We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias

Show Prices
#47 of 147 Hotels in Cartagena
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias
Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 132: English reviews
Start your review of Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias
 Click to rate
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is well situated in the Old Town. Breakfast is served off a menu not a buffet. The front desk is very helpful and responsive. The wait staff in the restaurant or at the pool is likewise. The rooms may not be expansive, but they are modern and comfortable. We got a foot massage which was so pleasant after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J David N
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for taking a few minutes of your precious time to review your visit to our Movich Hotel. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, your comments are very important to us in order to improve the service and quality we offer our guests day by day. We hope to welcome you back...

Bento Goncalves, RS
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's pretty incredible that a high end hotel can be managed so poorly. We booked for three days and chose it specifically for the rooftop pool. Since we arrived late night the first day, we only had two days to appreciate the sunset by the pool. Big mistake!! The hotel rents out the rooftop for private events and hotel guests...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Migowski
Management response:

Dear Migowski, Thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to leave us a comment on your stay in our hotel Movich. We’re really sorry to hear that you had some inconveniences during your stay and we definitely will contact the hotel staff so they can make the adjustments regarding your review. It’s very important to us that...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Movich rooftop I grabbed drinks w friends and family at the Movich. The view was fab. Service terrible. They didn't have silverware or cushions on the benches. They excused it on the idea that they were being washed... we moved close to the bar, appetizers took forever to be served and price was as New York City. Tip was 10%...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jul i
Management response:

Dear jul, Thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to leave us a comment on your stay in our hotel, we are really sorry to hear that you had some inconveniences during your visit. We are working on improving the details in the service to provide our guests an excellent experience. We really hope have the chance...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We and our friends just returned from a four night visit to Cartagena, Colombia. Our stay at the Movich de las Indias hotel was fantastic! The staff simply could not be more professional, courteous, or helpful. Our rooms were spotlessly clean with rainhead showers, flat screen television, and even some English language channels. The rooftop pool was an extra added...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ayz54
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review

Dear Ayz54, We really appreciate to count with this review and all the staff would like to thank you for your comments. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay as it’s important to us to improve the service and quality we offer our guests. You are more than welcome to visit us in this or any of our...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay was not without quite the issue. When we arrived, we knew our room that was book was two double beds. When we checked in, we were taken to the second floor to a room with a king bed and all the windows faced a brick wall. It took a lot of digging our heels in and complaining along...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Griswolds3
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review

Dear Griswolds3, We really want to thank you this great review about your visit to our Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, it’s important to us to improve the service and quality we offer our guests also we are sure that all our staff enjoyed with your visit. Customers like you are...

Reviewed 17 January 2017

I knew I had to write this review at some point after our trip - wish I could have done it sooner! We traveled in July 2016 to Cartagena with my husband and my 7 year old daughter. I'm so glad we chose Movich as our hotel. We had such a great experience during our stay. They welcomed us with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review

Dear Laura C We really appreciate have the chance to have guests as you and we'd want to thank you for this review about our hotel Movich. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay, and is important for us to let you know that we'll keep working for offer you a premium service anytime. We hope to...

Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

We watched the sunset from this rooftop bar one night. It provided a great view with good drinks. We were able to hear the street music from the rooftop which was an added bonus. The bartender was friendly and took a handful of pictures for us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey H
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review

Dear Kelsey H, Thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to review your visit to Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, it’s important to us to improve the service and quality we offer our guests. We hope to welcome you back in this or any of our 8 Movich...

Banff
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Invited by business colleagues to this rooftop restaurant overlooking the old town. It was Xmas time and the decorations on the streets just enhanced the already floodlight architecture. You would never know the rooftop restaurant and pool were there from the street level and there is little noise. Restaurant food was excellent and no better place to have my first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GogsGraham
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review

Dear GogsGraham, Thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to review your visit to Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, it’s important to us to improve the service and quality we offer our guests. We hope to welcome you back in this or any of our 8 Movich hotels...

Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Great hotel, great location, great staff and great rooms. From the top deck you get to see the most spectacular sunsets. Perfect for taking pictures. You can take nice walks on the Walled city from the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana Carolina O
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review

Dear Diana Carolina, We would like to thank you for your comment and let you know that we'll keep working for fulfill your expectations for futures visits. Have a nice day

New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 October 2016

The Movich hotel was beautiful and the staff was very friendly. The only drawback was the lack of English (common around Cartagena in general). The restaurant is very nice, but they are still renovating it. Also, the lack of English made communication difficult with dietary restrictions and they messed up an order a few times. Aside from that, the stay...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sjalan110
HotelesMovich M, Gerente at Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias, responded to this review

Dear sjlan110, Thanks a lot for share your opinion and let us know how we can get better for futures visits. You'll be more than welcome to visit us in any of our locations around the country. Best regards

442 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (289)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (138)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (115)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Suite Room (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cartagena hotels
0.5 km away
Bastion Luxury Hotel
Bastion Luxury Hotel
#8 of 147 in Cartagena
736 reviews
0.7 km away
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
Sofitel Legend Santa Clara
#5 of 147 in Cartagena
1,709 reviews
0.8 km away
Allure Chocolat Hotel By Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Boutique Casa del Coliseo
0.1 km away
Casa Claver Loft Boutique Hotel
0.2 km away
Casa Pestagua Hotel Boutique, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cartagena was declared National Heritage of Colombia in 1959 and Historical and Cultural Heritage by UNESCO in 1984. The hotel is strategically located in the historic center of the city, next to the Plaza de la Aduana, very close to the best options for shopping, dining, historical tours and attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias

Address: Calle Velez Danies # 4 - 39 | Centro Historico, Cartagena, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bolivar Department > Cartagena District > Cartagena
Price Range: $299 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cartagena
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cartagena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Movich Hotel Cartagena de Indias staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's a great place to grab a drink on the bar and leave, not even appetizers are worth your wallet”
 of 5 bubbles 480juli, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Beautiful modern hotel, nicely appointed rooms, good food and a great rooftop pool and bar!”
 of 5 bubbles Griswolds3, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were only here for a business meeting/ meal”
 of 5 bubbles GogsGraham, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The closer you stay to the rooftop patio, the closer you are to the party.”
 of 5 bubbles 303emilyh, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The higher floors have the best view.”
 of 5 bubbles Gwenna, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5