We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Poppies Lane 1 / 19 Jalan Legian, Kuta 80361 Indonesia
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$93
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/08/22
Expedia.com
US$87
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/08/22
Agoda.com
US$84
View deal
Hotels.comUS$87
TravelocityUS$87
PricelineUS$93
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (758)
Room & Suite (242)
Pool & Beach (170)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 26/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 26/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 371 hotels in Kuta
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
After nearly four decades Poppies is still being discovered by those wishing to escape the glitz and glamour of grandiose hotels while expecting comfortable clean surroundings, friendly service, and Balinese charm. Spacious individual thatched cottages filled with collectors' antiques, Indonesian fabrics and a host of creature comforts nestle in beautifully kept gardens with ponds, waterfalls, towering coconut palms, and a stunning swimming pool built among rocks and sunbathing terraces, overhung with riotous bougainvillea.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Poolside bar
Shuttle bus service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic
Languages Spoken
Indonesian
713Reviews35Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 571
  • 116
  • 22
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
OD100 wrote a review Jul 2022
Brisbane, Australia59 contributions14 helpful votes
After getting a bit lost, managed to find the restaurant which was worth the effort. A nice setting with friendly staff and good value. Food quality and style was homely and authentic flavours. Only draw back seemed to be bit short of staff and hard to find.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jenny K wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
After not being able to visit beautiful Bali for nearly three years, my sister and I finally returned to our little paradise in the middle of busy Kuta. Mr Sujana and his wonderful team greeted us as if it were only yesterday. We have stayed at Poppies on a number of occasions so we were so happy to see they survived Covid and came out eager to greet all their friends/guests. Looking forward to our next visit….soon I hope.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We enjoy cottages closest to the pool.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
BriannaKeller840909 wrote a review Nov 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed in Poppies hotel for 3 nights. What i like is that hotel located very convenient. Busy Kuta is just next to it, but once you get inside its so calm and relaxing. Thanks for the team who work there, very kind and professional!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from John Taylor, Other at Poppies Bali
Responded 28 Jan 2021
Sorry for a very late reply! Truth is that with zero foreign visitors to Bali since March, we've been temporarily closed. BUT our staff come in routinely, to tidy up, keep the garden trim, the machinery oiled, and the pool looking pristine. Please keep up with the latest news on our FB page Facebook.com/PoppiesBali1/ Just as soon as Bali gets a green light to open again, we'll be ready to welcome you back, as if nothing had happened!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judith K wrote a review Apr 2020
Mission Viejo, California50 contributions19 helpful votes
A visit to Poppies Bali is like a private escape to a most special place. Once through the gates into this beautiful garden space, it is easy to forget the chaos of Kuta Beach! In fact, shy leave...unless it is to slip across the alley to Poppie's wonderful restaurant. My first visit there was more than 35 years ago. I can't count the visits since then. Many special occasions...birthdays, anniversaries, reunions...all special and made more so because of the magic of Poppies! I plan to return!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali
Responded 24 Apr 2020
Thank you! We plan to be open again, and ready to welcome you back when you do..
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
20Colin35 wrote a review Mar 2020
Sydney, Australia2107 contributions41 helpful votes
We've just stayed at Poppies for the 7th time and it remains a peaceful and beautiful oasis in the midst of Kuta. We stayed for four nights in room 26 which is at the back and very private. As always the staff are so helpful and polite and I would highly recommend Poppies if you're considering staying in Kuta.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back again for your eighth visit!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
J123456789 wrote a review Mar 2020
London123 contributions139 helpful votes
Stayed here before, it is a good hotel with excellent food and lovely grounds. It's right in the centre of Kuta but most rooms are quiet. The price no longer includes breakfast which tips the value balance a bit.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Thank you for your kind review. We remain puzzled by your observation about breakfast no longer being included. Prior to 3 years ago, our rates never included breakfast - it was always additional, and a la carte, either using a menu with prices that was completed and hung on the doorknob, or guests could eat breakfast in our restaurant. Since 3 years ago, and across all the online travel agencies, as well as our own website, there has always been a choice between Room Only and Room with Breakfast. Your booking was clearly selected as Room Only.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RvE wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Beautiful oasis in otherwise busy Kuta. Relatively high price, but worth every penny. Go there, especially during this Corona affected season. Even more serene now. Maybe as nice and quiet ss the place was thirty or forty years ago.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali
Responded 5 Mar 2020
Thank you for a perfect score, and for your support, as things get a bit uncertain..
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Off their P wrote a review Mar 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom3637 contributions1661 helpful votes
This was a place we had admired for a long time but never stayed before. We have now and absolutely loved the place – it is just so beautiful! Take one step from the chaos that is Poppies 1 through the door into the hotel grounds and the transformation is immediate and incredible. Peace and tranquillity everywhere and it is impossible not to relax. Getting there - the hotel offer free of charge collection (or drop-off) from the airport which is a really nice touch. Other than that, it is such a well established place every driver will know where it is. We discovered the Grab app while we were here and used that. It is cheap, reliable and efficient. Location – excellent. As I’ve mentioned, you are right on poppies lane one with all the entertainment that brings! Great bars and restaurants, convenience stores and about a 10 minute walk down to the beach. The location really couldn’t be better. Cottages – the first thing that hits you is the privacy. Each one is like a little house with its own garden and beautiful veranda. We used the last named lots and spent many happy hours out on the morning and evening just relaxing. It has comfortable furniture, fan and thoughtfully coils for mosquitoes. By the way, to say this is such a garden based accommodation we got very little trouble with insects. Inside the bungalow is very well designed and comfortable indeed. A TV along with a fridge, dressing gown‘s and a very comfortable bed which we slept very well indeed. There is a ceiling fan and fairly decent air-conditioning. The outdoor bathroom is beautiful and has a net so no wildlife can't join you! The shower doubles as a bath and it is all done out in a beautiful Balinese style. Wi-Fi – free for unlimited devices and runs at about 20 GB. As someone mentioned, to have your individual hotspot you need to put the television on but we managed to pick up all the routers around the property easily as well. No need for constant logging in and it reaches all areas including the pool. Pool – must be one of the most beautiful areas of its type we’ve ever been to. Again, done in the local style it is absolutely beautiful and full of character. At times we were the only people using it so none of the selfish sunbed hogging here. Staff – they simply could not do enough for you. From the moment you walk into the property to when you leave they are unobtrusive but more than happy to help you when needed. Nothing is too much trouble and whatever you need will be provided with a big smile. Food – we were in a room only so can’t comment on the breakfast. As I mentioned, there are shops everywhere so you can easily buy your own. As an indication of what a wonderful place it is we used to wake up two flasks of fresh water and complimentary bananas provided. A small indicator of just what a superb place it is.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: All are private and quiet - the ones furthest from Poppies are the most quiet.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali
Responded 5 Mar 2020
The biggest satisfaction any Management team can hope for, is when guests notice and actually refer to so many of the little things they’ve all been working on for many years. Thank you! Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for taking so much of your time to set down such a magnificent appraisal of Poppies, for others to benefit from. Especially as we face a very uncertain immediate future complicated by COVID-19...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GaiMDawe wrote a review Feb 2020
Adelaide, Australia30 contributions13 helpful votes
Poppies always feels like we are coming home from the moment we enter the foyer. Yet again it did not disappoint. The staff are second to none when it comes to customer service and the cottages, pool and gardens are just beautiful. Yes we will be back again next year. I think it will be visit number 12! Don't knock Kuta until you have stayed at Poppies!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Gai !!!!! Sending you a separate email... So sorry to miss you yet again!! Thanks as always
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ben S wrote a review Feb 2020
Bali, Indonesia24 contributions5 helpful votes
Came here based a friends recommendation for a quintessential kuta accommodation. We were not disappointed, everything is a little bit dated, which is the charm. Would stay again and recommend. Only criticism is the beds may need to be replaced, seemed a bit old but wasn’t a dealbreaker
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Bali
Responded 3 Mar 2020
Thank you for staying with us and for giving us such high marks despite the beds, which are in fact high on our list for attention! Along with curtains, which are ALMOST finished....!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$89 - US$106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
poppies bali hotel kuta
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliKuta DistrictKuta
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Poppies Bali
Which popular attractions are close to Poppies Bali?
Nearby attractions include Kuta Leather And Tailor (0.3 km), LXXY Bali (0.3 km), and Ground Zero Monument (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Poppies Bali?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Poppies Bali?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Poppies Bali?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Poppies Bali?
Conveniently located restaurants include Don Juan Mexican Restaurant and Bar, XOXO Ice Cream, and Warung Chef Bagus.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Poppies Bali?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Poppies Bali have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Poppies Bali offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Poppies Bali have airport transportation?
Yes, Poppies Bali offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Poppies Bali located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Kuta.
Are any cleaning services offered at Poppies Bali?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Poppies Bali?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Pura Dalem Sakenan Serangan (6.3 km).