We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
Carrera 43a 1 Sur-150, Medellin 050021 Colombia
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$106
View deal
Booking.com
US$106
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
HIExpress.com
US$106
View deal
Hotels.comUS$106
TravelocityUS$106
travelup.comUS$162
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (178)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (210)

About

#33 of 276 hotels in Medellin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Holiday Inn Hotel with Suites in Medellin, Located in the Poblado district of Medellin, the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Medellin Hotel, offers visitors high quality services and a convenient location near the local's attractions and businesses,this centric Medellin hotel is four miles from Plaza Mayor, the most important conference and convention center from the area, and near major banks and international businesses. Less than five miles away, you can find popular attractions such as Pueblito Paisa, which offers a taste of Colombian culture, and El Parque de Los Pies Descalzos. La Strada Mall is adjacent to the hotel, and offers fine dining, entertainment and shopping. Have the best night's sleep in comfortable rooms, and wake up to the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar, which serves a variety of hot and cold items daily. Take advantage of the on-site Fitness Center and stay productive using the Business Center with faxing, printing and copying capabilities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Salon
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
Iron
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian

Location

90Good for walkers
Grade: 90 out of 100
76Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
11Attractionswithin 0.5 km
450Reviews7Q+A43Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 169
  • 163
  • 60
  • 39
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
AlvaroNYC wrote a review May 2022
New York City, New York759 contributions140 helpful votes
Cool stay in Medellin. the weather was very while, heavy rain and flooring all over on the streets. My hotel room was also under Water. and some of my electronics were damaged but the hotel management was very helpful and work replacing my iPhone charger. this hotel is like my house in Medellin and everyone Nows me and make feel great as a IGH elite Member. Thanks everyone for been helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Express, Propietario at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel
Responded 18 May 2022
Good Morning dear AlvaroNyc Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Express Medellin Thank you so much for sharing your comments. We are so sorry for the inconveniences that you had in your room and the Iphoner charger, we are glad we could helped you fix the Iphone charger. We are glad you always feel like home everytime you visit us. We hope to have you back very soon !! Have a great day!! Diana Hinestroza Front desk manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacob S wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
wful services and RACISM, arrived from the US for checking, the girl " LAURA GONZALEZ" at the lobby would not accept my girl friend because she had an expired Venezuelan Passport... like most Venezuelan, they can enter the US (and most countries) with expired passport due the known situation in Venezuela... BUT NOT HOLIDAY INN MEDELLIN!!! SHAME ON YOU HOLIDAY INN!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Express, Propietario at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel
Responded 28 Sep 2021
Good Morning P6104VHjacobs Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at Holiday Inn Express MEDELLIN. I would like to start by apologizing to you for not meeting your expectations. We are sorry for the inconvenience that you had that at check-in, we were just making the regular procedures. As an IHG hotel we do not discriminate on the grounds of race, colour, ethnic or national origin, gender, sexual orientation, age, religion, marital status or disability. We apologize again for not meeting your expecation, and We hope you will give us a chance by staying with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
evelyn wrote a review Sep 2021
Oldsmar, Florida19 contributions26 helpful votes
Spacious room. We have a suite with an empty kitchen. No utensils, coffee maker with no coffee provided. Misacc at the front desk was especially gracious in helping us print out the health forms, covid test results etc. Great personality and very professional. Always so helpful. We had problems with the safe and had to get the staff to unlock the code a few times. Upon arrival it did not work and when we left it did not work again. Kind of frustrating. Never saw the cleaning staff or if they cleaned the room. No sign to say do not enter. Cleaning staff moved things around and randomly threw away stuff without asking upon our return. Very annoying! The kitchen staff was excellent. Very efficient in carrying out their duties. The juice was delicious. Overall it was a pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Centrally Located, walking distance to 24 hours Fresh market and mall.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Express, Propietario at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel
Responded 13 Sep 2021
Good Morning Shangrila Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Express Medellin Thank you so much for sharing your comments. We are glad to know you had a pleasant stay during you visity here at Medellin city!!. Thank you for the nice comments about our front desk and kitchen staff, it makes us very proud to hear this!!. Regarding the empty kitchen and the utenslis, right now for preventive measures they are not available, but you can resquested at the front desk and they can bring it to your room!!. We are so sorry for the troubles you had with the safe during your stay. We will use this feedback to improve and be able to provide a better stay next time around!!! We hope to have you back very soon !! Have a great day!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carlos wrote a review Sep 2021
Seattle, Washington2 contributions
When we arrived to the hotel after a very long red-eye flight, we were greeted my an amazing clerk that had us checked in within minutes. Room was spacious and the views of the city were breathtaking. Extra supplies (additional towels, silverware) were brought to the room almost instantly - I couldn't believe it! The hotel is centrally located with top rated restaurants and a fantastic mall nearby. We are coffee lovers and had tons of coffee shops around us. Take advantage of the city tour options - nothing like being driven around by professional and knowledgeable people. Can't say enough good things... will definitely be coming back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Higher floors = better views
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Express, Propietario at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 Sep 2021
Good morning Resort377883 Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn Express Medellin Thank you so much for sharing your comment. We are so thrill to know you had a wonderful stay from moment the check in started to a spacious room with a whole view to Medellin City. We are glad to know you liked the location close malls and restaurant, and also were able visit and enjoy more about Medellin City. Thank you so much for your kind for about your stay. We hope to have you back very soon!! Hope you a great day!! Diana Hinestroza Front desk manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JP_y_LP wrote a review Jul 2021
Portland, Oregon1039 contributions188 helpful votes
All the staff that we interacted with were amazing. From the guy at front desk Who let us store or bags in one of the offices since we arrived several hours before check-in, housekeeping was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure that we were comfortable, and the kitchen staff who did an excellent job dishing up the food for the continental breakfast. I think I would have easily been stressed out if I were the one dishing up the food for breakfast. They remained professional and patient as the asked each person what they would like on their plate(s) and even checked up on us at our tables to serve more juice if we wanted. The room was very comfortable and spacious.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Holiday Express, Propietario at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel
Responded 22 Jul 2021
Dear Jp_y_LP Thanks for choosing us as your hotel in Medellin. Thank you so much for sharing your comments, we are happy to know you loved everything about your stay, your compliments toward our staff make us feell very very proud and is a big motivation for all of us!! We hope to have you back very soon!! Hope you have a great week!! Diana Hinestroza Front desk manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gustavoadelgado wrote a review Nov 2020
Playa del Carmen, Mexico44 contributions18 helpful votes
Understaffed, borderline illegal when they: 1) advertise a breakfast buffett (there is none), 2) no lobby (as they advertise), 3) you must pay if you want a business meeting in your room (they allow x amount of registered people, if you have additional guess for some minutes you will not be allowed unless you "pay" (it is a scam), 4) they do not clean rooms everyday (as they do not have the staff), 5) no ice machines (you must call reception to get ice "eventually"), if you are unlucky you will get a loudy neighbor (nothing can be done), 6) they have NO idea what costumer service means nor they understand the meaning of "costumer retention".... 7) business center is a joke (do jot be misleading ny the pictures)... 8) location is the only plus here, but there are plenty of better hotels around...... in general, this is not the place for you to conduct business.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Natalia Toro, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel
Responded 24 Nov 2020
Dear Mr Gustavo Thanks for choosing us as your hotel in Medellin. We are very sorry that your experience was not good, we try our most to make all our guest to feel nice with us. About the Buffet, we are not allowed to have buffet for guest, we are trying to request the permission from Secretaria de Salud to have assited buffet for guest, we hope to have the approval for december. When you guest in, you must read and sign a docuent that explains the protocol, were it sayd that no external people which is not original registered in the reservation is allowen to check in after as an extra person, you have some extras that were not allowed. About the business center, due to COVID 19, we can only have 1 station of computer and printer. We are very sorry and hope you come back other time to enjoy more your stay with us. Regards Natalia
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wilbur h wrote a review Oct 2019
Washington DC, District of Columbia23 contributions49 helpful votes
Very clean hotel in a safe part of Poblado, Minutes away from Parque LLeras and malls. Very helpful staff, especially the front desk. Good breakfast. The hotel is about 25 minutes from the airport. I will stay there again when I return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Curious44997134676, Director de Recepción at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel
Responded 5 Feb 2020
Good morning Mr. Wilbur H Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Holiday Inn We are glad to know you have enjoy your stay with us, that you liked our location and enjoyed the breakfast. Thank you for leaving such a nice comment. Hope to serve you again very soon Diana Hinestroza Front desk manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RokLov wrote a review May 2019
Las Vegas, Nevada101 contributions44 helpful votes
This was my first visit to Columbia, so I have nothing local to compare it to. The check-in process was excellent, and throughout my stay, I must rate the Front Desk staff as above average. They were friendly, helpful, and very professional. The cleaning staff were also good, and their supervisor was definitely on top of things. and would make corrections without being asked. The location was very good. A safe neighborhood, and within walking distance to one of the best malls, Santa Fe Mall, in Medellin. Santa Fe Mall is also one of the best places to exchange money using your ATM. In Medellin, you get the best rate of exchange using your Debit Card at a secure ATM. Also, the Santa Fe Mall has a nice Supermarket for stocking your room with water, drinks, and snacks. Also, the top floor of the mall has a very large court. My room at the hotel was Spacious with a comfortable bed, a mini frig, microwave, sink, glasses, plates, and a knife & fork. I had the corner room (1103), and the view was great. I did not enjoy the room lighting. I enjoy reading books, and there was not sufficient light at any location in the room for comfortable reading. I also liked the rooftop dining area, an excellent view, and was also a nice reading area, day or night (great lighting). The front desk staff was also very good, and very responsive to any complaint. Great food at the Taco House, located on the 2nd floor in the area in front of the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Only 6 room per floor, so get an end room for an excellent view - great views from any angle.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GrupoSuites, Director General at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Jul 2019
Dear RokLov Thanks so much for these amazing comment, we will share it with all our staff. Very glad to know you have enjoy your stay with us as your first experience in Colombia, also thake note that in our renovation all the lights from the rooms are being change, so for sure in a next stay you will enjoy it more. Hope to serve you again very soon Regards Natalia Toro
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AlvaroNYC wrote a review May 2019
New York City, New York759 contributions140 helpful votes
I have to rise concerns about my last stay in Holiday Express Medellin during May 6 & 7 2019. Customer service its amazing great ladies and professional gentleman’s. The room it was limited amenities, broken café maker machine, tea, and disable security box (some from the hotel went to check and promise to fixed and nothing happens etc. the sofa bed it was dirty and look nasty because it’s a clear color, absolutely not appropriate because it was dirty. Even though I used my points for 2 night I just stood for one night because I cannot leave my valuables and passports expose. I has been in this property several times, and also ask for a higher floor as state in my preferences but I get a room only at the 8th floor. I hope in the future this property works in room enhancements and better customer service because in the past it was amazing experiences. Best regards
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 Jun 2019
Hello AlvaroNYC, Thanks for choosing Holiday Inn Express And Suites Medellin and leaving your honest feedback. Although I am happy to see your perfect rating of 5/5 stars for our area of service, I am sorry to read that your stay was not as comfortable as it should have been, issues with broken coffee maker in your room, disabled security box and issues with the rooms upkeep. I have shared your comments with hotel management, who responded with genuine concern for the impact this had on your stay. I know they appreciate your sharing your experience and am confident they will take steps so this doesn’t happen again. Again, thanks for getting in touch with us. We appreciate you as our guest. If you need anything else just send us an e-mail at ihgservice@ihg.com. Best Regards, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
amkhol wrote a review Apr 2019
Pottsville, Pennsylvania18 contributions5 helpful votes
Spacious suite. Great view. Comfortable beds. Location is good for variety of restaurants. Good service. decent breakfast. Kitchenette could use more cutlery and real cups not the flimsy plastic ones.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Select high floor for the view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GrupoSuites, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel
Responded 12 Apr 2019
Dear amkhol Thanks so much for choosing us as your hotel in Medellin, for us is a pleasure to serve you. We will check with our housekeeping department your suggestion and see if we can acommodate them to our international hotel standards. Hope to serve you again, very soon Regards Natalia Toro M General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$91 - US$130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express medellin hotel medellin, holiday inn medellin
LOCATION
ColombiaAntioquia DepartmentMedellin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
96
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS & SUITES MEDELLIN, AN IHG HOTEL: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 394 Photos (Colombia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Centro Comercial Oviedo (0.4 km), Medellin Group (0.06 km), and Kukaramakara Medellín (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Della Nonna Milla De Oro, NAU Sushi Lounge Medellin, and La Provincia.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.