We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Charoen Hotel

PricelineUS$28*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$32*
US$28*
Great Deal
US$32*
US$30*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Charoen Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 88: English reviews
Start your review of Charoen Hotel
 Click to rate
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Hotel was fair. Dated rooms. Location is fair Walking distance to Central Mall, bus station and train station. Breakfast buffet average. Pool area is ok. Staff nice, less English than others. Many of the guests are European, long term visitors.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mgaug3
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Spent 3 day here. Great location and close to things to do. Nice tasteful rooms and great breakfast. Beautiful pool with a band of a night in beer garden. You could do worse than stay here. Give it a go you won't be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
Charoen_Hotel, Assistant Director of Rooms at Charoen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Charoen Hotel for your last visit in Udon Thani, we are pleased to hear that our hotel location, room, service and facilities have fulfilled your needs. We look forward to welcoming you again for your future visits in Udon Thani. Yours Sincerely

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

As everybody knows, hotel fotos are not to be trusted. This is especially true for the Charoen Hotel. What looks to be a nice swimming pool is in fact a dirty puddle on a noisy street with broken plastic chairs, no umbrellas and an unattended bar. The rooms in the "new" part of the hotel are renovated. They are more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterJaz
Charoen_Hotel, Assistant Director of Rooms at Charoen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your time in writing a review here, we apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We will looked into the matters that you have mentioned and rectify it as soon as possible. At the same time, thank you for choosing to stay at the Charoen Hotel and we hope to have another chance to...

Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

As in title said, the hotel needs to be renovated, especially the bathrooms which are very small and worn out, to meet the modern standards and of course the asked prices! I also had the impression that it is also a little bit old fashioned in management. The breakfast buffet is tasty, but needs a larger variety and more imagination!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greeky-Micky
Charoen_Hotel, Assistant Director of Rooms at Charoen Hotel at Charoen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Charoen Hotel for your last visit in Udon Thani and your kind suggestions. Our hotel is currently undergoing renovation with new room settings with brighter and more comfortable bathroom. We hope to service you again in the near future and relax yourself in our newly renovated rooms. Yours...

Bangkok
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

the hotel location is next to the old upon Thani bus terminal, which you can get on buses or minivans to other neighbour cities of Bangkok easily. the hotel has old and new building connecting together every floor. the interior of rooms on both old and new buildings are the same .hair dryer, fridge, kettle, minibar , power outlets are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jajavalB
Charoen_Hotel, Assistant Director of Rooms at Charoen Hotel at Charoen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for sharing your experience for your visit at the Charoen Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are currently undergoing room renovations and the interior design and settings of the rooms are different now. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Yours Sincerely

Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

This fading '80s hotel in Udon Thani city centre offers basic accommodation, relatively clean rooms and the fluffiest omelette at the breakfast buffet. Occasional baby cockroaches. If you happen to be in Udon Thani and you don't have the time to explore your options - this might be your quick solution.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vanja O
Charoen_Hotel, Assistant Director of Rooms at Charoen Hotel at Charoen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Charoen Hotel for your visit in Udonthani. We apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. We have already looked into the problems that you have mentioned. We would like to inform that the hotel is currently undergoing room renovations, we hope to have an opportunity to provide...

Durham, UK
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Firstly our rooms were the newly refurbished ones on floor 6 and were absolutely beautiful. Couldn't fault a thing in the room except hard beds but that is usual in Thailand. Staff were lovely, friendly and attentive and WiFi was very good. Free airport shuttle bus was a real plus. Downsides: the pool was not clean, really needed a thorough...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank borobabe_69
Charoen_Hotel, Assistant Director of Rooms at Charoen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Charoen Hotel. In regards to the swimming pool issue, we have already looked into the problem and will ensure that the pool is being maintain in a regular basis. We have also passed on your disappointment of the breakfast to the Restaurant Manager. We apologise for any inconvenience caused during...

Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Well... clearly you have some good and some not so good things going on here. Tired, it is in need of a cash injection in order to revive this antiquated property. Rooms have the benchmark in hardness for beds, tiny tv, and a drab room. On a positive note, it connects to the yellow bird bar, a landmark and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonky1
Charoen_Hotel, Assistant Director of Rooms at Charoen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for your time to share your experience for your stay at the Charoen Hotel. We are currently undergoing room renovations, in order to provide a better and more comfortable stay for our guest. In regards to the breakfast in the morning, our chef will look into the issues and rectify it accordingly. Once again, thank you...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We were apprehensive when we saw the exterior of the hotel, on arrival. We had a deluxe room in the new tower and found it to be very comfortable. It had a teak floor, timber clad walls and an attractive ceiling. The lighting was excellent, probably the best we have experienced in a Thai hotel. The bathroom was newly renovated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank john s
Charoen_Hotel, Assistant Director of Rooms at Charoen Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Charoen Hotel for your last visit in Udon Thani, we are pleased to hear that our hotel location, room and service have fulfilled your needs. We look forward to welcoming you again for your future visits in Udon Thani. Yours Sincerely

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

In the day i am sure this hotel was a stunner.Unfortunately that was 30 years ago .That said i really enjoyed my stay,big rooms,good WIFI,pool,good fresh cooked breakfast.In fact there were three chefs standing behind the buffet tables cooking to order. It is centrally located and you can stroll to the Udon shopping centres. Good value at about 700 Baht,needs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mekongmarcus

104 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udon Thani hotels
0.6 km away
Centara Hotel & Convention Centre Udon Thani
0.2 km away
Paradise Hotel
Paradise Hotel
#4 of 53 in Udon Thani
136 reviews
0.5 km away
The Pannarai Hotel
The Pannarai Hotel
#2 of 53 in Udon Thani
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Kitlada Hotel
Kitlada Hotel
#5 of 53 in Udon Thani
40 reviews
1.4 km away
Brown House Hotel
Brown House Hotel
#3 of 53 in Udon Thani
76 reviews
3.4 km away
UD Resort
UD Resort
#9 of 53 in Udon Thani
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Charoen Hotel is Udonthani’s most well-known property in town. It offers comfortable accommodation with a variety of amenities at a valuable price. Conveniently located in the heart of the city, amidst shopping, entertainment, medical services and only 10 minutes away from Udonthani International Airport.The 233 well equipped guest rooms and suites cater to the needs of different travelers. A full buffet breakfast offers a wide range of choices to energize your day. The facilities of this friendly hotel leave absolutely nothing to be desired, including 3 restaurants, bar, karaoke, disco tech, beautiful outdoor swimming pool next to the botanic garden, fitness center, meeting rooms and ballrooms that can accommodate up to 1500 guests.Charoen Hotel has developed an expertise in delivering value added services in order to create an enjoyable experience to every precious guest. Book it now and come to discover the unique Isan’s hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Charoen Hotel

Address: 549 Phosri Road | Udon Thani 41000, Udon Thani 41000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Udon Thani Province > Udon Thani
Price Range: $43 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charoen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charoen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charoen Hotel Udon Thani
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Charoen Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“any room on the 6th floor”
borobabe_69, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I suggest a room overlooking the swimming pool in the new wing. You will avoid the noise from the Yellow Bird Karioke.”
R1240JVjohns, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try and book in the new section of the hotel.”
528seanh, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“poor staff”
252plel, 16 Dec 2015 | Read review
“I prefer the pool side personnaly.”
Jerome93200, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$28* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$32
Booking.comUS$30
Expedia.comUS$32
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates