We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Closenberg Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Closenberg Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Closenberg Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 221: English reviews
China
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I stayed here in May 2013 for few days to attend a scheduled meeting in the city. My stay was very comfortable and refreshing. From beginning till end the way the staff members pampered, was very amazing. Nothing was difficult there; rooms were perfect and had all the things of need. All the guys here are very friendly, they guided...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jo Ling K
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2013

A beautiful colonial building in a prime location , in urgent need of restoration . The splendid drawing room and verandah are dark and gloomy , with dirty , dark drapes and cushions . The rooms are basic at best, old, dirty, uncomfortable mattresses and furniture , bathrooms are grubby and tired..Totally overpriced. The food is a farce : a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John633
E_Abeyewardene, Owner at Closenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear All I first want to thank you for all your feedback which we take very seriously for the betterment of our product and service. I also apologize for our shortcomings. Closenberg is a wonderful colonial property built in 1860 and I understand that we do not have some of the latest amenities one may expect. We are however changing...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 19 February 2013

In the ever-modernizing pantheon of travel accomodations, few stand out. The Closenberg in Galle was pre-booked for me, so I arrived for a two-night stay without knowing I was stepping back in time. The rooms, the service, the history are extraodinary. If glass, steel, mirrors, and rap in the elevator are your thing, you'll hate this place. If history intrigues...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Don A
E_Abeyewardene, Owner at Closenberg Hotel, responded to this review

I am thrilled that you could truly appreciate all the beautiful things about Closenberg. We hope you return and look forward to welcoming you again.

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 19 February 2013

To have classed this as a standard hotel is deceitful. It is old, run down, with poor room amenities. The door to our bathroom was cracked and filthy, the sheets and blankets stained, as was the mosquito nettings. The room was full of mosquitoes but we did not use the mosquito nets as they looked filthy. Their idea of hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank DoH65
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This hotel is definitely Fawlty Towers. So much so it added a great deal of humour to our experience. The bones of the building are delightful set on a lovely setting overlooking a beach.The Wi Fi is efficient and the breakfasts are good. That is about where it stops. On arrival shown to our small room overwhelmed by dirty curtains....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Philip B
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Stopped over for a quick lunch and what we got was downright miserable and overpriced. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone unless it got a major facelift! It's a shame because the location is beautiful and the colonial style building has immense potential. It just needs a complete overhaul in order to compete with some of the other properties...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Niki M
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This place has the potential to be an excellent hotel with some investment but seems satisfied with being average. Set in a fantastic location the rooms are basic but spacious as are the public areas. Dated but authentic it reeks of colonialism and was a nice change from the modern hotel ive become accustomed to in the uk. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick I
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 February 2013

What a disappointment this hotel is. I feel it is a little like Fawlty Towers. Lets start with the few positives. The staff are very helpful and friendly and are quick to respond to any problems - even if they cannot be resolved eg a room safe that did not work. The negatives far outweigh the positives. Rooms with outdated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chefAussie
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2013

This hotel is one to avoid as it is overpriced and feels tied and run down. They are charging $175 and it is about 100 dollars too much. The views are great but the rooms are basic and the food just isn't up to it sadly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giles D
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Stopped here for a meal didnt stay over night. The location is amazing and nice old building. Its such a shame that the hotel has not capitalised on this. The Food is terrible and service slow. Thoroughly overpriced for what it is. Total rip off!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dragonfly_p

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (149)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Other (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
5.8 km away
Era Beach by Jetwing
Era Beach by Jetwing
#22 of 59 in Galle
239 reviews
1.6 km away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 28 in Unawatuna
340 reviews
0.9 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 28 in Unawatuna
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
2.1 km away
Rampart View Guest House
1.9 km away
The Sun House
The Sun House
#31 of 59 in Galle
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Closenberg was built by Captain Bayley in 1860 on top of a peninsula overlooking Galle harbor and the Indian Ocean. Since 1889 it belongs to the Perera Abeyewardene family and is today preserved as a heritage hotel. Large spacious halls, long verandas adorned with antique furniture and terraced gardens are in keeping with Dutch architecture. High ceilings resting on tall round columns and large louvered Teak doors set in arched doorways permit the flow of cool air. Alongside an experience of Sri Lanka's rich colonial past, we offer our guest a welcoming atmosphere, fine dining and an unparalleled view. Closenberg Hotel unique features are: The best location at the middle of Galle Harbor, Uninterrupted seaview from all our rooms, Direct access to beautiful sandy beach ideal and safe for surfing and swimming in all seasons, The unique and timeless elegance of an old Sri Lankan Heritage Hotel often copied but so hard to achieve, A sophisticated blend of service, tradition and cultural experiences Luna Terrace Bar Lounge is the funky trendy place to go and be seen in Galle. Great selection of cocktails, top brand spirits, tapas and fine cafe food. The new infinity pool overlooking the surf of Magalle Bay is a "must have experienced". Closenberg is the ideal gateway for enjoying the beauty of Southern Sri Lanka! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Closenberg Hotel

Address: 11 Closenberg Rd, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Price Range: $178 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Closenberg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Closenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Closenberg Hotel Galle
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Galle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Closenberg Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Sri Lanka

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Closenberg Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms have sea view”
 of 5 bubbles Sumali-Herath, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Remember to order your food ahead of time giving plenty of time for them to prepare it.”
 of 5 bubbles PrashRambuks, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have ocean views”
 of 5 bubbles Hilt0nC, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Level 1 - all with balconies and views across the bay.”
 of 5 bubbles RodL515, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Talk to the Manager!”
 of 5 bubbles 752sarap, 9 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay