We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Harbour Winds Hotel

14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Harbour Winds Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 25: English reviews
Start your review of Harbour Winds Hotel
 Click to rate
Gampaha, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 7 January 2017

It was a good stay on a long weekend. Traveled by train to Galle and got into a tuk and the tuk guy was familiar with the hotel name. It is 3 minute drive from the town and completely hidden on top of a small mountain road. It was very convenient to visit Galle fort at night, Unawatuna beach &...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vihanga u
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 25 December 2016

This hotel has recently been taken over by new management and they are working really hard to pleas their guests. On arrival the staff provided us with cold towels to refresh ourselves after our journey. We requested some lunch and had an ex excellent nasi goreng cooked fresh for us. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the hotel...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Niall D D
Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Do not even contemplate staying in this hotel. Public areas need a good clean. Bedroom was hot, smelly toilets and the bath was out of action due to a huge crack. Some parcel tape to try and hide the damage! Avoid and pay a little more and stay in the fort area. Hotels are a little more expensive, but anything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stevedj175
Singapore, null, Singapore
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The villa is run down and needs a revamp. Rooms are old and we did not want to spend time in them. Also are rooms were not cleaned or made up during the stay. Wi-fi did not work in rooms and we had to sit outside to get a signal. No meals after breakfast. Sitting room is nice but upholstery...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rex M
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2016

arrived here we were met in the foyer cold towels and a refreshing drink we were shown to our room bags were taken direct the room was cavernous clean tidy and a great big thick mattress what a really nice tranquil hotel

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stepnenwat2016
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Hotel is situated in the Galle town. Hotel and the surrounding looks lovely. Room ws large and clean. Place is very quiet and as I went for study purpose it was ideal. Linen was changed and rooms were cleaned at our request. staff was very friendly. Bed tea and Breakfast was given at the requested time without any delay. Power...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Saumy83
Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile

I was tired and I told them to help us bring our laggage together. but the manager and the staff just passed by on the other side and they didn't help us. (they just call tuktukㅡ it's only 50meters) this hotel is never worth 50$. room is not bed. but service is the worst

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ji Hyun J
Anil P, Owner at Harbour Winds Hotel, responded to this review

It is not our policy to bring guest luggage from another hotel to our hotel even if the distance is less than 50 meters. We are extremely sorry, but the only way we could have helped you was finding a tuktuk. I hope you will understand.

Penang, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Pros: This hotel has parking and accommodation available for drivers. Wifi was also quite strong and the room we had was large. It is also a short walk to the fort if you decide not the grab a tuk tuk. Cons: We originally booked another hotel for NYE and two weeks before our booking we were told they had over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank webbsm
Colombo
Reviewed 17 April 2015

This property has the potential to be called a Villa provided there is more attention spent on maintenance of facilities such as Air Conditioning and Plumbing. On the plus side, the Staff were extremely friendly and courteous. The Meals were great. As we occupied both rooms in the upper floor, there was privacy and the pleasure of using the top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jitendra D
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewed 8 April 2015

the place has a lot of potential. we stayed one night Con: Shower drainage not functioning - whole washroom was flooded Water pressure very weak - we could not wash our kids properly after coming back from the sea no hot water -or only hot water... no AC in public area - so your sitting in the restaurant and sweating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eyal a

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
1.9 km away
Closenberg Hotel
Closenberg Hotel
#13 of 23 in Galle
304 reviews
0.1 km away
Galle Centre Home
Galle Centre Home
#40 of 117 in Galle
31 reviews
0.2 km away
Villa Renaissance
Villa Renaissance
#33 of 124 in Galle
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
No photo provided
Sanron Home Stay
#58 of 124 in Galle
1 reviews
0.3 km away
Atapattu Walawwa House
Atapattu Walawwa House
#54 of 124 in Galle
9 reviews
0.2 km away
No photo provided
Light Breeze Residence
#67 of 124 in Galle
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This small PRIVATE Villa hotel comprising just 5 air conditioned luxury rooms, each with ensuite bathroom is tastefully furnished with local charm and modern conveniences. Experience the typical Sri Lankan hospitality on a quiet hillock overlooking the Galle harbour at Harbour Winds by Na Tree. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harbour Winds Hotel

Address: 12 Upper Dickson Road, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Galle
Price Range: $63 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Winds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Harbour Winds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Harbour Winds Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“poolside, top floor”
vihangau, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Lovely spacious clean room with large bathroom”
nialldd, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Choose rooms on the 2nd floor for a view.”
RexM431, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“we were give a ocean view room”
stepnenwat2016, 26 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Opal room is spacious and quiet with nice view”
Saumy83, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Expedia.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates