We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown

HIExpress.comUS$104*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$250*
US$104*
US$250*
US$104*
US$250*
US$104*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

464 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 446: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown
 Click to rate
Newport, NH
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

My room was clean, but the air conditioning didn't work well so it was hot. Additionally, the furniture was not comfortable. I will say that the service was great! Angelica at the front was so helpful finding me another room this morning. She was super friendly, helpful and professional.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SethandAnn
Hotel_Manager_Albany, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown, responded to this review

SethandAnn, Thank you for your review and for recognizing Angelica. This is a bonus in her pocket! I do apologize for your perception of the our new furniture and more specifically for the functionality of the HVAC in your room. This must have been difficult to sleep in. I cannot determine what room you were in, or your name from...

Brooklyn, New York, United States
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 26 March 2017 via mobile

Thank to Amtrak, my daughter and I spent 6 hours traveling from New York to Albany instead of 2 and a half! I called a couple of times to let Hotel staff know we were coming late. Both times was reassured shuttle will be sent immediately to pick us up as soon as we arrive. It was 10 pm when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ameraz99
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Ojonesy26, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so happy to hear our staff could make your stay memorable. For mentioning them by name, they will receive a bonus in their paycheck! We hope you enjoyed our amenities and will chose our hotel the next time you are in the area. Shannon Jones Director of Sales and Marketing

Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights on business. The staff were friendly and helpful. super service of free shuttle bus to and back from dinner in the evening, which is excellent. The rooms were clean and recently refurbished. The neighbourhood was a bit so so.....not really suitable for walking about. very close to the motorway so I would recommend to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank btekm
Hotel_Manager_Albany, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown, responded to this review

btekm Thank you for sharing your review. We are very happy you got to enjoy the complimentary shuttle that helps a lot of folks out when traveling to a downtown location. Should you be in the area again, give us a call. Tom Rivera General Manager gmalbany@dchotelsinc.com

Lakeland, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We picked the hotel based on price and proximity to an event in Downtown Albany. The hotel is off the highway, walking distance to the Hudson River. It doesn't appear to be in a great area, however it was quiet and there were no problems. Parking can be tight, but there's extra parking across the street. The ad said the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Letstravelmore
Hotel_Manager_Albany, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown, responded to this review

Letstravelmore, Loved your review until I focused solely on the missing hair dryer! We did order all new hair dryers and accompanying bags but somehow missed your room and I am terribly sorry for it! My wife would absolutely have an episode we were missing such an item whilst getting ready to go somewhere. Take care and thank you! Tom...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Much like other reviews about this location, this hotel was renovated and looks quite nice for an older location. It was easy to travel to and there's a good size parking lot for guests. The room was nice and continental breakfast satisfied me. I stayed there in late April for business so I appreciated the ease of traveling in and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Guy L
Hotel_Manager_Albany, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown, responded to this review

Guy L, Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed our renovation which we are incredibly proud of. The City of Albany is in the process of revitalizing the downtown area, and we hope these upcoming changes will impact the impression it has left for you, and do apologize for that. Enjoy the summer like weather! Tom Rivera...

Tx
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was easy to find. Check-on was fast and clerk was very nice and friendly. Our room as well as the whole hotel was very clean. Beds and pillows were comfortable. CComplimentary breakfast was well stocked and a little above average.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teaxasborn5
Hotel_Manager_Albany, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown, responded to this review

Teaxasborn5 Thank you for your review! We are so very happy you were able to enjoy your room and the attentiveness of our staff. Not to put you on the spot, but what would you like to see in breakfast to get it to that next level?! Please let me know Tom Rivera General Manager gmalbany@dchotelsinc.com

New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here in May 2017 for business in downtown Albany. Hotel completely remodeled. Clean, comfortable room, great breakfast, restaurants and bars within walking distance. Great place to stay if you need to stay downtown.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigZ-LittleO
Hotel_Manager_Albany, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown, responded to this review

BigZ-LittleO, Thank you! thank you! thank you, did I mention, thank you?! :) Pleasure to have you, let us know when you will be in town again! Tom Rivera General Manager gmalbany@dchotelsinc.com

Newark, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel for the past 3 years, I almost did not come back this year because I did not like the front desk manager and the entire hotel needed an uplift. To my surprise, since the renovations--the hotel has exceeded my expectations, under new front desk management, the staff is happier and thus provide excellent customer...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claudia G
Ojonesy26, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown, responded to this review

Claudia, We really take your review to heart. We know how upset you were last year with your accommodations and the management at the front desk. We addressed your problems and promised to change. This is such a compliment to us! We only plan to improve for the next session and hope you never chose to leave us! You are...

Grantham, NH
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First impression: Hmmm, not great. As I drove up to the hotel I wasn't so sure I made the right choice as the hotel seems to be in a questionable part of town. Whether it is I can't really say since I am not from the area. Parking was a little odd, under and around the building. Overflow parking was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark03264
Hotel_Manager_Albany, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown, responded to this review

Mark03264 Thank you so much for an honest and stellar review! We do apologize for the parking situation and are working on a remedy with local ownership of adjacent buildings to make this more convenient for everyone. Until next time! Tom Rivera General Manager gmalbany@dchotelsinc.com

Rome
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The beds were very uncomfortable, lumpy and the rooms and bathrooms were not very clean. Rooms were not ready when we were checking in at 3, told us to come back in a hour, we were gone for over 2 hours and came back and said they had a Lacrosse team staying and they still weren't ready would be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly P
Hotel_Manager_Albany, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown, responded to this review

Hello Kimberly P, I responded to one of your other reviews regarding this unfortunate experience and am truly sorry you had to deal with this kind of issue. I asked for you to get in touch with me in that response. I cannot identify who you are through interfaces. Please allow me the opportunity to address your concerns, and appropriately...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.7 km away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.6 km away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#16 of 50 in Albany
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center
2.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
7.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Guests looking for a convenient downtown Albany hotel will find this Holiday Inn Express, located close to the Riverfront and the Empire Plaza, the ideal location. For doing business in town, our Albany downtown hotel is close to The Times Union Center, Albany Capital Center,The State Capitol, Empire State Plaza and the Port of Albany. Our courtesy shuttle runs from 7am-11pm Monday through Friday and can pick you up at the Rensselaer Amtrak Station or airport for free! We are easily accessible to I-90, NYS Thruway I-87 and I-787. We have the only free hotel parking in Downtown Albany. Leisure travelers will find our downtown Albany Hotel, with its historic downtown location, close to many major attractions. City Center tours, professional theatres, parks and the Hudson Riverfront are all just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Newly updated guest rooms and public spaces will make your stay memorable. With many restaurants within walking distance of our Albany hotel, you can have the choice of fine or casual dining. To stay in touch, our WIFI is throughout the Hotel and FREE. When you're looking for Albany lodging, stay with the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Albany is a city with 400 years of history within your reach. Come experience the downtown difference. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown

Address: 300 Broadway, Albany, NY 12207 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Price Range: $148 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Albany Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Though not required, its best to trip shuttle drivers--they go the extra mile for you!”
cpgranados, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Try to avoid a room facing the expressway”
PJF243, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a renovated room.”
Canajun1, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Restaurant up the road was not good, bit cheap and nasty but actually quite expensive :(”
susanbT7005JU, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Hotel has some covered parking. Might be important in the winter.”
Billooltewah, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
HIExpress.com
US$104* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$104
Hotels.comUS$104
TripAdvisorUS$104
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates