We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Burnt Toast Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ann Arbor
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Burnt Toast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 131: English reviews
Hidden Hills, California
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Great place to stay. Sarah is great ,the breakfasts are great- Sarah invited my son who was staying in his own house to come for breakfast. So nice! Very clean. Location is great, you don't have to deal with the parking in town. We should have tried it sooner, would have made things so much easier the past 3 years!

Thank comfybed58
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Great location, Great service, Just like visiting home. Clean and quite, Couple of steps away from the main street. A walking distance to University and bus stop. Big kitchen and living room. Highly recommended. The hose lady is wonderful!

Thank Tiramisu M
Reviewed 3 August 2016

In town for the Chelsea v. Real Madrid soccer game at the Big House this past weekend. Although our team didn't win, we thoroughly enjoyed our 3-night stay at The Burnt Toast Inn. Even before arriving, Sarah went out of her way to remedy a mistake that I'd made during online payment. As other reviews have mentioned...excellent location (we walked...

Thank Sue D
BuddyandBo, Owner at Burnt Toast Inn, responded to this review

It was a terrific weekend and I am so glad you and your family had a good time.Good to hear you like the way things are done at the Burnt Toast Inn!.. I try to make everyone's stay as pleasant and stress free as possible since traveling can be a lot of work. Hope to see you all for the...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 31 July 2016

The Burnt Toast Inn is in a perfect location. We were able to walk to all shops and restaurants. Sarah quickly replied to our questions prior to our arrival and was happily waiting on the porch when we arrived from Ohio at 9:00pm (outside of her normal hours). The breakfast in the morning was outstanding and included a variety of...

Thank Elizbeth1515
BuddyandBo, Owner at Burnt Toast Inn, responded to this review

Glad to be of service!! Traveling and getting to a place can be so stressful so glad to be there when needed.... til next time Sarah

Wakefield, Rhode Island
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Burnt Toast Inn is in a perfect location, just a short walk to the shops and resturants. Incredible comfort and wonderful breakfast (much more than we had expected), beautiful garden, welcoming common areas. The owner, Sarah, is just amazing, she truly goes above and beyond. The refrigerator was stocked with drinks and snacks. We did not have to ask Sarah...

Thank nfloizzo
BuddyandBo, Owner at Burnt Toast Inn, responded to this review

What a pleasure to see such kind words. I do my best to please.. I am always so happy when folks have a good time. Hope to see you again soon.. Sarah O

Aurora, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We spent the last 2 nights at the Burnt Toast Inn while attending the Ann Arbor Art Fest. Excellent location a few blocks from main street and never used our car even walking to the campus area. Upon our arrival we entered an eclectic,fun looking home greeted by Sarah. We reserved the attic room which was great since we had...

Thank Nancy F
BuddyandBo, Owner at Burnt Toast Inn, responded to this review

Oh the wondrous Folk Fest! Just one of the fantastic events Ann Arbor has to offer.. It was a hot one! Art Fair and Folk Fest "hot times in the city"! I do enjoy offering cold water in recycled glass Calder Milk jars.. perfect on a hot summer day. Hope to see you next year Sarah

Stanford, California
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Staying at the Burnt Toast Inn was PERFECT for my quick visit to Ann Arbor! Sarah welcomed me & shared her charming home: open kitchen stocked with drinks & other goodies and comfy living room. I stayed in the 2nd floor purple room & used the hall bathroom, which is beautifully updated with big walk-in shower & toiletries. There were...

Thank DeborahFP
BuddyandBo, Owner at Burnt Toast Inn, responded to this review

That sounds like my Sunday breakfast for sure!! I hope you have another occasion to return soon.. Sarah

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Just got back from a one night stay at the Burnt Toast Inn and now I am wishing we stayed longer. The place was so adorable, the breakfast was delicious and the room was so comfy. I loved all the little extras too - yummy baked goods available in the kitchen and upstairs hall & chocolate treats in the room....

1Thank traveldel
BuddyandBo, Owner at Burnt Toast Inn, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear that Allison took really good care of you . Yes, one night is not long enough and I hope you can come again for a longer stay.. I look forward to meeting you Sarah O

United States
Reviewed 7 March 2016

I stayed here for a business trip and enjoyed myself! The room was clean, the hostess was super nice, and the breakfast was plentiful! I was amused by the rock shaped soap, and the double headed shower heads! Just keep in mind you are not alone in the B&B. You can hear what others are doing in their rooms, and...

4Thank PL2016
SarahAnnArbor, Owner at Burnt Toast Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and I am so glad you stayed with us and it was GOOD.. I usually just email directly to the kind folks who write reviews but I could not figure out your name. Your hint is PL and February but to no avail.. At any rate, hope you come again and you...

Midlothian, Virginia
Reviewed 1 February 2016

We have stayed at The Burnt Toast Inn three times in the past three months. I daughter and her family have moved to Ann Arbor and we wanted to find a B&B property that we would want to stay in while visiting. Boy, did we hit the Jack Pot! Sarah makes her guests feel like you are visits and an...

Thank Tom and Pat S
SarahAnnArbor, Owner at Burnt Toast Inn, responded to this review

Hello Tom and Pat, Can't wait til your next visit. Enjoy the Spring..Sarah O

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (49)
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Bathroom (5)
Room/Suite (4)
Dining (1)
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (4)
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ann Arbor hotels
0.5 km away
Residence Inn Ann Arbor Downtown
1.0 km away
Graduate Ann Arbor
Graduate Ann Arbor
#20 of 34 in Ann Arbor
105 reviews
1.2 km away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#4 of 34 in Ann Arbor
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Ann Arbor Regent Hotel & Suites
4.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Ann Arbor
3.3 km away
#13 of 34 in Ann Arbor
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Ann Arbor's historic Old West Side, just three short blocks west of Main Street, The Burnt Toast Inn is walking distance to everything -- downtown shopping and dining, University of Michigan central campus and athletic events. Relaxed atmosphere; beautiful, comfortable amenities such as down and 100% cotton linens; natural/organic breakfast. Free wireless internet. Friendly dogs. Whole house rental available. The Burnt Toast Inn houses an antique / art gallery, featuring primarily Japanese art. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Burnt Toast Inn

Address: 415 W William St, Ann Arbor, MI 48103
Region: United States > Michigan > Ann Arbor
Price Range: $142 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Burnt Toast Inn Ann Arbor, Michigan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Burnt Toast Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Burnt Toast Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Attic Suite is quieter and more private, but Master Suite and Green Room are also cozy and have more light.”
 of 5 bubbles AshleyUsa, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The only negative about having the first floor room is that the dining room is next to you and the bathroom is across the hallway.”
 of 5 bubbles chessamgm, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“small rooms, but big shared kitchen and living room.”
 of 5 bubbles tiramisum, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“rooms with private baths”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have a shared bathroom. Our room (master) had a private bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles Elizbeth1515, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5