We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Planet Lodge

Show Prices
#3 of 42 Hotels in Arusha
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Planet Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Planet Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 299: English reviews
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 31 January 2017

I have stayed here three times already and I love the atmosphere. Its a great price and its away from the busy streets of Arusha. Rooms are big with air conditioning and private balcony. Large private pool in the back. The food is average and I found it to be pricy compared to other hotels in the same budget range....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Canada780
PlanetLodges, Operations Manager at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Canada780, Thanks taking time to write about your stay with us. We are encouraged to know you are "happy with the service." Yes, I recall the misunderstanding on who can use our pool... we do not allow non residents to swim here because often that tends to alienate residents. As such we charge there is a fixed fee for...

Amman, Jordan
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

The hotel is simply very good compared to a 3 star hotel, however; The food and beverage was below the expectations, the service staff was good and followed up well and has a good groming and uniform standards. However it seemed that there is a lack of information between what the chef cooks and whats on the menu, the mozzarella...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saad T
PlanetLodges, Operations Manager at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Dear VSaad T, Thank you for the kind words and taking time to share candid feedback from your recent stay. Our new chefs clearly failed to deliver what was on the menu during your lunch... we are definitely sorry for that. Yes, the incident was reported by the Supervisor i.e. chicken was not was not well done. I understand the...

Singapore
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Stayed here twice for 1 night each - when commencing and ending our safari tour. The rooms are housed in a private lodge, so it was good for a couple like us. The rooms were clean and bed was firm and comfy. This was a good welcome for us from the 20 hour flight we had from our home country....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rvn85
Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Stayed at the planet after a 4 days safari. We arrived covered with dust ( you eat/breath a lot of dust on those safaris) and was very glad we made it back to civilization. After a warm greeting I was then taken to cottage 14 in the back of the property near the pool. Josepha carried my duffle bag (almost...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sam S
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We arrived to Planet Lodge after 7 days on Kilimanjaro - with no shower, no beds, no comfort at all. To say the least, Planet Lodge appeared like a gift sent from heaven! The swimming pool was incredibly clean, the breakfast was superb, the lodges were cozy! The hotel territory was well kept, with lots of fruit growing in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tetshev
Staten Island, New York
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We stayed here on our way back from trekking Kilimanjaro. Hot shower was lovely, rooms service was slow but tasty, and the room was beautifully decorated. Not close to anything in Arusha, but was great for an evening of solid sleep following a week in a tent!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MMAOC
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 8 January 2017

I stayed at this hotel twice just before a safari and Kilimanjaro climb. It was extremely comfortable with nice bed, sheets, warm shower. It was a welcome addition to my safari and climb since I would be in a tent for 2 weeks. The staff was incredibly helpful, good english skills. Morning breakfast was quite good as well. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chinomad60640
Binfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017

This hotel is very far from being cheap, but the service is well below expectations. We stayed for one night only (as most tourists before/after their safari), but experienced way too many problems to enjoy this hotel. First, they failed to meet us at the airport - and even when we called them, they were unaware of any problem (and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alexsas777
PlanetLodges, Operations Director at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Alexsas777, Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at Planet Lodge. In reading your review I see that there was misunderstanding with your transfer and how our free shuttle service works. Starting with the airport transfer; clearly did not have your transfer request because even the prices you are quoting do not exist here... we charge...

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2017

I've stayed at the Planet Lodge twice over the past few years, before climbing Kilimanjaro and after my Serengeti Safari, and I'm surprised that anyone could write a negative review about this place! It's clean, the rooms are very comfortable, the staff are friendly and welcoming, and the food is great. The road to the hotel is unpaved and very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WMKK1974
Houston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

It is a basic place, they are very welcoming and attentive but there is a lot of room for improvement: 1. Mosquito nets don't cover very well all the bed until the floor. 2. Breakfast is very basic and not really good. 3. Dinner prices are a bit too much for what you get. Quality of dishes is between average...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aowen5
PlanetLodges, Operations Director at Planet Lodge, responded to this review

Dear aowen5, Asante for taking time to write about your recent stay with us. Kindly allow me to respond to some of your suggestions for feedback: 1) Mosquito nets - We've addressed this feedback with housekeeping and all nets were made long enough to cover the beds with the colored bottom fabric folding slightly on the floor around the beds....

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (130)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
0:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
5.1 km away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
886 reviews
5.6 km away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
540 reviews
14.1 km away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 42 in Arusha
132 reviews
6.9 km away
Venus Premier Hotel
Venus Premier Hotel
#7 of 42 in Arusha
55 reviews
5.1 km away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 42 in Arusha
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the heart of Arusha, Planet Lodge will captivate you with the natural beauty of the Tanzanian landscape. Our unique African village styled accommodations offers you a peaceful sanctuary where you can unwind and connect with nature. Situated on 4.5 acres of lush gardens with views of Mount Meru, this African retreat places you in the center of that delicate balance where nature and casual living intersect. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Planet Lodge

Address: Plot 2271, Moshono Village, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Price Range: $116 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Planet Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Planet Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Arusha
#5 Business Hotel in Arusha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Planet Lodge staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Eden Prairie, United States
Eden Prairie, United States

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Planet Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My Banda was fairly close to the main Reception and dining lounge areas yet very private.”
lifesabeach1982, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“One that has hot water”
AnnW358, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room away from the road (dust and noise)”
Alexsas777, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good. The pool is inviting if you have time.”
benicha56, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No idea on pricing since this was a package put together by our travel agent.”
hkillary, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5