We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lidwala Backpacker Lodge

Save
Traveller (62)
Room & Suite (10)
Pool & Beach (2)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Wifi
Free Parking
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
40
26
7
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
40
26
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiking traila great place to stayvillage tourrural africaprivate roomlots of spaceother guestsvolunteerstentbackpackershostelbackpackingsupermarketlodgeensuiteswazilanddormitory
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had an option through the travel agent for August and when we wanted to confirm the next day they already rented the accommodation to someone else. I would not recommend lodges that do that. I think it’s a bloody shame to treat your (possible)...More

Thank Paul B
Reviewed 11 February 2018

A very nice backpackers, lot of things nicely organised, hiking trail right behind the property. We stayed in a double behind the reception area, quite noisy, beds not so good, but good enough for a night. Nice communal area with bar and ok kitchen.

Thank Annikatmt
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Lidwala and we were very disappointed. The first morning we tried to talk to the woman from the reception, but there was no reaction. In our opinion the volunteers (from all out Africa, the company who's also running the backpackers)...More

3  Thank KrisNin
Response from LidwalaLodge, Manager at Lidwala Backpacker LodgeResponded 6 November 2017

Hi Nina As we replied to this in your e-mail, first of all the volunteers are paying guests at the Lidwala and not there to welcome other guests and do our job which i think we do quite well as we did for you when...More

Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

I have just returned to the UK after a week long stay at Lidwala Lodge. The staff were friendly, the environment was relaxed and clean and the view is stunning. I stayed alongside 4 colleagues as we were volunteering with All Out Africa for the...More

Thank ZoeF12
Response from LidwalaLodge, Manager at Lidwala Backpacker LodgeResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you for the review Zoe it was a pleasure having you stay with us. It is our goal to have people feel at home when they are at Lidwala and we happy to tell you that you do have a home in Swaziland and...More

Reviewed 17 August 2017

Lidwala Lodge provided a pleasant stay, even though I was there for only one night. The staff were friendly and welcoming, providing ample advice about the Mlilwane Sanctuary and places to eat for dinner. They have an excellent hiking trail behind the Lodge, which takes...More

Thank Conor L
Response from LidwalaLodge, Manager at Lidwala Backpacker LodgeResponded 25 October 2017

thank you for taking the time to give us a review. next time we hope you get to stay longer.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Ezulwini
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Things to do
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$26 - US$66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites, Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$26 - US$66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Suites, Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (62)
Room & Suite (10)
Pool & Beach (2)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
TLBurgess
29 October 2014|
Answer
Response from A N | Reviewed this property |
Yes. I didn't use it, but it looked reasonably well equipped. They put on breakfast and dinner for a fee. I can't remember how much, but I seem to remember thinking breakfast was overpriced for what it was. Have a good... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Dorms are decent rooms, but if you are looking for an upgrade ask for a double private."
Read review
"The newer individual cottages offer more privacy and more modern facilities."
Read review
"Luxury rooms set far away from the tents are quieter."
Read review
"Take your tent there and go camping! You will love it!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing