We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria
See the most recent reviews
Showing 203: English reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

When we walked into the room the first thing we saw were stains ALL OVER the carpet. The shower was Not cleaned. The sheets were clean..thank gawd. We were so tired we just went to sleep and left right away in the am. This was a room that had been recently remodeled as well. What a waste.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mibbzy718
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

I apologize for the issues that you brough to my attention. I will speak to the staff about this and find a solution to these issues. I am extremely sorry that you had this happen and I hope you have a great week.

Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We have always found Country Inns to be clean and updated. This was no exception. One improvement I would suggest is to add a comfortable chair and there was only one luggage rack. Their breakfast was better than most with both hard boiled eggs and scrambled, waffles, fresh fruit and a good variety of bread and pastry. Also, it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou M
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Customer service at this hotel is A-1! Very kind and helpful employees. Breakfast was always well stocked, had a variety of options, and the gal working there was always helpful in getting me disposable plates/utinsils so that I could bring Belgium waffles, yogurt and cereal up to my children who were still sleeping through the breakfast hours. The hot tub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karifernholz
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We always stay at this hotel when traveling through on 94. It is always clean and comfortable but does seem to book up quickly. Breakfast is always good and we appreciate the newspaper. Wifi OK, not great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LynnAndersen
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

It is always nice to see friendly faces! I am so happy to have you stay! I hope you have a fantastic week.

Coon Rapids, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Room assigned prior to arrival was not acceptable. Was assigned a handicap room and asked to change to normal room but was not accomodated at all. When we returned to our room on Saturday night, our room was not cleaned at all. Our dirty towels and bed was not made. Our shower amenities were not refilled. I proceeded to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clayton-Arlene L
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

I apologize if you were not happy with your stay. I apologize we didn't have another room to put you in, we assigned the room type that you booked. I do apologize if you didn't receive the room service and promise to speak to all of my staff about these issues. The front desk did take some off of your...

Montevideo
Reviewed 21 July 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oava2014
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 20 July 2016

The hotel seems new and has a pleasant feeling to it. It is very hard to find a decent place to eat within an easy walk of the hotel, which was disappointing. The check-in process as smooth. The breakfast was good for a N. American hotel, not good if you are used to European efforts. What really disappointed me was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HowardFreeland
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

While I am happy you enjoyed your stay for the most part, I will speak to my staff about the alarm clock noise. I am extremely sorry that you had this happen during your stay. I hope you have a fantastic week.

United States
Reviewed 19 July 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Serge A
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 19 July 2016

I really enjoy this place. We stayed last Saturday night (9 July), in a jacuzzi suite and the room was large and comfortable. Does seem like housekeeping must have been very shortstaffed. We paid full rate for that and were not able to check in until nearly 3pm. I'm sure many of the other guests weren't Club Carlson members, paying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keviefriend
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologize for the issues with the bathrooms, it is something that we are in the process of repairing. I also apologize for the check in but we do try and to get everyone in as soon as we can. I hope you have a fantastic week.

Moorhead, Minnesota
Reviewed 18 July 2016

I stayed at this hotel on Friday night. The staff is friendly. The facilities are well maintained. I usually don't sleep well the first night in a hotel. I slept like a rock and the beds are very comfortable. I would certainly recommend this as the place to stay in Alexandria, MN.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kjdrinka630
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

It was wonderful having you with us! I hope you have a fantastic week.

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Alexandria
0.6 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Alexandria Inn
BEST WESTERN Alexandria Inn
#3 of 12 in Alexandria
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
#9 of 12 in Alexandria
110 reviews
0.6 km away
Days Inn Alexandria MN
Days Inn Alexandria MN
#10 of 12 in Alexandria
223 reviews
21.4 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Glenwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria

Address: 5304 Highway 29 South, Alexandria, MN 56308
Region: United States > Minnesota > Alexandria
Price Range: $114 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Plymouth, Minnesota
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No elevator, be prepared to carry your bags up stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles WIJourney, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose first floor, otherwise you will be doing the stairs! Park in front of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles 102MjB, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Note that no hdcp room or you will be assigned one before arrival”
 of 5 bubbles claytonarlenel, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms were good”
 of 5 bubbles Travelor0610, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a courtyard room so you don't hear freeway noise-although can still hear the kids running in the hallways”
 of 5 bubbles bracelady69, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay