We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The University Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The University Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 136: English reviews
London
Reviewed 4 November 2016

Travelled to see a football match and stayed here 3 days. Staff very welcoming and very helpful. Rooms spacious with plenty of wardrobe space and a nice bathroom. Rooms cleaned daily. Hotel near bus routes into town etc. which was very convenient. Would not hesitate staying here again. Retail park next door with Trader Joe's, hairdressers etc.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CFCVictoria
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I travel from northern mi to WV a few times per year. It's a 12 hour drive and I usually stay overnight each way. I just happened to stumble on to this place about 3 years ago. It's an old place but very well maintained, clean and everything works including the wifi. There's a small shopping center next door with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philkeeling1
up north
Reviewed 26 September 2016

First this is no longer called the "Lamp Post Inn" but the "University inn." Desk check In was courteous and helpful. Room is a little small yet, clean with many amenities including microwave, fridge. Bathroom was small yet clean, in good repair, and doable. Owner allowed to park car on grounds due to an afternoon game on Saturday. as my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keiffer81
Ellicott City, MD
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We luckily stumbled on this hotel while trying to find another. We were greeted by an enthusiastic staff; our room was very clean, comfortable and included a kitchenette; (ie sink, stove, oven; microwave; fridge, coffee pot (all worked) plus cabinets overhead) and even supplied with a few pots/plates, The microwave came in handy when I reheated a breakfast bagel. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Seeing-America1st
Natrona Heights
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The hotel was going through a name change and renovations. The sign was not easy to find as the new name (University Inn) was lit-up and the "Lamp Post" hand written sign was taped below the tree line. The location to campus is excellent. Upon arrival the clerk was friendly and prepared for our late check-in. In the morning breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Nice, clean hotel with accommodating staff. We would return. Breakfast was included which was nice. The location was good with close proximity to everything at the University of Michigan. Rooms included microwave and small fridge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
Sutton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

The beds were comfortable, the tv worked and we had hot water. The downside was the cramped shower, plugs not working and the blackout. We arrived back to our room one evening and the whole area was blacked out. We were due on an early flight and needed to pack before sleeping. I asked the lady at the reception if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CoBeck82
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewed 13 August 2016

The room was clean. That's the only good thing I can say about this terrible place. From 12 to 4 a.m. I had to listen to drunk twenty somethings outside my door, shouting all night. I tried to call the front desk, but they don't staff this place at night. This morning I informed the clerk, Julie, who also claimed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Antityco
LampPostManagement, Manager at The University Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Once again we are very sorry for the disturbances during your stay with us. We usually do not have these types of issues. Unfortunately that night we had a wedding party staying with us, that continued the party here. We do have a curfew on the property of 11 pm, and an emergency number posted...

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Our main goal for a stay in Ann Arbor en route to Mackinac was low cost. There was a nice surprise here: a Trader Joes next door, where we picked up a healthy dinner from the deli options. Otherwise not a lot more than the basics, no hair dryer, though there is a mini fridge and microwave. Breakfast was bread,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andi A
Trenton, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 13 June 2016

My wife and I decided to take a weekend trip up to Ann Arbor, Michigan this past weekend. While checking out some places to stay in the area, this place popped up and seemed to be pretty nice. The reviews were good, the price was right and, judging by the pics, seemed to be a nice little place. Boy were...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank 817ryan
LampPostManagement, General Manager at The University Inn, responded to this review

We are sincerely sorry for your poor experience here at the Lamp Post Inn. Ownership and myself tried to contact you the next day to apologize, and compensate you for your stay at a different location but we were never called back. There is no excuse for the experience you had at our property but we would like you (and...

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
3.0 km away
Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
4.1 km away
Candlewood Suites - Detroit/Ann Arbor
3.5 km away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#20 of 34 in Ann Arbor
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ann Arbor
4.0 km away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
3.2 km away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mid-Century Colonial "Boutique Motor Lodge" - Approx 1.8 Mi south of UM Campus, 1.5 mi W of US 23, at Exit 37B. Excellent adjacent and nearby amenities including trader Joe's market. Easy access to Bus, Bike, Taxi or Uber into town. Kitchenettes and Studio suites available. We are a clean, safe well-located place to stay having new owners and newly renovated rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The University Inn

Address: 2424 E Stadium Blvd, Ann Arbor, MI 48104-4813 (Formerly Lamp Post Inn)
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Price Range: $98 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The University Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamp Post Hotel Ann Arbor
Lamp Post Ann Arbor
The University Inn Ann Arbor, Michigan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The University Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Second floor is quieter. No footsteps on top of you.”
 of 5 bubbles philkeeling1, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The walk downtown is about 2 miles. Bring extra soda pop as their machine ran out.”
 of 5 bubbles Keiffer81, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Easier access to your vehicle if you are on parking lot level”
 of 5 bubbles Seeing-America1st, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had a newly remolded kitchenette. It was good sized but bathroom was small.”
 of 5 bubbles jeffsN555GX, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Old and dirty, look elsewhere!”
  • View straight into our room with broken blinds, no curtains
  • Hairs stuck to the walls
  • Cobwebs/Spider webs in the corners
  • Stains all over the carpet
  • Hairs found in the bed
  • Blinds didn't close all the way and no curtains - No Privacy!
 of 5 bubbles 817ryan, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay