We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Thebe River Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kasane
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Thebe River Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 153: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place was also part of our Namibia/Botswana motorcycle tour and we stayed 2 nights. The room was very clean and the air conditioning was satisfactory to be able to get some good sleep. The people again were just lovely and very accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
CA
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was looking forward to a return visit to the Cjobe River front, but was disappointed in this Lodge for several reasons. First, there is no view of the river, the biggest asset there, except of you camp on spot 1 and 2. The restaurant of the lodge faces the road, and the prison close by!! Hello, turn up around...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KaliCA
New Haven
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a lot of difficulty finding a place in Kasane in late October, but fortunately Thebe had availability. The lodge is nice, with a responsive front desk, large rooms with huge bathrooms, outside courtyard areas for coffee or relaxing in the shade, and a restaurant. The WiFi is mainly available in the lobby and restaurant, but the signal reached...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Stayed a night in September, as part of a Nomad's tour. The bedroom was clean, adequately furnished and quiet. The only complaint I had was that wifi did not work and the staff were less than helpful trying to sort that issue out. We had a wonderful game drive organized by Nomad's through the hotel. Would highly recommend the game...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mamachompkin
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I actually really enjoyed my stay here, took a nice boat trip on the river and saw lots of animals. Besides that, the bartender was really friendly and the people I met on the campsite as well. But thats the positive note. The staff at the reception was just terrible. The worst part was that they actually sent a security...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olivier B
Gordons Bay
Reviewed 13 October 2016

A very basic budget backpacker cell block - type 'lodge', appealing only to those who, like me, are wanting to cross over on the ferry to get on with the journey , , as it is near to that . Their main clientele would tour groups who dont know any better, are heraded there. .... (Although thanks trip advisor...you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chabwino
Grace B, Manager at Thebe River Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Graham. Nice to hear from you again. I am surprised to hear that you find it unusual to be asked for payment when making a booking. This is a standard business practice amongst hotels all around the world. Our T&C's can be found on our website which also reflect this. As we are in our busy season and receive...

Zejtun, Malta
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this lodge as part of our tour in Botswana. The rooms are basic but fine. Rooms had air conditioning, mosquito nets, a hot shower and wifi was just fine. The food from the bar was good as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keithbrmlt
Oldenzaal, Nederland
Reviewed 7 October 2016

The rooms are basic and clean but with airco and a nice bathroom. We came by a little airplane from the Delta and stayed for two nights. It has a good startingpoint to do lots of things in the neighbourhood, safari's, boattrips, visit the Vic falls!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pauli1962
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Our first African port of call with the kids. Rooms were clean and comfortable if a bit dark. Very friendly and helpful staff at the counter. Unfortunately it doesn't make the most of its location by the river: the restaurant looks into the highway and is hot and has lots of flies. Pool was a bit too green for comfort...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Walga
Grace B, Manager at Thebe River Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge. We have taken your comments onboard in relations to the lighting in the rooms and will endeavor to resolve this. I have also reported the issue of the swimming pool to our maintenance team for immediate attention. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the activities we offer...

Windsor, California
Reviewed 29 September 2016

The rooms are adequate: twin beds with mosquito nets, en-suite bathroom, two chairs and a table with a coffee/tea station. Our biggest complaint was the lack of adequate light. The afternoon Chobe River safari, however, was EXCELLENT! We bought a nice 100 pula bottle of wine at the bar, and they loaned us wine glasses for our sundowner on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marinrobin
Grace B, Manager at Thebe River Lodge, responded to this review

We are very glad that you got to experience the beauty of the Chobe with Thebe River Safaris. I can assure you that we are looking into the lighting issue in our lodge and endeavor to have this resolved swiftly. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasane
4.4 km away
Chobe Safari Lodge
Chobe Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kasane
947 reviews
2.3 km away
Cresta Mowana Safari Resort and Spa
4.3 km away
Kwalape Safari Lodge
Kwalape Safari Lodge
#20 of 20 in Chobe National Park
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Chobe Marina Lodge
Chobe Marina Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kasane
371 reviews
2.8 km away
The Old House
The Old House
#2 of 2 in Kasane
186 reviews
6.2 km away
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
The Big 5 Chobe Lodge
#17 of 19 in Kasane
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
THEBE RIVER LODGE FACILITIES Facilities at Thebe River Lodge include Twin Room and Family Room accommodation in addition to Camping Facilities. All guests at Thebe River Lodge have access to our Spacious Dining Area and the Bush Bar and a pool to soak in the Botswana Sun. Thebe River Lodge offers an Activity Centre where you can book a variety of activities on offer in the region and transfers to all the regional Airports and towns. Thebe River Restaurant offers the chance to unwind after a long, hot day of exploring the Chobe National Park or after arriving from a distant destination or just anytime you feel like cold drinks, good food and varied company in the rustic restaurant and bar area overlooking the placid Chobe River. Guests can enjoy a fine meal or drinks from the bar and take a swim in the inviting pool if the weather gets hot which it does often in Kasane. Facilities at Thebe River Lodge include; - Lodge Rooms - Camping Sites - Restaurant - Bar and Pool area - BBQ Facilities - Activity & Safari Centre ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thebe River Lodge

Address: Main Road, Kasane, Botswana
Region: Botswana > North-West District > Kasane
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Thebe River Hotel Kasane
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thebe River Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Thebe River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms surround and quiet courtyard so one room is not better than another.”
 of 5 bubbles widowtallan, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great, plus they have separate camp grounds if you really want to rough it and bring your own tent.”
  • View of the Courtyard
 of 5 bubbles alethearobinson1, 6 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Campsite at riverfront seem still to be the nicest ones...”
 of 5 bubbles 972evaj, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Not room 15, it was below average.”
 of 5 bubbles AttilaArrow, 1 Jul 2015 | Read review
“did not stay in the rooms but the camp site was clean and tidy.”
 of 5 bubbles SuzanneB57, 6 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5