We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Albany - The Desmond Hotel, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
660 Albany Shaker Rd, Albany, NY 12211-1056
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Package deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
eDreams
Orbitz.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (33)
Dining (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 28/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Crowne Plaza Albany - The Desmond Hotel, an IHG hotel
Updated 28/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#27 of 53 hotels in Albany
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Silver level
Newly renovated Crowne Plaza conveniently located 1/2 mile from Albany International Airport at Exit 3 of the I-87/Northway, and next door to the busy Wolf Road district with shopping, dining and entertainment. Hotel amenities include an onsite restaurant and lounge, 24-hour fitness center, indoor heated pool, free high speed WiFi, free parking and free 24-hour roundrip airport shuttle service. Our 323 renovated guest rooms and suites include everything you need to recharge and relax including individual Keurig coffee machines, laptop sized safe, and plenty of charging for all of your devices.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Free airport transportation
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Package deal

Location

Full view
52Somewhat walkable
Grade: 52 out of 100
22Restaurantswithin 1 km
0Attractionswithin 1 km
22Reviews6Q+A1Room tip
Traveller rating
  • 10
  • 6
  • 1
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
William V wrote a review 2 Sep
2 contributions
Stay was good. Food was excellent. FRONT DESK WAS LOST. Checked in for a conference in Late August of 2021. Our entire Association had a package price that included meals. When I checked in front desk clerk " Dave" was arrogant and very un- friendly. It was obvious he saw there was an issue with the package amount but decided to push it through stating they would fix it later. Upon check out on Thursday we had to spend an hour an a half fixing his original error. Finally management did get involved and corrected the issue.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
William K wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
Food in the restaurant was expensive and not worth the price paid. I had to leave a credit card number at the desk, which is not unusual. However, two weeks later there is still a $30 charge attached and two phone calls have failed to get them to remove it, though nothing was charged to my room. The bed and room was just OK, nothing special. Also, the hotel is isolated and nothing is within walking distance. There were no obvious walking paths.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Owner at Crowne Plaza Albany - The Desmond Hotel, an IHG hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback, we are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay. As explained by our front desk staff, the $30 charge is an authorization hold only which falls off your credit card within 3-5 business days depending on your credit card company. The hotel does connect to a paved walking/biking trail at our entrance, and we are at the intersection of Wolf Road which has numerous shopping and dining establishments. Your comment have been shared with our team and we hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Read more
Dawn C wrote a review Aug 2021
Atlanta, Georgia62 contributions59 helpful votes
Such a beautiful and unique hotel! Has a lovely inner courtyard area. Beautiful modern lobby, everything so light and clean. Great staff... Koi pond and fountain in the inside courtyard... a little reminiscent of the Gaylord properties. Close to shopping, dining and the airport. Would love to stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
lynnbyrn@gmail.com wrote a review Aug 2021
Prattsville, New York19 contributions13 helpful votes
I’m a Hilton devotee but decided to try The Desmond because I had a late flight to Albany and wanted a hotel where I could get a late dinner. The shuttle service was exceptional but after that, all went downhill. The renovated lobby is garish and un inviting and not the most pleasant area to greet patrons. After checking in, I first went to restaurant instead of my room because I was starving. A sign by the bar said to sit oneself and someone would take your order. Didn’t say when would take my order. I sat near another couple who were eating so wait person would see me but after waiting 30 mins., I left. The bartender knew I was there and two people walked out from kitchen area but never took my order. I was exhausted from my trip so left the restaurant after waiting far too long. The elevator to the second floor was filthy and needed vacuuming as did the hallways. Something needs to be done to make the long hallway mazes to rooms less intimidating. No one was wearing a mask and as in other motels I have stayed in, there was no Covid protocol mentioned by signage. My room was serviceable but did not reflect the an updated venue; boring and not on par with the money I spent. Nothing to tell a client how cleaning is done. I’ll stay at a Hilton for my next trip to Albany.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, Owner at Crowne Plaza Albany - The Desmond Hotel, an IHG hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, We appreciate you providing honest feedback and apologize that your stay was not up to our usual standards. Signs regarding Covid-19 protocol are posted at every entrance, and per NYS guidelines vaccinated individuals have the option of wearing masks indoors. Cards explaining IHG's Clean Promise/Way of Clean standards are also in every guest room. Your comments have been passed on to the appropriate Director so they can be addressed, as well as your feedback on your restaurant service. We do hope that you visit us again in the future.
Read more
Preroll wrote a review Aug 2021
New York City, New York39 contributions11 helpful votes
Nice property. All was quite clean and organized with the exception of sporadic maid service. They cleaned one day and not another etc. Pandemic or not, you pay full price for service including housekeeping so there is no excuse for not supplying full housekeeping. Rates should have been reflected otherwise. Other than that, I can’t say anything too bad about this place. It was a nice property and hopefully as things ease up, service will return to normal and will perform as it should.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$110 - US$167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the desmond albany hotel albany, desmond americana, the desmond hotel albany, desmond hotel albany
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Desmond Hotel Albany
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkAlbany
NUMBER OF ROOMS
323
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crowne Plaza Albany - The Desmond Hotel, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Crowne Plaza Albany - The Desmond Hotel, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Colonie Center (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Crowne Plaza Albany - The Desmond Hotel, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Crowne Plaza Albany - The Desmond Hotel, an IHG hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Crowne Plaza Albany - The Desmond Hotel, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Crowne Plaza Albany - The Desmond Hotel, an IHG hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crowne Plaza Albany - The Desmond Hotel, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Warehouse Grill & BBQ, Professor Java's Coffee Sanctuary, and KOTO Japanese Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crowne Plaza Albany - The Desmond Hotel, an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Crowne Plaza Albany - The Desmond Hotel, an IHG hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Crowne Plaza Albany - The Desmond Hotel, an IHG hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crowne Plaza Albany - The Desmond Hotel, an IHG hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Crowne Plaza Albany - The Desmond Hotel, an IHG hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Crowne Plaza Albany - The Desmond Hotel, an IHG hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.