The Claridge Hotel

The Claridge Hotel

Traveller (1149)
Panorama at The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
360
Panoramas (15)
Honeymoon Suite
Room & Suite (396)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#13 of 41 hotels in Atlantic City
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Conference facilities
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Rooftop bar
Game room
Evening entertainment
Karaoke
Patio
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Bottled water
Iron
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites

Location

123 S Indiana Ave, Atlantic City, NJ 08401
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 88 out of 100
88
Atlantic City Intl Airport
16.6 km
See all flights
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles3,546 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Claridge Hotel, steeped in historical allure, offers guests a charming atmosphere with access to nearby casinos and amenities such as an indoor pool and a rooftop bar. However, many visitors feel the hotel doesn't provide good value, pointing to steep prices and additional fees. While some rooms are praised for their comfort and cleanliness, others are criticized for dated decor and maintenance issues. Service quality is inconsistent; some commend the professional staff, yet others encounter disorganization. Cleanliness generally meets expectations, but some areas require attention.
Atmosphere
Vintage
Rooms
Run-down
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
3,546Reviews76Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,308
  • 769
  • 535
  • 412
  • 520
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dean K wrote a review Feb 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Location was excellent and room was nice enough but beware the sneaky add on fees; $17 per night to park and, worst of all, those hated Mandatory resort fees of $18 a night for pool and gym access whether you use it or not. Why doesn’t the hotel include all mandatory fees in the advertised price? it’s not worth the ill-will created. The in room coffee maker was plugged up with crap and couldn’t be used so we were spending another eight dollars a day for a couple of cups of overpriced coffee in the lobby.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ClaridgeManager, Front Office Manager at The Claridge Hotel
Responded 29 Feb 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. All Atlantic City properties charge the resort fees and in fact we are the lowest in the city. The fees are disclosed on all online sites while maybe not easily visible. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. Thank you again for taking the time to respond and share your feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
snoopy N Y wrote a review Aug 2021
New York City, New York
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is an old iconic hotel (opened in 1930) with old photos posted along their hallways.. and with the following comments:

1. gives you a good rooftop view from the 23rd floor with a bar resto (The Vue) that's overlooking the ocean, boardwalk and city
2. check in was no problem.. they had adequate staff at the time
3. location is convenient near the boardwalk/beach
4. bathroom was clean, the shower has good water pressure - towels though are not big enough, feels like i'm using a kids' towel
5. no microwave in the room
6. the housekeeping ladies were loud in the hallway - chatting in groups (it did wake me up in the morning especially when you hear them knocking in other guest rooms)
7. parking you have to pay even if you're a guest!!!!! ($17.00 self parking) - not sure with other hotels
8. the pool was disappointing.. indeed pictures doesn't tell the truth all the time.. it was small and packed with kids!
9. staff courteous enough to allow an extra hour of late check out

if you're looking for a historical place to stay.. this is your hotel...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Corporate Customer Care Corporate Customer Care, Owner at The Claridge Hotel
Responded 3 Sept 2021
Thank you for sharing your review. We do appreciate that you pointed out the positive aspects of your stay but are even more appreciative of the opportunity to learn where we can make improvements. Please accept our sincerest apologies if your stay was anything less than satisfying due to some concerns you encountered at that time. An excellent guest experience is our main concern and it appears that there was a shortfall in the high standards that we endeavor. We greatly value your feedback and it will be shared with our team for further improvements to our service. We look forward to having you back so that we may redeem ourselves and provide you an even better guest experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
ParticularPerson wrote a review Jun 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Checked in, the line was very long to get in. Parking not clear, went with valet but self parking is a less expensive option. The hotel is dated with vacant areas. The room was clean, however could not enjoy the ocean view with the dirty windows. Expected a King Bed but had to settle for Double because there was no more King Beds available. No frills room with old TV, no Netflix. No writing pad and pen at desk. Room service adds 22% mandatory gratuity and $4 delivery fee. No iron board, iron was burnt, one garbage can for the entire room which was in the bathroom. Lighting is horrible, one light worked in the bathroom and the overall lighting in the room is dim. No laundry service.

You get what you pay for. It’s not a bad hotel but not a great experience. It’s OK.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kevin Gould, Revenue Management at The Claridge Hotel
Responded 2 Jul 2021
Dear ParticularPerson7, Thank you for choosing The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel for your recent stay in Atlantic City. I am sorry to see we were unable to meet expectations during your visit. I am sorry to see there was a lighting issue, missing iron board and burnt iron in your room. Our housekeeping team would have been happy to correct these problems if notified during your stay. Our windows are cleaned on a consistent schedule, and I am sorry to see your window was not up to standard. As an oceanfront property, the salt air and high humidity can sometimes leave residue on the windows from even the slightest breeze. With regard to the service charge and delivery fee on room service, this is an industry standard across most hotels. Unfortunately, due to COVID-19 mitigation efforts, pads and pens as well as laundry service have been temporarily discontinued. We hope to be able to bring these items back online in the near future. We realize you have a choice when visiting Atlantic City and are thankful that you decided to choose our hotel. It is our hope that at some point in the future, we will have the opportunity to welcome you again. Kind Regards, Kevin Gould Director of Operations The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BritainDC wrote a review Jul 2020
Washington DC
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Trust the negative reviews. I didn't and I regret it.

The first room we got had what I pray were ketchup stains on the walls, paintings, and carpet. We received attitude when asking for it to be cleaned and/or to be moved to a new room.

We finally were moved to another room and it was clean, but even when I misheard the front desk person telling me the new number and asked again she said "Look at what's written down" and just pointed to the keyholder. Sadly, this reflected the general attitude of staff during the visit.

It took eight hours to get extra towels, toilet paper, and even a room service menu sent up to the room after being given a new one. On hour four I went to front desk to ask for a menu -- the staffer said they don't have copies and when I asked how to get one she just shrugged.

I know these are very trying times and I have sympathy during COVID-19 that things won't be at their best. But that's not an excuse to let them slip to their worst.

With so many other options for hotels in AC you should avoid this one.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Petey2728 wrote a review Jun 2020
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Due to the Covid quarantine and several months it home, I thought it would be nice to get away overnight to a beach side hotel for a little breathing room. The Claridge hotel offered a weekly deal on GROUPON (first mistake) which I took advantage of. Not wanting a whole lot, just quiet, nice pool, hotel restaurant, maybe room service and peace. The Claridge hotel has disappointed me and my minimal standards. The service appears to be Insufficient, room service did not respond to a request until 6 AM and charge just a 22% gratuity on top of a service delivery fee of four dollars our hotel room will be clean the bathroom had broken amenities the hotel is almost 80% still shut down and a $100 holding fee?!? Most of the boardwalk is still closed forcing me and my sister to forage for food within the community! Wow.

Never again
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ClaridgeManager, Craig Johnson Executive Chef at The Claridge Hotel
Responded 30 Jun 2020
Please allow me to extend my apologies for not exceeding your service and dining expectations. Please I would like to invite you to our rooftop VUE lounge as my guess for an appetizer. Please contact me when you arrive to the hotel for your next trip. Bess Regards Craig Johnson Executive Chef Culinary Operation
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LittleHyena wrote a review Jul 2020
Milan
2.0 of 5 bubbles
1/ Checked in at 3pm and asked for the kid‘s extra bed (requested and paid for in the reservation) approximately 5 or 6 times until almost 10pm. Each time you would have to explain the same easy request without a solution.
2/ Baby stroller was left outside the room — one day it disappeared without a word and when we managed to get it back the cover and the beverage holder were missing. We could never get them back despite several requests (and without an apology). Note — the stroller was left outside because there was no physical space inside the room due to the extra bed (supposedly it was a room for 3 people...); also a piece of furniture had to be taken out to fit the bed in.
3/ Bed and room were tidied up 2 nights out of 3 without a reason (no extra stay in the room justifying the room service to skip).
4/ The elevators were extra packed and no social distancing was applied.
5/ On a Sunday (checkout day for many guests) the elevators stopped and a fire alarm was heard in distance. Nobody announced an actual fire or a disservice. We had to go down 21 floors by the staircase.
6/ Reception and room service would not answer the phones “because busy” — you would need to go down and talk to someone.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kevin Gould, General Manager at The Claridge Hotel
Responded 8 Jul 2020
Dear Littlehyena Thank you for choosing The Claridge –a Radission Hotel for your recent stay in Atlantic City I do apologize for the issue with 6 ft distancing also fire alarm and elevator issues I will follow up on these issue and will address all issue above once again sorry for the inconvenience it may have cause during your stay. Regards, YOLANDA RIVERA, Security Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scottlin76 wrote a review Apr 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a couple of issues while here, one was the laundry. A few people I was here with complained that their laundry was mixed up with the laundry of other guests. Some of their clothing was lost, and they had magically acquired new clothing items that weren't their own (from other hotel guests). They REALLY need to keep guest clothing separated when laundering guest clothing and avoid mixing them.

Personally, I didnt have any issues with laundry. As a matter of fact, I needed something laundered quickly and they had it back to me in less than 3 hrs ..nothing missing and nothing new from another hotel guest. Yay!

Finally, I have to give kudos to JOHN, the maintenance manager. This guy was nonstop awesome and took great care of me on two separate occassions.

They did a good job.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ClaridgeManager, Jean Lasko, Reservations Supervisor at The Claridge Hotel
Responded 17 Jun 2020
Dear Scottlin76, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a wonderful review of our historic hotel. We appreciate your sharing your experience with us. We hope to so see you again soon.. Kind Regards, Jean Lasko Reservations Supervisor
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mr and Mrs wrote a review Aug 2020
South Brunswick, New Jersey, Usa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Parking is expensive and the parking garage is not owned by the hotel. The hotel takes no responsibility for your vehicle, while you stay on their property.
We stayed during COVID-19. one out of the four front desk desk had on a face covering. There was not sanitizing of the keypad or check in area, between guests
checking in, as I've seen at other hotels in the area.
Our floor REEKED of marijuana. Our non-smoking room REEKED of marijuana.
When we complained to front desk, we were told that many had complained.
No security present on the floor or in the garage. Our sheets were dingy, and the jetted tub was dirty. There was a dirt film on the water.
Room Service was the best part of our trip. Food was good.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kevin Gould, Revenue Management at The Claridge Hotel
Responded 8 Aug 2020
Dear Candice, Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey. On behalf of our entire staff at The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed the issues with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future. I will be reaching out to you directly to talk further. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations. Sincerely, The Claridge - a Radisson Hotel Ralph Diluzio
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
72Tiger wrote a review Aug 2021
Warwick Township, Pennsylvania
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked our trip on Booking.com and for the life of me I can’t understand where their reviews on this hotel came from. Without a doubt, it was probably one of the worst hotels we’ve ever stayed in. We spent two nights celebrating our 43 wedding anniversary. What a mistake it was staying at the Claridge Atlantic City.

Upon arriving The receptionist was rude and unwelcoming. She would not let my wife check us in while I parked our car a block away at the self park garage. This even though my wife was listed on the reservation and had my credit card in hand as well as her own ID and CC. When asked why she could not check us in after waiting in line behind three other guests, the receptionist stated “It’s the policy Babe !”After returning to the lobby I stood in line waiting to check in and I was met with the same indifferent attitude by this receptionist. The lobby has a strong musty odor, the area around the hotel is strewn with trash on the ground and adjacent park.

After entering our room the safe was locked so we called about it and were told an “engineer” would come to unlock it. They never came to unlock the safe so we went out for dinner. After returning to the room and retiring for the night we were awakened at 11:15 PM by a knock on the door, and then the door being opened by hotel staff. I yelled loudly and the hotel staff backed out the door. I walked to the door and was met by a hotel staff member who had towels in his hands and asked if we called for towels. I replied no we hadn’t and he apologized. It took us some time to fall back asleep. The most pleasant people we met during our stay were the parking garage attendants. It’s a shame the front desk staff could not convey the same warmth and friendliness as they did.

Our stay for two nights was $547.27. The unpleasant experience at the hotel lobby was very poor and disappointing. The hotel needs some major TLC. I think management should do a better job impressing upon it’s employees that if they are rude to customers, take no pride in their work, and have an indifferent attitude when interacting with people they will stop patronizing the hotel and everyone could soon find themselves out of work.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Melanie Molina, Other at The Claridge Hotel
Responded 2 Sept 2021
Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with the parking attendants. On the other hand, we are saddened to know that your experience was anything less than satisfying due to the service of the front desk staff and the cleanliness of the lobby as well as the condition of the safe at that time. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience, we are sorry that we failed to meet your expectations during your stay. We hope that you will reconsider and give us another chance to provide you an experience that is truly excellent in all aspects.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
UnpredictableMarj wrote a review Aug 2020
New York City, New York
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked 2 rooms for a quick getaway “coronacation” at this hotel and what a big disappointment already day one 8/24. Requested connecting room and they failed miserably fully this request: called 2 days before arrival, call the morning before arrival and asked during my early checking around 2pm. . Was told it would be available a if I returned during normal 4pm checking time.
I went for a walk and grabbed some lunch. When I returned, there was a long line. After a 20 minute wait, I was told it wasn’t possible. Was checked into two horrible non connected rooms. Smelled like smoke, out dated with lumpy mattress. The bellman who assisted me is the only delightful thing there. Ralph the agent needs empathy coaching. He Wasn’t pleasant and sounded robotic. I recognize there are a lot going on with covid19 but if you gonna open your door for business, it needs to be done right. I hate this plate. I’m sure it’s not corona free. It doesn’t appear cleaned,
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kevin Gould, Revenue Management at The Claridge Hotel
Responded 26 Aug 2020
Dear UnpredictableMarj, We are sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience during your stay. Unfortunately since we are at a high capacity we are not always able to accommodate guests with a early check-in or late check-out request. We apologize for the inconvenience of this miscommunication. It is unfortunate when situations like this arise. We take every precaution to make sure that all guests are affected as little as possible. We can ensure you that our housekeeping staff has been highly trained on thoroughly disinfecting and cleaning all public areas and guest rooms for your safety. We hope you will consider us again when you are in the area. Kay Crawford Sales and Marketing Coordinator The Claridge - A Radisson Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PrincessMarie82 wrote a tip May 2024
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania13 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel to stay in you may want to just go in for their amenities."
Read full review
Tessa K wrote a tip Apr 2024
Schnecksville, Pennsylvania5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay here."
Read full review
Kat28 wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own toiletries, towels and whatever else you will need because this place is lacking and doesn’t provide it"
Read full review
Lynrothie wrote a tip Mar 2024
Key West, Florida1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Elevators take forever too."
Read full review
Dennis D wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check reviews before booking, check fine print of unnecessary service fees."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Atlantic City area.
PRICE RANGE
S$93 - S$244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Claridge - A Radisson Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyJersey ShoreAtlantic City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
480
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CLARIDGE HOTEL: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 1,422 Photos (Atlantic City, NJ) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Claridge Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Claridge Hotel?
Nearby attractions include New Jersey Korean War Memorial (0.2 km), Caesars Atlantic City Casino (0.4 km), and Legends In Concert AC (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Claridge Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a rooftop bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at The Claridge Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Claridge Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Claridge Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Claridge Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Morton's The Steakhouse, Johnny Rockets, and Guy Fieri's Chophouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Claridge Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Is The Claridge Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Atlantic City.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Claridge Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Claridge Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Claridge Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lucy the Elephant (7.9 km).
All Atlantic City HotelsAtlantic City Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Atlantic CityHotels near The Claridge Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire