We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria
See the most recent reviews
Showing 212: English reviews
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 15 September 2016

My first impression was pretty good, but then I noticed the details - flaking paint all over the bathroom covered by more paint (which also was flaking off), grungy fixtures, and then a toilet with a big black ring on it and other...spots. The toilet seat had been left up, and so it was hard to tell if the toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BethRo66
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

I would like to preface my review with the fact that I will often travel out of my way to stay with Carlson as we have always found them reliable, kind, and clean. I can not speak to the cleanliness of this hotel, as I never made it past the front desk, but I can tell you they are not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

I am extremely sorry this happened! It was not the hotel's intention to cause you trouble and I am extremely sorry. I will speak to all of the staff to pervent this from ever happening again.

Troy, Michigan
Reviewed 7 September 2016

The room faced the highway and I happen to be staying there while they were working on a bridge at night that was 100 yards away so it was noisy however that is not the hotel's fault. I do think however having a separate key for the room and the pool area is very annoying, please go back to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacob2016W
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

I apologize for the issues you had at the hotel. I will take this into consideration and look at our options. I thank you for your input and hope you have a great week.

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Hotel room bathroom paint looked like someone had to have been drinking on the job. Horrible paint splattered on ceiling tile. The carpet trim ismissing in entry way where it looked like a vanity might have been?? The room next to ours had the toilet float leaking water every 45-60 seconds all night so we informed the front desk, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb B
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Care Specialist at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Please accept our apologies in regard to the issues you incurred during your stay. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. It is unfortunate that we...

St. Michael, MN, United States
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

Reviewed 27 August 2016

Nice and welcoming lobby. Great staff, were very welcoming and friendly. Rooms and facilities clean and comfortable, and seem recently furnished. Breakfast was great. It was nice to have breakfast with normal cutlery made of steel, glass made of glass and ceramic plates.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helgi Í
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

It was wonderful having you with us and I hope you have a fantastic week.

Wahpeton, North Dakota
Reviewed 24 August 2016

The outside appearance of the hotel is nice. Lobby is inviting. Breakfast was very good, needed to be constantly replenishing the items, as there were many in line to eat. Beddings and linens were nice and bed was comfy. The room we were in needs to be updated. Carpet was worn, and the bathroom lacked a fan, and paint job...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 102MjB
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

It was great having your family with us at the hotel. I hope you have a wonderful week.

St. Paul, United States
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam O
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

Reviewed 12 August 2016

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mary c s
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

When we walked into the room the first thing we saw were stains ALL OVER the carpet. The shower was Not cleaned. The sheets were clean..thank gawd. We were so tired we just went to sleep and left right away in the am. This was a room that had been recently remodeled as well. What a waste.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mibbzy718
countryale, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria, responded to this review

I apologize for the issues that you brough to my attention. I will speak to the staff about this and find a solution to these issues. I am extremely sorry that you had this happen and I hope you have a great week.

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria
2.6 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Alexandria
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Alexandria Inn
BEST WESTERN Alexandria Inn
#3 of 12 in Alexandria
165 reviews
0.5 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
#10 of 12 in Alexandria
110 reviews
21.4 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Glenwood
36.6 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Sauk Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria

Address: 5304 Highway 29 South, Alexandria, MN 56308
Region: United States > Minnesota > Alexandria
Price Range: $124 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Plymouth, Minnesota
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Alexandria staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No elevator, be prepared to carry your bags up stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles WIJourney, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“choose first floor, otherwise you will be doing the stairs! Park in front of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles 102MjB, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Note that no hdcp room or you will be assigned one before arrival”
 of 5 bubbles claytonarlenel, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms were good”
 of 5 bubbles Travelor0610, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a courtyard room so you don't hear freeway noise-although can still hear the kids running in the hallways”
 of 5 bubbles bracelady69, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay