Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South

Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South

Traveller (52)
Room & Suite (38)
Business Center
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#27 of 35 hotels in Ann Arbor
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Finding an ideal family-friendly hotel in Ann Arbor does not have to be difficult. Welcome to Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South, a nice option for travelers like you. Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and air conditioning, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the hotel. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking. Nearby landmarks such as Cobblestone Farm (1.4 mi) and St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Church (1.8 mi) make Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor (university South) Hotel a great place to stay when visiting Ann Arbor. While in Ann Arbor, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South, including Mediterrano (0.5 mi), Seoul Garden (0.3 mi), and Roos Roast Coffee Works (1.1 mi). Should time allow, Mary Beth Doyle Park is a popular attraction that is within walking distance. Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South puts the best of Ann Arbor at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Self-serve laundry
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Modern
Languages Spoken
English

Location

3505 S State St, Ann Arbor, MI 48108-1631
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 49 out of 100
49
Detroit Metropolitan Wayne County Airport
31.8 km
See all flights
Windsor Airport
63.8 km
See all flights
256Reviews10Q+A54Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 55
  • 73
  • 64
  • 34
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
speckles wrote a review Jun 2024
nj
4.0 of 5 bubbles
As seems typical with RedRoofs for the last 4-5 years, there are some unhoused, temporary residents, but this is one of the best kept up RedRoofs we’ve stayed in. There was even a little freezer compartment to put our ice packs in. Desk, desk chair, easy chair, ironing board, iron, luggage rack, hair dryer. There is plenty of grass around for dog walking and a Panera and a Plum Market supermarket right in the same parking lot.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid University of Michigan move in end of August when prices go up and the motel is quite full.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Madison Velian, Marketing at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Speckles, Thank you for telling us about your stay at the RED ROOF INN ANN ARBOR - U OF MICHIGAN SOUTH. I am glad that you were pleased with your room, our parking lot was to your liking and all the other kind remarks highlighted. However, please accept our apologies for any issues you encountered during your visit. At Red Roof, it is our intention to have your confidence in our abilities to prevent similar problems in the future, so on your next stay should you have any issues while with us, please contact our front desk immediately so we can take care of the issue to ensure your satisfaction. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels. Sincerely, Olivia Red Roof Management RediResponse Specialist
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kirstin D. wrote a review May 2022
Port Huron, Michigan
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My motel plans fell through and I was left scrabbling for a replacement. The room was easy and convenient, and the staff very helpful. In fact I WOULD go back again, but the cable channels were do disappointing. I love pbs and there wasn’t any, and only one news channel. I guess for the price I want to be able to watch the news and masterpiece theatre.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James A wrote a review Mar 2021
Windsor, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
On a trip in Ann Arbor I stayed here for a night and it was really good. Not amazing but clean and cheap while I shopped and hung out in the city over a birthday. The staff were friendly and I didn’t ask for anything special. It’s a bed for the night and hot shower. Worked out well.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GENERAL MANAGER, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Responded 26 Apr 2021
Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jmsailor wrote a review May 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The carpet appears perhaps never to have been actually cleaned. Also no attempt had been made to even vaccume. We only stayed because we had a dog and pet hotels are hard to find. We get this is just a Red Roof but some basic cleaning would seem reasonable. Also, beds are old and cheap
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nancy D wrote a review Jun 2022
Helix, Oregon
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have family In Ann Arbor and we’ve bee staying here once 2014. It’s usually pretty good. Those days are over… at least for now. I imagine we’ll be back, but I won’t be happy about it. So we’re here again. Last time here my husband pointed out that they were in the middle of replacing all the outside balconies that were badly rusted and this was probably a very expensive repair so they may be waiting to get that done before they start redoing the rooms. Well, they seem to just about finished their balcony/walkway project, but haven’t gotten to the rooms themselves. Relatively clean, unless you looked under of behind things - like the phone or a lamp. The tub is cracked, the furniture is beat up - scarred, nicked, warped tops, etc. , but the linens and towels were nice. It was a good mattress and the room was clean - mostly. The carpet was vacuumed, but badly stained. The tv remote only sometimes worked and we couldn’t get any sound on the only channel we wanted to watch: ESPN.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria wrote a review Mar 2024
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel was very unsafe, broken steps, handrails. Hotel room had holes in the walls, mold in the bathroom, floors were dirty. Lighting outside was terrible. Stained sheets. Terrible service, no one would answer the floor. Door had a gap, was not secure. Bugs were in the window. Unfortunately, it was a terrible stay and not worth $10.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Madison Velian, Marketing at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Responded 7 Mar 2024
Hi Valued Guest, I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the RED ROOF INN ANN ARBOR - U OF MICHIGAN SOUTH. We strive to provide guests with the best customer service and all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to read the encounter you described regarding the sheets, what seemed to be mold and all the other concerning matters highlighted. To uphold our high standards at RedRoof I’ve shared your encounter with management to ensure your satisfaction. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations in the future. Sincerely, Oniel RedRoof Management Rediresponse Specialist
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robocopct wrote a review Nov 2021
New York City, New York
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were in town for the UMich vs Indiana football game for two nights. This hotel is literally unsanitary. There was dust, dirt and grime everywhere. There was a hole in the wall and there were stains on the chairs and bed. There is a reason it is the only hotel with room at the inn. It’s a dump. DO NOT STAY HERE.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Nothing is clean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
klarasm wrote a review Sept 2022
Coatepec, Mexico
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great small town to pass a week vacation with family. The beaches are beautiful. Food is great there are several restaurant to choose from. The small shops have great souvenirs. And the antiques shops have great art. Just a nice relaxing family vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Alex wrote a review Sept 2015
Los Angeles, California
1.0 of 5 bubbles
RED ROOF INN #693 - DO NOT GIVE THIS PLACE YOUR BUSINESS! I had booked a hotel room for September 17th with a September 18th checkout for the sole purpose of going to this hotel directly after my red eye flight from Los Angeles to sleep for a few hours before checkout. I am a Michigan Alum and back in town for a football game.

When I got to the Red Roof Inn - 3505 S. State Street in Ann Arbor, Michigan at 7:17 AM, I was denied my reservation and told that I had forfeited my room because I had not checked-in by 7 AM. Instead I was told that I could buy a room for today (September 18th) at 3x the normal rate. The general manager told me that it was their policy that if you do not check in by 7 AM you lose your right to the reservation.

When I asked for her to show me the policy she replied that she did not know where it was but that it was on the Red Roof Inn website. After scouring the website I have yet to find this alleged policy.

Regardless of whether there is or is not a forfeit room policy, as a customer I had ZERO notice of any such policy. My confirmation email has no information about a "check in before 7 am otherwise lose your room" clause. All it says is that if I need to cancel or make changes to the reservation to do so within 72 hours. Additionally, I simulated purchasing another room and did not see any such policy prior to purchasing.

For someone who booked the room with the intent of only using it during the morning, I made sure that the room was reserved through September 18th checkout time. Had there been any such policy I would have noticed it.

Even though I was completely unaware of the alleged policy, I only arrived 17 minutes late. There were available rooms at this time. All I wanted was to be able to sleep for a few hours until checkout time after an exhausting red eye flight. No type of accommodation was made - customer service was lacking to say the least.

Apart from being denied the room, the General Manager acted in a degrading and disgusting manner, unfitting of any individual let alone someone in the hospitality industry. She was rude, put the blame on me, and told me that she knew what she was talking about because of her 15 years in the hotel industry. (She still couldn't point to a specific policy, just said there was one.)

The Red Roof Inn - #693 in Ann Arbor deserves lower than the lowest possible rating.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
D H wrote a review Dec 2014
Hamilton, Indiana
2.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are already familiar with Red Roof Inns, then this one is a middle of the road inn. It does however have its good and bad points. On the plus side it is close to I 94, easy to find, a safe area and is one of the few that serves an OK continental breakfast. On the down side avoid the back portion, the 2nd floor and their coffee. Many contractors and temp workers stay here and seem to be placed in the back half of the inn with the usual drinking, smoking and hanging out during parts of the day and night. Also, the stairs to the 2nd floor are dangerously steep and should be reserved for the young toned physically fit coordinated athletes and should be avoided by anyone over 50, families with children and those with all physical challenges. As for their coffee, they have a hot liquid substance of unknown origin and it goes down hill from there.

The room appeared clean but are not well check by the staff for things the housekeepers missed or avoided.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid the 2nd floor and the back half of the inn.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from mnwriter
Omaha, Nebraska20 contributions4 helpful votes
Called the hotel and confirmed, but for more information google: Michigan Stadium shuttle bus and there are multiple websites with information regarding the bus. Costs $1.50 each way and they have a whole list of all the hotels that offer it.
Ohairae asked a question Mar 2017
Allen Park, Michigan
Does this location accept cash as payment?
Answer from General Manager
Yes, but a deposit is required. Anywhere from $40 to $100 depending on the length of stay.
Answer from Jd772014
Brampton, Canada112 contributions21 helpful votes
I would call the manager and see what they say
mfontenot01 asked a question Sept 2016
Brewerton, New York11 contributions4 helpful votes
What is the room deposit (incidentals)?
Answer from General Manager
$40, refundable upon check out after room inspection given that there is no smoke or damages to the room.
speckles wrote a tip Jun 2024
nj160 contributions38 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid University of Michigan move in end of August when prices go up and the motel is quite full."
Read full review
Maria wrote a tip Mar 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel!"
Read full review
Robocopct wrote a tip Nov 2021
New York City, New York53 contributions51 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nothing is clean"
Read full review
Ira M wrote a tip Jul 2019
Saint Ignace, Michigan18 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely, get a first floor room. Stairs are not friendly to older people."
Read full review
Michael R wrote a tip Mar 2019
Toledo, Ohio22 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"In requested an ADA room on the bottom floor. It was perfect in all aspects!!!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ann Arbor area.
PRICE RANGE
S$96 - S$159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
red roof inn ann arbor (university south) hotel ann arbor, ann arbor red roof inn
LOCATION
United StatesMichiganAnn Arbor
NUMBER OF ROOMS
119
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RED ROOF INN ANN ARBOR - U OF MICHIGAN SOUTH (S̶$̶1̶5̶9̶) S$105: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 71 Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Which popular attractions are close to Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South?
Nearby attractions include Briarwood Mall (0.8 km), Dreamgate VR (0.7 km), and Macy's (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mediterrano, Zingerman's Bakehouse, and Red Robin Gourmet Burgers.
Are pets allowed at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kempf House (4.5 km) and Detroit Observatory (4.8 km).
Is Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Ann Arbor HotelsAnn Arbor Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Ann ArborHotels near Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire