We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Marine Tourist Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Marine Tourist Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 242: English reviews
Start your review of Marine Tourist Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Location is good, bathroom facilities appalling, dirty and needs massively modernising. Stayed in a four bed mixed dorm, lockers large, beds reasonable. Aircon in room. Could have potential but the bathrooms really let this place down. WiFi average. Would i stay again, no. The bathroom isn't fit to wash a dog in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rudd18
Marine-Negombo, Owner at Marine Tourist Guest House, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the bathroom facilities at Marine Tourist Guest House. While we always strive to keep our bathroom clean, we have regular scheduled cleaning times. Our hardworking staff cannot really monitor round the clock all the comings and goings of our guests. That is why we encourage everyone to foster the...

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is our first trip to Sri Lanka and we came here straight from the airport. The guest house advised us (via email after we enquiries) about the price of a taxi. They were helpful and friendly when we arrived. On our first morning they were happy to give us breakfast even though it was half an hour after the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Summer1London
Cheshire
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Our second visit to Marine Guest house which is a very friendly family run place. It is very near the beach, many restaurants and transport is at the door. Buses, Tuctucs and taxis are available. Housekeeping is very good and the breakfast is generous. Nothing seems too much trouble for the owner or his family. The rooms are spacious and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norjay
Shrewsbury
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Accommodating staff welcomed us at 4.00am after our flight landed. Clean, comfortable room. Friendly staff and good location. Easy for the beach, restaurants and shops. We liked this place, but go elsewhere for breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StephWill
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

Came straight here after a 14hour flight - the room was perfect! Clean, spacious and a big 4 poster bed! The staff were friendly and advised with onward travel, and there were lots of restaurants and bars next door. Breakfast not included but think it was cheap as an extra :) would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachelwalker12
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

3주동안 스리랑카를 여행하던중 휴식차 네곰보에 일주일을 머물렀어요 처음 이틀을 여기서 지내고 다른 호텔에서 2박하고는 다시 마린으로 와서 5일을 머물렀네요 네곰보해변근처 비싼호텔을 제외하고 거의 보았지만 가격,시설,전망,위치,친절,청결에서 최고입니다. 하나 아쉬운점은 룸에서는 와이파이신호가 약해요. 며칠전 돈과 보석이 들어 있는 지갑을 잃어버리고 낙심하고 있었는데 사장님께선 제가 사모사를 먹고 싶다고 한걸 기억하시고는 다음날 시내를 다녀오시면서 일부러 맛있는 가게까지 가셔서 제게 사모사를 사서 선물해 주셨습니다. 스리랑카에서...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank parkgahi
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Good place to say if you want somewhere quite cheap and nice! The rooms were lovely, clean and spacious! Bathroom was big with a shower and hot water! Absolutely no insects or mossies flying about as long as you keep your balcony door closed. Also you get a lovely sea view! The room is also nice and cool with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria W
Riga, Latvia
Reviewed 13 January 2017

Well it's to warn you fellow-travelers about low practice this guest is capable of using. We came to Negombo around 10 p.m. after very long flight only to find out that our booking was cancelled by its owner/manager without any notification sent to us. The guy said that he tried to charge my credit card several days before our arrival...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boris J
Marine-Negombo, Owner at Marine Tourist Guest House, responded to this review

The reservation was made via booking.com .When you do reservation via this site, guest has to submit a valid credit card and hotel has the right to check or pre authorized the card details. In this process, we found that the card is a stolen card and we send several reminders via booking.com to resend a valid credit card to...

Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

Nice rooms. Got at good price. Big bathroom. Not good Wifi. Hotwater running 24 hours.can have a stay. Its clean and comfortable. Just 200 to 300 m from beach. Surrounding is good.nice staff. Its on main room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jayesh05
male maldives
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

stayed 2 nights it was good choice clean elegant nice view very clam and pleasant. friendly manager.good location near the beach and resturants. price are reasonable. I suggest to management arrange the tea making options in room. thanks

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dumi2013

177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (150)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Negombo hotels
1.7 km away
Jetwing Blue
Jetwing Blue
#10 of 42 in Negombo
1,336 reviews
1.0 km away
Pledge 3
Pledge 3
#2 of 42 in Negombo
436 reviews
6.7 km away
Jetwing Lagoon
Jetwing Lagoon
#3 of 42 in Negombo
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Beach – All Suite Hotel
0.0 km away
Ocean View Tourist Guest House
3.0 km away
Morning Star Guest House
Morning Star Guest House
#1 of 202 in Negombo
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Marine Tourist Guest House in Negombo. Our budget Guest house ,hotel is located 100 m away from Negombo beach. The Marine Tourist Guest House of Negombo is in the Negombo tourism resort. If you are looking for the ideal home-away-from-home accommodation, Marine is the ideal place. Situated in a peaceful environment and just minutes from the Colombo airport, Marine Tourist Guest House is the place for you. Largest, cleanest budget guest rooms in Negombo. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Marine Tourist Guest House

Address: No.118 Lewis Place, Negombo 11500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Negombo
Price Range: $20 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marine Tourist Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Marine Tourist Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Tourist Guest House Hotel Negombo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Marine Tourist Guest House staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Darwin, Australia

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Marine Tourist Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles Norjay, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for upper floors for a good view”
 of 5 bubbles StephWill, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms upstairs are with great views.”
  • My room upstairs. The beds with moquito nets.
  • A view to the sea from my room.
  • My comfortable bed with mosquito net. Was really good to sleep in it.
 of 5 bubbles MalleA_13, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Top rooms have better view”
 of 5 bubbles vinitaBO, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Closer to airport with very pleasant stay”
 of 5 bubbles shaox2015, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5