We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Le Jacaranda Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arusha
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Le Jacaranda Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Le Jacaranda Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 79: English reviews
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We slept here a few times. The location is good, bit out of city centre, but with a taxi all what you need is close by. Some rooms are better than others. Our favourite room is room D. This room comes with a balcony. If you check in, it'sbmaybe wise to check the room, as size and brightness differs a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzanenbas
Calgary
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I stayed in this hotel just for a couple of nights in January 2013. The room was very small, which I expected to be for the price I payed, however the behaviour of the hotel management was unacceptable. I was accused of stomping over a towel, making it extremely dirty.... Would not actually let me leave unless I paid for...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MARCELA A
LeJacaranda H, Propriétaire at Le Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, As you warned us about a comment on tripadvisor, we took a picture of the towel that you didnt want to pay for the cleaning. This towel was white when given to you. the picture appears on our Facebook page (clients indélicats). It is not acceptable to deteriorate equipement of a hotel. You must agree that our duty...

Jersey
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We moved from the Outpost Lodge to La Jacaranda for our last night in Arusha, as the Outpost was booked out for this night. Despite the cost being similar, the Jacaranda was nothing like the Outpost. Our room was dingy, dark, gloomy and the whole place had a very poor ambiance. It was clean, but pretty basic. The reception area,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristineBJersey
Germany
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Our stay in this hotel in December 2012 was horrible. The service personal was impolite and even hostile from the beginning. When my girlfriend and I kindly asked for a second bed sheet (we don't like using one sheet together) at 8.45 p.m., we were told that we cannot have a second sheet, as this were "against hotel policy". When...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GermanyThompson
LeJacaranda H, Propriétaire at Le Jacaranda Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Your remarks has been discussed with our staff in reunion... if I dont mistake, you slept on the Xmas Eve at our hotel. I deeply regret that we couldn't access to your request. In fact, it seems that you were given a blanket but you wanted a second one. As your bed was a double bed , your...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Stayed at La Jacaranda for five nights before and after Mt Kilimanjaro climb and was supprised at the poor standard of the rooms, however I need to remind myself that this was Tanzania and not judge it according to past experiances in other countries. The rooms have no coffee or tea making facilities, the room got no service while I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We stayed here on two occasions. First time we got a fancier room near the restaurant which was really nice. Second time we were sent to the cheaper "wing" on the back of the hotel. It wasn't anything special but not too bad either being quite cheap. Food in the expensive restaurant is hit and miss, sometimes you get good,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank h4b4nero
London
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Rooms a little dated, but clean and the bed was very comfortable. Excellent location a short walk from the centre of Arusha, welcoming staff, decent breakfast in lovely garden setting. Wifi only in reception and not in the rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RebeccaRLV
Udzungwa Mountains
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Cheap friendly place to stay in busy Arusha. Convenient for town and generally affordable which is why we were there. Room was ok - not exactly wonderful but for the price that's what you expect. Clean enough, and bed comfy. For me the downside was the bathroom which was so unbelievably small you can hardly fit yourself in there to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank HanWood1
Italy
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed at the Jacaranda in August and were given charming Zanzibar room, which sports handcrafted wooden furniture (including a fourposter bed), bow-windows looking out at the garden and a large, very clean bathroom. Really enjoyed it! The atmosphere is cosmopolitan and relaxed and not so packaged-tour-touristy compared to other places in Arusha. Food is good. There are probably several...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fbr62
Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Clean place, centrally located, but off the beaten path enough to not have too many street hustlers hanging out outside. Has WIFI, clean rooms, & gets hot water eventually. Good restaurant, although a bit pricey. Breakfast is included - eggs, toast, coffee, juice, fruit. It had a pretty cool (and tough) miniature golf course on the property you can play...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank trilete

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
2.3 km away
Meru House Inn
Meru House Inn
#16 of 43 in Arusha
36 reviews
2.2 km away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#9 of 43 in Arusha
85 reviews
8.0 km away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 43 in Arusha
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Arusha Hotel
The Arusha Hotel
#10 of 43 in Arusha
374 reviews
0.2 km away
East African All Suite Hotel & Conference Centre
1.3 km away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 43 in Arusha
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your Home away from Home... ... more   less 

Additional Information about Le Jacaranda Hotel

Address: Plot 104 Vijana Road | PO Box 11478, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Price Range: $49 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Jacaranda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Le Jacaranda Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“D room is the best available room.”
 of 5 bubbles suzanenbas, 24 Mar 2013 | Read review
“The room down the back of the property, renovated, clean and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 542DebbieK, 4 Jan 2013 | Read review
“Room number 6 is very near the back gate, from which you walk to the Impala.”
 of 5 bubbles Hilde_J, 20 Jun 2012 | Read review
“Rooms in main building.”
 of 5 bubbles 396Traveller, 22 Jan 2012 | Read review
“Choose one on the back side in the separate building to the main reception, they are quieter than the rest. Book early as it fills up quickly.”
  • Our room
 of 5 bubbles TamisCanada, 5 Nov 2011 | Read review
5 of 5