We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 45: English reviews
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The good things about the hotel the air-conditioning was excellent Staff were polite and helpful The down side was that this was our 4th visit to Egypt and the hotels have been excellent They had to move us as people walked past our room as we sat in the Jacuzzi the next room had a nice view but the birds... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mariaQ3390YW
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is by far one of the worst hotels that i have ever visited! I'll try to make a summarized review of the problems that i have faced there. 1- The beach and bathroom towels were either dirty or frayed, or both. 2- The black out curtain in my room also was ripped out. 3- The television set was very... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank unbekannte38
ShamsQM, Manager at Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for that you have been our guest and that you have taken your time to give us a review on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and we apologize if there was an inconvenience for you. Normally, in case of complaints and if we get informed about at front desk,... More 

Travellers are raving about these Safaga hotels

Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

we've just returned from our vacation at imperial shams safaga , and we liked it very much , the staff there was very hospitable and everything was beautiful . I'd like to come again .. the sea is exotic .. swimming there was unforgettable [ i saw beautiful yellow fish swimming around us ] .

Helpful?
2 Thank Dina E
ShamsQM, Manager at Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, responded to this review

Dear Dina, thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that we were able to meet your expectations for a great holiday and that you enjoy our wonderful beach and underwater world so much. You are always welcome at our hotel and we look forward to see you soon again. All the best to you and kind regards,... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Rooms tired, bathrooms only surface clean, mouldy grout etc. Lifts look like they could fail at any time. Food excruciatingly boring, like hospital meals, did not change for 7 days. All towels and linens ( beach and room) are faded and /or fraying. High charges for wifi by the 30minutes. A few staff keen, but most complacent at best. May... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mary-midlands
ShamsQM, Manager at Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry that we couldn't meet your expectations and we already forwarded your criticism to the management. Guest satisfaction is one of our highest goal and if you would like to choose our hotel once again we would be happy if you could contact us through our website for showing... More 

Staffordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel from 31st August 2013 for the rest of the holiday. (Holiday 30th August to 13 September). We have been to Egypt for the last 6 years and will be going again next year. We had not booked this hotel, but due to so many cancellations lots of the hotels were closing including the one we had... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dusty1Staffordshire
ShamsQM, Manager at Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your very extensively review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that we could meet your expectations for a great holiday and that you enjoyed our hotel, the service and the wonderful beach so much. You are always welcome at our hotel and we look forward to see you and your friends soon again. All the best... More 

chester England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just returned from staying 2 weeks in this hotel.on arrival we were given a drink whilst checking in,which was most welcoming.check-in swift and taken to our room,as we didn't arrive til 10.15pm and had missed our evening meal we were given a meal in the coffee bar, which was a salad,again nice. rooms..spotless, cleaned every day,sheets changed daily. staff where... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank maggie-anne
ShamsQM, Manager at Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that we could meet your expectations for a great holiday and that you enjoyed our wonderful beach and the amazing underwater world so much. You are always welcome at our hotel and we look forward to see you soon again. All the best to you and kind regards,... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Imperial shams is a very friendly hotel, warm and welcoming people, pools and beachs are beautiful, rooms are clean and comfortable, food lovely with lots of variety and differs from day to day, only us English do like our sausages and bacon missed that at breakfast but could not fault the eggs made fresh as you wanted them and soup... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kezzy03
ShamsQM, Manager at Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for the time you've taken to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had a nice holiday with enjoying all our services and we would look forward to see you soon again. Sunny greetings from Egypt The Management & Team More 

Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Imperial shams is a small resort in a larger shams resorts complex sharing the same beach which is a large one. It is a 4 star hotel (Not 5 as advertised on some sites). The Rooms: Spacious, Clean and well furnitured. Room service is good The Beach: Long one with numerous beds (Well stuffed with wind screens). The water is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Omar K
ShamsQM, Manager at Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you very much for the time you've taken to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had a nice holiday with enjoying our services. We're sorry that we couldn't met your expectations regarding the food and we will send your comment to the F&B department. We would look forward to see you soon again... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We were at the Imperial Shams by the end of June for one week. The staff was very friendly and helpfully. The food was good if you want to order a la card you can make a reservation for the restarant in the first floor. The food there was also good. The rooms were big and clean. Beach is very... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Ronny P
ShamsQM, Manager at Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ronny, thank you very much for your time to write your impressions of your vacation with us by TripAdvisor. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you soon back again. You are always welcome! Sunny greetings from The Management & Team More 

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I was In Egypt, at least ten times already, even in hotels with less stars, but this was the worst hotel because of: - In less than 15 minutes when the restaurant opened they ran out of plates or glasses or drink -the food was the same every day, in addition, to date the worst selection of food (desserts for... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Chemchee
ShamsQM, Guest Relations Manager at Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort, responded to this review

Dear Cemo, thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We're sorry that we didn't meet your expectation in your vacation for the food and for sure we excuse when it has come up to short waiting times during the hotel was fully booked out in your travel time. We hope you enjoyed the sun, our beautiful beach and... More 

325 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (286)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (41)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Safaga
3.2 km away
Caribbean World Resorts Soma Bay
0.8 km away
Sol Y Mar Paradise Beach
1.3 km away
Lotus Bay
Lotus Bay
#8 of 13 in Safaga
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
The Breakers Diving & Surfing Lodge
1.2 km away
Amwaj Blue Beach Resort & Spa
3.8 km away
SENTIDO Palm Royale Soma Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort is located approximately 50 km south of Hurghada and adjacent to Safaga. A chain of isolated and breathtaking reefs with dramatic cliffs and plateaus determine here, the characteristic life in the sea. Because of its location, various dive sites and a large quantity of fishes can be found. The location offers not only numerous dive sites, but also one of the best windsurfing and kite surfing spots in Egypt, with ideal wind conditions through all year round.Excellent conditions for all activities on and under the water are available at the resort. Diving, windsurfing, kite surfing or snorkeling will be for all professionals, amateurs or beginners an unforgettable challenge and experience, but also the natural sand beach and the swimming pools invite all others for relaxing as well. An animation team and its sports program provide fun & entertainment for everyone. Kids Club with games, mini disco and more, all what children like. 322 rooms and suites are spread over a u-shaped building with fabulous front or side seaview, balcony or terrace, equipped with twin or king size beds, air conditioning, safe, mini fridge, satellite TV, telephone and a private bathroom with vanity mirror and hair dryer. The suites dispose partly over its own terrace or large roof garden with sun beds, seating and a personal-to-use Jacuzzi.Different kinds of restaurants & bars can be found in the Resort and the All Inclusive will fulfill all wishes and concerns with tasteful meals and a wide section of beverages. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort

Address: Km 9 Safaga | Road Abu Soma, Safaga 84711, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Safaga
Price Range: $102 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Shams Abu Soma Hotel Safaga
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Safaga
#4 Spa Hotel in Safaga
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Safaga
#6 Luxury Hotel in Safaga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Imperial Shams Abu Soma Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Single beds are dreadful but we had no choice!”
 of 5 bubbles Suzieq210, 8 Aug 2015 | Read review
“pay or raise a stink :)”
 of 5 bubbles 2jfox, 14 May 2015 | Read review
“my room number was 446 realy very good with big balcon and nice sea weaw”
  • my room
  • nice room
  • in my room
  • weaw from window
 of 5 bubbles paukstpiene, 6 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a frontal sea view. Rooms on the ground floor have little privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles jve0165, 4 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Do yourself a favor and go to a hotel in Hurgada.”
 of 5 bubbles 587mihak, 23 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay