arbor is well known for their excellent dining selections and being located downtown, you are able to walk to almost any local restaurant. If you are interested in exploring Ann Arbor, check out University of Michigan Museum of Art, The Hands on Museum, a UM Football or basketball game or one of the many spectacular parks or arboretums. The Bell Tower Hotel looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Ann Arbor.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Tile / marble floor
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Portuguese

Location

300 S Thayer St, Ann Arbor, MI 48104-1699
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 92 out of 100
92
Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport
32.7 km
See all flights
Windsor Airport
63.9 km
See all flights
1,145Review2Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 581
  • 353
  • 131
  • 57
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
pineGermany wrote a review Oct 2021
Germany114 contributions137 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location and staff deserve the highest praise for this hotel. Limited competition in the area means that the Bell Tower can raise prices whenever demand is high. Some of this money should go to bedding thicker than one thin blanket, larger towels, clean windows and repairing sliding balcony doors. These are not massive investments, but could enormously improve the guest experience for what can be a pricey hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Quieter rooms face an alley or parking lot. Street side can be noisy, but this is mostly a quiet...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Bell Tower Hotel
Responded 4 Dec 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback! We are thrilled you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the exceptional customer service provided by our team! Thank you for sharing windows of improvement with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Kind regards, Andrew S.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane D wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Bell Tower is in a great location. The breakfast was good. The room was clean and had everything necessary. However in the middle of the night, 2:15 AM a noise with vibration started it went for about 5 minutes every 30 to 45 minutes all night. This was not street noise it was something in the AC or water of the hotel, the vibration was in the floor which when I stood in the correct spot I could stop and the noise went away. I mentioned this at check out and they said sorry. They could have done more to make me happy.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DeWayne G, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel
Responded 16 Sept 2021
I am sorry that we did not address your issue more at check out. With that being said, we don't have any lines going through our floors since they are concrete. All water and HVAC lines are ran through to the hallway and then to the basement. Again, I am sorry about not addressing this more at checkout. Sincerely, DeWayne Grann General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa wrote a review Mar 2020
Sharon, Massachusetts4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a charming, cozy hotel steps from the campus of UMich. It is everything that chain hotels arent: old-school elegance, personalized service, extremely friendly and professional staff. The Atrium Suite was perfect for our needs, having separate bedrooms, a living room, kitchenette, sitting area, and three bathrooms. The staff was exceptional. The hotel is immaculate. The continental breakfast is virtually a full breakfast buffet. One of my favorite places!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from drg1111, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel
Responded 15 Apr 2020
Thank you for the wonderful review! We appreciate your business and look forward to your return when in Ann Arbor again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rita F wrote a review Dec 2022
Scottsdale, Arizona3 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
What a disappointment after staying in other very nice hotels in Ann Arbor. I booked 3 rooms for 3 nights. The rooms, bathrooms, and even the closets were claustrophobically small and looked out onto brick walls. The hot water didn't work, when we called, the front desk said they "forgot" to tell us at check in, that the water had to run for 30 min to get hot because it was an old building. MInimal other toiletries - so bring your own if you want to stay clean. You get a silver dollar sized bar of cheap soap per day (although they "forgot" to service the room one day). The health club was the smallest and most ill-equiped of any hotel I have visited.
The free, 24h/day coffee and tea consisted of one, always empty cannister. This is a small hotel, yet the front desk couldn't be bothered to say hello or smile at any point in our stay. Were we bothering them? The location was the only redeeming feature, right across from Hill Auditorium. "Valet" parking (we parked and usually retrieved our own car) is an extra 25$ a day. The heat/AC was extremely loud and we had to get blankets to stay warm overnight. Many other excellent places to stay in AA with much more friendly and caring staff.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DeWayne Grann, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel
Responded 11 Apr 2023
This review does not sound like the Bell Tower whatsoever. I wish you would have spoken with me regarding this stay because I would have loved to discuss this with you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
btmochnal wrote a review Nov 2020
Scotch Plains, New Jersey21 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this hotel while visiting our son at the University of Michigan in the fall. It was a lovely hotel with great, friendly staff and a perfect location. We walked everywhere - no need to deal with our car or find parking. The room was small, but it was clean and the price was right. We felt safe with the new measurements put in place due to Covid. So many hotels have eliminated their free breakfast service, but this hotel found a way to continue it in a safe manner.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DeWayne Grann, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel
Responded 30 Nov 2020
Thank you for your great review. I am glad to see that our safety measures made you feel comfortable during this trying time. We also want to make sure to give extra personal service so our guests know how important they are to us. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your return visits! Sincerely, DeWayne Grann General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LChung wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms are very small for a family of 4, but the location can’t be beat. I remember passing this hotel frequently as a student so it was nice to return as an alumnus and stay here. The hotel itself is very clean and updated. The water and cookies were a nice touch.
The check-in was handled by probably a college student who seemed a bit awkward, not unpleasant, but not friendly or forth-coming with information.
FYI: “nearby” parking structures have a higher per day fee than the valet parking.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Bell Tower Hotel
Responded 7 Aug 2021
We know we hit the jackpot with location. I’m sorry that the room you had felt small, we do have suites available, especially our King Atrium, that is a 3-room suite and it very well suited for families. We are glad you enjoyed our newly updated amenities and the lobby water and cookies. We are glad you noticed that our parking is cheaper. We hope you’ll stay with us again! Safe travels!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer D wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed our stay at the Bell Tower. The staff was so gracious, friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is classic style, beautiful curio Sabine’s in the lobby with gorgeous crystal and rich warm tones. It’s situated in the heart of Ann Arbor and the University of Michigan campus so you can easily walk to restaurants, shops and University venues. We had a corner queen suite and would highly recommend it. A very comfortable living area with separate bedroom is complimented by a nice bar area with ample cut glass glassware. Would highly recommend staying in this luxurious boutique hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Front Office Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Bell Tower Hotel
Responded 16 Jun 2021
Thank you so much for your glowing review. We pride ourselves at being the best hotel for customer service. We are so glad to hear that our Queen Corner Suite worked out for you! We are happy that you could enjoy all that our hotel has to offer; luxury comfort and the perfect location. Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MimiSTL wrote a review Apr 2020
Saint Louis, Missouri31 contributions26 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I arrived on March 20, 2020 to pick my son up from college. I did not have a reservation; but the woman and the front desk was incredibly kind and found me a room. The room was nicely appointed; the bathroom was new and fresh. After using Clorox wipes on absolutely everything, I worked all afternoon and went to pack my son up after midterms. We arrived back around 9:00 p.m., went to the room, ordered dinner, went out to pick it up, and returned for the evening. Honestly, The Bell Tower was a great escape! I wish I would have gotten the name of the woman at the front desk. She was there both on the 20th and the 21st when we checked out. She was fantastic. Kind, courteous, and helpful! She made our stay as comfortable as she could given the circumstances!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from drg1111, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel
Responded 15 Apr 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am glad to hear that we offered everything you needed to get your son home safely! We are not open for business right now but are working diligently to make sure we open in a safe environment. We look forward to any return visits to the Bell Tower. Sincerely, DeWayne Grann General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RichGTraveling wrote a review Dec 2023
Cincinnati198 contributions83 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We wanted to be near campus, and Bell Tower Hotel fit the bill. The facility is older, so it felt very solid, and pretty clean. The bed was excellent, the towels were suitably thick, and the staff was right there and quick to respond ( we wanted a couple extra tea for the Keurig ).
Big shout out to the breakfast, hot with eggs, potato, and sausage and all self-served on real plates and cloth napkins. The pork sausage really hit the spot for me, your milage may vary. The actual Bell Tower rings on the hour and half hour thru the early evening at least, which we liked. Minimal street sounds.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DeWayne G, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel
Responded 7 Dec 2023
Wonderful! Thank you for the great review and I am thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations! Happy Holidays!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chrach70 wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at the Bell Tower in the past so I made a reservation to stay there for my daughter's graduation. I needed 3 rooms for all of our relatives. I was happy to see that the Bell Tower was not charging extortion rates for graduation like other hotels do. I made the reservation without incident but was shocked when they called me a few days later. They said the rate I got was a computer mistake and now they want $9000 up front for the rooms! They admit that the mistake was theirs, but they won't take responsibility for it. Ellie pretended that this was an issue of fairness to the other guests but we all know this is about the money. I am disappointed that a nice hotel would treat a loyal guest so poorly. I don't know if we will be able to get another hotel now.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from DeWayne Grann, General Manager at Bell Tower Hotel
Responded 1 Oct 2020
It was not about fairness. You booked a Cyber Monday discounted rate that has not been offered since the Monday after the 2019 Thanksgiving that was only valid December through February. We contacted you within 12 hours of booking this reservation stating this was not a valid discount and has not been available since 2019. The hotel did not activate this discount on our site and have no idea how this inactive code was activated. We have contacted our IT support team to ensure our website was not hacked. I am really sorry that this happened but we are not able to honor a Cyber Monday discount almost a year later that was only valid from December (2019) to February. DeWayne Grann General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ann Arbor area.
PRICE RANGE
S$250 - S$402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bell hotel ann arbor
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganAnn Arbor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
66
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BELL TOWER HOTEL: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 242 Photos (Ann Arbor, Michigan) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bell Tower Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Bell Tower Hotel?
Nearby attractions include University of Michigan (0.2 km), University of Michigan Museum of Art (0.4 km), and Hill Auditorium (0.05 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bell Tower Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Bell Tower Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Bell Tower Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Bell Tower Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bell Tower Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mani Osteria, Sava's, and Jerusalem Garden.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bell Tower Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Bell Tower Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Ann Arbor.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bell Tower Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bell Tower Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bell Tower Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Portuguese.
All Ann Arbor HotelsAnn Arbor Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Ann ArborHotels near Bell Tower Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire