Layar Beach Bungalow

Layar Beach Bungalow

Gili Layar no. 8, Mataram, Lombok 83229 Indonesia
Gili Layar beach
Traveller (137)
Dining (8)
Pool & Beach (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 3 cottages in Mataram
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
We are the first and only place to stay in Gili Layar Island. we are located in an exquisite island with azure blue sea, white hourglass sand and stunning underwater beauty. best spot to snorkling and feel castaway in our private island of Gili Layar.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free internet
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Hiking
Fishing
Shuttle bus service
Ironing service
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Indonesian

Location

Gili Layar no. 8, Mataram, Lombok 83229 Indonesia
81Reviews3Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 52
  • 19
  • 8
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ClauGianca wrote a review Oct 2015
Florence, Italy3 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Layar Beach Bungalow it's a great place to stay, we spent the last 3 days of our holiday, it was perfect!
The bungalows are literally in front of the sea on a sandy beach, they are really clean, comfy bed, mosquito net, you can choose between a very spacious bungalow with sea view + ensuite toilet or a smaller one with shared toilet (cheaper option), both very nice.
Layar island is a small desert island, really beautiful, this is the only accomodation you can find, it's perfect if you want to relax, read a book, snorkeling, eat fresh fish...
The coral reef in front of the bungalow is amazing, completely intact! We swam with sea turtle, many different fishes, a lot of blue sea stars, beautiful corals, if you have a good eye you can even spot a giant morey eel! They also organise snorkeling trip if you want.
The staff it's really nice, helpfull and friendly, the kitchen it's really good, the chef Edi always surprise us with good dishes, to be on a desert island there is plenty of choise of food, good mix of indonesian and western food, fresh fish everyday.
The staff also organise a movie screening every night for who doesn't want to sleep straight away, very nice idea. They can pick you up at the airport/mainland if you need.
We strongly recommed to come here and unwind yourself, you will like it ;)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We stayed in the big bungalow, very nice.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
soki_90 wrote a review Aug 2015
Cluj-Napoca, Romania20 contributions17 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staying at Layar Beach Bungalow was a great experience.
There are two types of bungalows you can choose from. The big ones are really nice and spacious, they have a beautiful open roof bathroom attached also.
The small ones are the budget choice with shared bathroom. Myself and family, me plus wife and little kid, we were using one of these for couple of nights and we were happy with it.
There are a variety of food and drinks to choose from. The place also offer boat trips, snorkeling gear for rent and pickup from Sekotong mainland. The place has 24 hours security personal around.
The owner and the stuff were really great people, relaxed, helpful and friendly.
This is the only place to stay on Gili Layar by now and, for me, Gili Layar is the best when comes about island experience in that area. Nice stay, clean sandy beach, clean water, good coral and marine life.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
blackeldo wrote a review Jul 2019
Kiama, Australia2,249 contributions1,067 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
.UNIQUE is something never done before. Which should be mutually exclusive to DEJA VU – a reminder from the past. But this is not how it worked out on LAYAR.
Reviews down page emphasise the “ROBINSON CRUSOE: alone on a small island” thing, and I’d agree with qualifications. I’m an island blogger with 3 million hits, visited hundreds around the world and LAYAR was unique – the FIRST with only ONE resort, no villages, few people.
At the same time there was a DEJA VU moment on entering the resort’s least expensive bungalows – these thatched-wall, grass roofed boxes, bed on floor with just enough room for 2 people + gear and an outside bathroom reminded me of many places' basic backpacker rooms back in the day.

POSITIVES – my super compact bungalow very comfy: good bed. pillows, bug net, drying rack, initially v clean, only 30M from the sea despite second row position.
- the area in front of the resort has a good reef with the best snorkeling in the region. The reef drop-off (for best fish and coral) was 30m out with a sideways drift in the tidal current like GILI TRAWANGAN. Fish/coral quality pretty good but hard core fin-flappers may be undewhelmed.
- the beach in front of the resort groomed of rubbish and coral debris, probably 2nd best on the island, after the southern beach startin200m to the right. Note all beaches disappeared at full tide in this FULL MOON-king tide period.
- outstanding sunrise view. Rising just south of mainland RINJANI (late June).
- outside bathrooms (2), an element I thought I would not enjoy, turned out no problem. Only 20m in back – shared between 3 basic bungalows, resort staff and snorkeling day-trip visitors. Never had to wait, well lit, clean, good water pressure.
- the roomy south sea island style restaurant had above average food apart from the chips which were a bit soggy. Bit of a wait for meals, but this meant preparation from scratch not long simmering pots.
- great staff and good service
- bugs seemed no problem
- the Robinson Crusoe Island thing – apart from half a dozen staff the only island inhabitants were 2 farming families – never seen. Usually on my walks around LAYAR I was the only one around. Note though that snorkeling and dive boats visited each day (using the restaurant only 2 of my 5 days) and LAYAR seems popular with mainlanders on weekends – Sunday saw about a dozen campers and around 50 fishermen and reef-fossikers. But this is ok – I like to see the local leisure culture.

NEGATIVES
- grit: 2nd row bungalows surrounded by fine sand which blew in on windy days. Not a problem front row with coarser sand.
- only 5 bungalows: vacancies may be scarce high season.
- sea access a bit difficult in the bottom quarter of the tide (see tips)
- exxy: my basic IDR350k bungalow would cost 250k most islands – but the Robinson Crusoe thing was worth the extra 100k. Not so the 2 flasher places – these were worth 450K but at 900+K were way overpriced even with a RC loading + another 50K for front row position only 20M from high tide mark.
Tranfsfer costs high: boat from GEDE 150K each way – I had no one to split it with.
Restaurant prices 20% up on true budget levels but produce has to come from mainland.

TIPS – walk the 3km coast (island a rounded square only 850m across) in under an hour. All but the western 700m is beach (which disappears top of the tide and has a lot of rubbish at the storm tide mark back of beach but not at resort) – the 700m is a rock platform which will be wet in the top quarter of the tide. Has coral debris - flip flops won’t cut it.
- viewpoint top of the highest hill has good 360 degree views: Bali’s AGUNG/NUSA PENIDA/sunset south of UBUD to west; GILI TRAWANGAN’s hill north; mainland’s RINJANI west + G GEDE and more. Cut thru interior scrub from 400m north of resort toward highest summit on tracks made by free range cattle (v tame). 30Mins each way – no killer slopes.
- easy water entry 150 m right of resort on underwater spit SE island corner.

VERDICT – I’ll stay again (but only in a budget hut). Lesser tightwads may think the flash bungalows are ok given the island.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tobecontinent wrote a review May 2017
Warsaw, Poland217 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
There are only 5 bungalows on the island and a restaurant. Two big bungalows in front have private toilet and AC. Three other are really small with a bed taking almost whole space inside (with fan and a shared toilet). I stayed in a small one and it was enough for one person. Lack of AC was not a problem, especially that the electricity works only during the night (from 6pm till 6am) and the breeze and the fan were cooling the bungalow sufficiently. You can still charge your stuff it in the restaurant during the day. The place is well maintained, clean and peaceful. There were only two bungalows taken during my stay.

There is no other place to stay on the island, so the bungalows are pretty expensive and the owner’s willingness to bargain (even in low season and even for solo travelers) is very limited. The price of bottled water is three time higher than on the mainland. Main dishes start with 50k. Breakfast is included in the price, though. Transport from Gili Gede costs 150k one way if organized through the bungalows. But you can bargain with local fishermen on Gili Gede (I paid 100k). Snorkeling gear is available (25k per piece per day), however they have limited number of fins (one piece for each size and nothing below 37) and the equipment is not in a good condition. Bring your own if you can. Snorkeling tours cost 350K, which is more expensive that quoted on Gili Gede. If you are in a group you can share the cost as the price is per boat. It’s a rip-off if you want to go alone (after some bargaining I paid 300k). Food was ok. Quite some dishes were unavailable though due to lack of ingredients. Avoid burgers.

Staff (especially Master) was really great and providing good service and advise.

Snorkeling just in front of the bungalows is amazing. You can see plenty of fish, healthy coral and even turtles. Snorkeling tour to Gili Ringgit is also a must. Vast palette of colors over there. The only problem is plastic floating in the water where there is no current or garbage brough from mainland just laying on the beach. The staff keeps the front of the bungalows super clean though.

To sum up. If you want a quiet place with amazing snorkeling straight from the beach and don’t mind higher prices for this privilege this is a place for you. The owners could be less focused on money though and more consumer-friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marion D wrote a review Sept 2015
4 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Such an amazing place to stay. Peaceful island with the most friendly staff ever. Amazing snorkling spots just in front of the private beach. The movie projections at night after the dinner was also much appreciated and last but not least the food was delicious! Definitely thé best place to stay in south Lombok!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maxgri wrote a review Aug 2015
Parma, Italy48 contributions85 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The island is pristine,wonderful!
The Beach Bungalow is nice.The owner is very friendly and try to accomodate at the best.
2 Complaints:
1)Water in bathroom only 1 hour per day is too little,I know generator problems but especially in the early morning some water in bathroom is needed.
2)Edi,the Chef, is a nice person and cooks well,but can't cover and satisfy alone tourists coming overday from other islands.Sometimes there are many tourists overday in island so happens like in my case that my pre-booked fish arrive in table raw(crude) and when you send back...will came again fully burnt...due to the fact that Edi cannot manage many tables/dishes simultaneously.

They must consider to apply different policies for guests and who is arriving for few hours in island....

Anyway I suggest this place and if possible I will came gain there
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LayarBeachBungalow, Owner at Layar Beach Bungalow
Responded 15 Sept 2015
Warm Greetings from Layar Beach Bungalow Hi, Mr Max Thank you for your review about our accomodation First of all, the water is not only one hour per day, as we already told you the water is running when the electricity is on. So the water is running during the day time also when we turn on the electicity. You can also easily asked for the water if you want it and we will turn on the water. I'm really sorry for what was happened at your lunch. At that time we suddently have a lot of guest coming with big boat. Eddi just forget to check the bbq fish because he cooked a lot of food that has been ordered. We are always try to do the best to the guest. My Best Regards Dian Sumarli
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deborella1 wrote a review Jun 2019
15 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Almost like having your own private island (Infact we did as we were lucky enough to stay there when the other bungalows weren’t booked out)
Eddie and Master were SO accommodating and we felt we left with them as friends. If you like perfect snorkelling seas, beach bonfires and good food all set against an unspoilt island paradise then this is the place for you. Fresh fish caught daily for bbq, GREAT cocktails and board games and cards to keep you entertained in the evening, this is honestly worth the trip if you are in Indonesia . The travel there was seemless too, not even an effort. Boat from Bali to Gili Gede, then private boat to Layar. Worth spending a little bit more and getting the bungalows with air con if you can afford it, but if not, the small bungalows with fans are super cosy and compact and perfect for a few nights. Electricity in the Rooms is limited to night times BUT you can use the restaurants electricity to charge devices when ever you want. Can put all expenses on a tab and even pay by card at the end of your trip.
Thank you Eddie for all you and your teams hard work, from James deborah and Sarah
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Narini wrote a review Aug 2018
Auckland, New Zealand13 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent 5 nights in the fan room at Gili Layar and was worried about the heat but this absolutely wasn’t a problem at this time of year. The fan room has a very comfortable mattress on the floor, mosquito net, a fan and some water. There is just enough room at the end of the bed for your bags.
A small shelf or two for storage would be really useful.
There are two combined toilets and showers at the rear of the main building and these are shared with day visitors.
These were always clean during my stay.
The food is the usual standard fare but portions are very generous and the banana pancake is not only amazingly fluffy but gluten free. There were times when all the fresh fish would be sold at lunch and it would be worth considering keeping some for those who are guests on the island as this is the only dining option. Lovely cocktails thank you Master.
I loved chilling out in the bean bags watching the day end.

I would recommend bringing snack foods and also full swimming suits as there were quite a few stingers (not dangerous but uncomfortable) during my stay.

I love being able to swim from the shore, diverse colours of small fish and during one afternoon snorkel there were literally tens of thousands of fish. On 3 occasions I saw turtles.

Please but up more signs asking people to not stand on the coral as this stunning sea life will struggle to survive.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dagmar B wrote a review Jul 2018
Edinburgh, United Kingdom74 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
You've always wanted to stay on your own paradise island, but don't fancy taking a second mortgage to do so? Well, Layar Beach Bungalows are the place you are looking for. For a very decent price you get to stay in a bungalow that faces the white sand beach mere metres away, complete with white sand and swaying palm trees. The postcard views are completed (when it's not too cloudy/hazy) by great views of Mt Rinjani on the horizon. Underwater the coral reef is teeming with life and offers some of the best snorkelling in the southern Gilis. And as this is the only resort on the island you share all this with just the handful of guests staying in the other bungalows. If you're looking for s place to get away from it all, this is it.

The rooms themselves are fairly basic, but then you won't be spending much time indoors anyway and for the price are a great value for money. The only downside was the inadequate mosquito net as I'm a mosquito magnet.

They do great fresh juices and the food is also really nice (and if you get bored of it, just take a short boat trip to one of the resorts on neighbouring islands).

The staff was also very helpful, even arranging transport to the resort on a very short notice.

Overall a great option for a budget traveller.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NeelSyl wrote a review Jan 2018
Haarlem, The Netherlands11 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Yes a great place to snorkel, absolutely. It's amazing!! And we hope it will be well maintained (we see people who cannot snorkel stand on the coral!!!)
The staff is wonderful!
The big bungalow is ok. Really. But it's quite some money for what you get.
The food is not good. And since there's no other option, you'll have to eat there. Breakfast was very simple and will not provide you with enough energy.
WiFi: was not working. We need it for our business so we were not happy (yes even on a remote island for us it's very welcoming).
Overall they can do so much more with the place and pay attention to details. Think: solar panels for example to produce energy.
So great for snorkeltrip, but not highly recommend for a night and food.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LayarBeachBungalow, Manager at Layar Beach Bungalow
Responded 10 Jan 2018
Hi NeelSyl, First of all Thank you for staying with us and we're glad you enjoy your snorkling at Gili Layar. Usually internet reception quite good at gili layar. Maybe there's problem with our internet provider while your stay. It’s a surprise that you mention our food not good, this is the first. If we may know what food do you order? We'll talk to the chef to make some improvements on what you ordered. Thank You for your critics and we hope to serve better for you and our customers.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from LayarBeachBungalow
Lombok, Indonesia15 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes. you can pay by Visa / Mastercard.
Answer from Dian S
Mataram, Indonesia39 contributions1 helpful vote
Yes you can pay with credit card, we accept visa or mastercard
Answer from Julien P
15 contributions6 helpful votes
Merci. J'ai pu les contacter via Facebook un peu après avoir posté mon message et j'ai réservé pour le mois de juillet mais je suis preneur de tout info même si quoi qu'il arrive je ne ferai pas marche arrière :)
Marcos S wrote a tip Oct 2017
London, United Kingdom26 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The bigger bungalows have better view and have their own private shower and WC"
Read full review
Sophia G wrote a tip Oct 2017
Ireland15 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Leave your tent door open or youll wake up in a sweat!.. also definately book in advance as its the only place to stay on the island!"
Read full review
Palmunhalaajat wrote a tip Jul 2017
32 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bigger bungalows are right on the beach and have sea view, but of course they are more expensive also."
Read full review
Brian Q wrote a tip Jul 2017
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Larger bungalows are oceanfront and have their own bathrooms and AC."
Read full review
Max K wrote a tip Jan 2017
Munich, Germany89 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The bigger bungalows have attached bathroom and seaview"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mataram area.
LOCATION
IndonesiaWest Nusa TenggaraLombokMataram
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LAYAR BEACH BUNGALOW: See 43 Reviews and 153 Photos (Lombok/Mataram)

Frequently Asked Questions about Layar Beach Bungalow
Which popular attractions are close to Layar Beach Bungalow?
Nearby attractions include Gili Layar (0.03 km) and Gili Rengit (1.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Layar Beach Bungalow?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Layar Beach Bungalow?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Layar Beach Bungalow?
Conveniently located restaurants include Warung Gili Gede, Ko-Ko-Mo Restaurant, and Nautilus Restaurant.
Does Layar Beach Bungalow have airport transportation?
Yes, Layar Beach Bungalow offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Layar Beach Bungalow?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Layar Beach Bungalow?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Indonesian.
Does Layar Beach Bungalow have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Mataram HotelsMataram Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MataramHotels near Layar Beach Bungalow
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire