We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nihiwatu

Travellers' Choice award winner
06/06/2017 07/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Nihiwatu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

316 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 294: English reviews
Start your review of Nihiwatu
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I came here for our honey moon and it was the most flawless experience we could ever have imagined :) First of all, our personal butler was amazing and made sure we were happy at all times (Desy, we love you!) We also became best friends with the entire staff to the extent where we now "whats...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandrahkaplan
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in Nihiwatu last year. It is a lovely place, very beautiful, good food and good service. Its so remote, the view of the milky way at night is breathtaking, the beach is gorgeous, the accomodation was perfect. However, there were a few issues... Firstly, almost every single activity you can do there (aside from lounge by the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank theglobeismyeye
GM_Nihi, Director of Sales at Nihiwatu, responded to this review

Dear theglobeismyeye, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your stay with us. We are grateful for any and all feedback in order to improve our resort’s offerings and wish to address your concerns with hopes that you will visit again. As an extremely remote destination, Sumba requires a significant outlay of resources to do business. And...

Pekanbaru, Indonesia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a family vacation and this place is like hidden treasure on earth, we loved it so much. Staff are very kind and nice. Hoping we can come back to this PARADISE some other times with more people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AISHA H
GM_Nihi, Director of Sales at Nihiwatu, responded to this review

Dear AISHA H, Thank you for such a wonderful feedback! We are indeed elated to hear that Nihiwatu has left you with such beautiful memories and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest Sumba wishes to you and your family. Best Regards, Antonella Mascimino Director of Sales and Marketing

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having spent 7 nights in Nihiwatu, we continue to suffer from major withdrawal symptoms as the property is truly a rare piece gem! A really raw and gorgeous setting makes the lengthy travel worth your while. From beautiful pristine beaches to unforgettable sunsets and baby turtle hatch-lings, I believe there are very few places in this world that can match...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hayhayz
GM_Nihi, Director of Sales at Nihiwatu, responded to this review

Dear hayhaz, Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your recent stay and to share with us such a valuable feedback. Nihiwatu is certainly blessed with the most beautiful and magical surroundings and it is the Sumbanese people with their genuine attitude which render this resort such an amazing place. Needless to say, it is with...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at Nihiwatu for the start of our honeymoon. On arrival, we were welcomed with refreshing drinks by the GM, Loraine. The friendly staff at this resort are truly amazing and Loraine and her team made sure that our every need was catered for. The restaurants serve delicious cuisine, with a good balance between Indonesian and western dishes. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1510Sweet
GM_Nihi, General Manager at Nihiwatu, responded to this review

Dear 1510Sweet, thank you so much for your very generous feedback! We really appreciate you taking the time to review us! We're so happy you loved the Spa Safari and Sumba community visit, the Sumba Foundation does such amazing work locally, we are extremely proud of them!we hope we get to see you again soon! All our best Sumba wishes!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Without sounding arrogant, we are well travelled and want and expect the best... Nihiwatu delivered on every aspect ! We are over the bikini and speedo age but had the most amazing first time experiences! Hiking, SUP boarding , Fishing ( incredible).. I cannot thank the staff enough. In all our travels never have we experienced such a close connection...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
GM_Nihi, General Manager at Nihiwatu, responded to this review

Dear Kim, thank you so much for taking the time to review us! I am going to share your wonderful feedback with the staff immediately, who were all really sad to see you leave us! We cant wait to have you back again! Just so that you know, we have recently taken on a full time Surfing Coach, and he'll...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Travel with friends, stay in the villa, it became one of my best memory. Fishing and surfing, I never be relax and happy like this. For me, i can't say it something you won't miss in Indonesia, but something I can't miss in the life. time is flying.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CoolSeven
GM_Nihi, General Manager at Nihiwatu, responded to this review

Dear CoolSeven, thank you very much for your kind words, we're so glad you managed to get some rest amidst all the fishing and surfing etc! It was wonderful to host you on Sumba Island, and cannot wait for your return! All the best from Sumba!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

My family and i decided to go to Nihiwatu because we heard so many nice comments...and we were not disappointed at all All was simply perfect The place; the activities; the beautiful decoration... we were welcome like King and Queen! My kids had great holidays... The GM and James made sure that everyday was a Wonderful day; all the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nathalie z
GM_Nihi, General Manager at Nihiwatu, responded to this review

Dear Nathalie z, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! I'm so glad you had a great stay with us, i'll be sharing your feedback with our phenomenal Sumbanese Team! We cannot wait to have you come back, your children have left a void in our Sumba hearts, we miss them already! All the best Sumba wishes to you...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Please respect local tourist, first you guys don't pay attention to our booking packages second i think you guys very discrimination and after all it happens we never get a sorry from GM or someone called James..when we check out our great GM just pass me by and say nothing at all, maybe she is sleep walking

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Jurista M
GM_Nihi, General Manager at Nihiwatu, responded to this review

Dear Jurista & Ciprian, I want to thank you for bringing this to my attention. Allow me to apologize on behalf of Nihiwatu for our complete lack of communication and understanding regarding the events that occurred over your stay. We believed, incorrectly, that we were making the best decisions to improve your stay, but this was badly communicated and i...

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We stayed in Nihiwatu for 11 evenings and we can not wait to go back. The staff are absolutely beautiful, nothing was ever too much trouble and they were very accommodating. The room was spacious, the home made chocolate to die for and all the little touches everywhere are what make this place NO1! The resorts involvement with the SUMBA...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sara S
GM_Nihi, General Manager at Nihiwatu, responded to this review

Hi Sara, thank you so much for this wonderful feedback, it truly was wonderful to have you stay with us, we thoroughly enjoyed having you here! I will pass on this terrific feedback to our team as well!! So glad you enjoyed the Chris & Charly's Chocolate Factory chocolate, we love it too, especially since all its profits are poured...

545 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (458)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (51)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (240)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Other (9)
06/06/2017 07/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sumba
398.4 km away
Adeng-Adeng Bungalows
Adeng-Adeng Bungalows
#7 of 11 in Gili Meno
155 reviews
47.0 km away
Oro Beach Houses and Restaurant
88.5 km away
Pondok Wisata Pantai Cemara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
99.1 km away
Tanto Hotel
Tanto Hotel
#2 of 6 in Waingapu
63 reviews
1633.7 km away
Raja Ampat Dive Resort
Raja Ampat Dive Resort
#12 of 38 in Raja Ampat
85 reviews
1084.4 km away
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Kadidiri Island
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Voted #1 Hotel in the World for 2016 by Travel & Leisure magazine. An award-winning luxury resort on remote Sumba Island, Indonesia. A wide range of land and ocean-based experiences ensures all tastes are catered to. Attentive service and gourmet meals add to the refined and intimate ambience. A romantic getaway idyll with pristine private beach stretching in excess of 2.5km of length ideal for honeymooners and the unique tribal culture on the island offers guests a glimpse of a bygone era. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nihiwatu

Address: Desa Hobawawi | Kecamatan Wanukaka, Sumba 87272, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > Sumba
Price Range: $1,246 - $2,949 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nihiwatu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Nihiwatu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nihiwatu Hotel Sumba
Nihiwatu Hotel Waikabubak
Nihiwatu Resort Waikabubak
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sumba
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sumba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nihiwatu staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Nihiwatu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2 bedroom Villa with a View of the ocean high up or half way up the clip for great bay Views.”
  • sunset from our Villa Porch
djembetycoon, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We recommend the Lamba Room. Very spacious, private and terrific sunset views from your private pool.”
Travusso, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Loved the Kanatar villa.”
Boskk69, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All have beautiful sea views.”
dangrace2015, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the honeymoon Maranga 2 - it was stunning and had its own sunset cabana with an amazing view right along the coast from bed.”
EscapeHaven, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Expedia.com
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates