We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Inn on the Vumba

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mutare
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

35 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 33: English reviews
Start your review of Inn on the Vumba
 Click to rate
Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After several reviews which indicated a downward trend of standards and gradual loss of business, it was regrettable and painful to note that Inn on the Vumba and Sabi Star Restaurant had to shut down citing viability issues. One hopes this place will come back to vibrant life as in the past bouncing back to the listing of best world...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
GordonAddamsZW, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this review

Thank you for your review in regard to Inn on the Vumba . The hotel is open having endured difficult times and hope that business will improve and see the Inn prosper . The Inn is under new ownership and hope they will appreciate your advice and take measures to see it takes its place as the ' Inn '...

Harare
Reviewed 10 April 2017

It's that epic feeling of hurt. When Adam wanders back to where Eden used to be and his 'return To Eden' is not too pleasant at all. In fact, it is shocking. Inn On The Vumba was the jewel of the Vumba mountains. And so it is with confidence that i insisted to my two friends that it was the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank robert m
GordonAddamsZW, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive and thorough review of the Inn on the Vumba and will most certainly bring it to the attention of the owner . The Inn is no longer under the franchise of Inns of Zimbabwe and is no longer a member of Best of Zimbabwe , too . Thank you for your continued support and friendship...

London
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Inn on the Vumba is just outside Mutare, so very conevenient for a business visitor. Stunning views, especially at sunrise when the beautiful gardens can be enjoyed to the full. Friendly staff, delicious food. Look forward to the next time I'm able to stay at Inn on the Vuumba.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robinsonpb
GordonAddamsZW, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of Inn on the Vumba and delighted you had a pleasant stay . We so appreciate your support and look forward to having you return in the future . Kind regards , Gordon Addams

Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Bvumba is a beautiful place in the Eastern Highlands with breathtaking views. Our experience at Inn on the Vumba was not as expected unfortunately. We arrived to no power (understandable) however for the entire three days we were there the generator was switched on twice, the evening we arrived, we managed to watch news on one of the three informative...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taremeredzwa
GordonAddamsZW, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued review of Inn on the Vumba . Your comments and observations made are appreciative as we will bring these to the attention of the Management and Landlord . With best wishes , Gordon Addams Best of Zimbabwe

Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 14 June 2016

I have stayed at Inn on the Vumba twice in the last few months as we are working in Mutare at present. The Inn is perfectly suited for our requirements. The rooms are a bit dated but understandable in the current environment. Wifi signal is very poor in the rooms and it would be a good idea to set up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ant K
GordonAddamsZW, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our country retreat , Inn on the Vumba and pleased you have enjoyed your stays with us . We will certainly look into have the Wifi improved as suggested . Thanks again for your support , Kind regards , Gordon Addams Inns of Zimbabwe

Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

Lovely setting, wonderful staff. Clean rooms. Good food, excellent breakfast. However prices increased just because they offered 3 measly TV channels. I would rather the old price and no TV channels. No WiFi offered to guests and hotel has very poor cell phone signal from any of the local providers but Mozambican cell networks work well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel Jennifer S
GordonAddamsZW, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our country retreat , Inn on the Vumba . Our tariffs have not been increased in more than two years and have specials on , too for guests of the SADC region . We have 4 tv channels available along with WiFi ( internet only available in the public area at present ) and...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2016

The location and views are fantastic :looking out from the mountain tops over Mozambique. The Inn on the Vumba is straight out of the colonial heritage with faithful retainers and solid and comfortable decor and furniture. Like a comfortable pair of slippers it is relaxing and homely. A great place to stay for a few days. We look forward to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tim12014
InnsofZimbabwe, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of our country retreat , Inn on the Vumba and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us . Thank you for your support and friendship of the Inn(s) , Kindest regards , Gordon Addams Inns of Zimbabwe

Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2016

The Inn on the Vumba is situated in the beautiful Bvumba Mountains and offers older style budget accommodation. For visitors in that market I would recommend it as a place to stay. It is very much of a 60s / 70s type of property and is quite tired and this is reflected in the furnishings. Having said that, you pay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean K
InnsofZimbabwe, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our country retreat , Inn on the Vumba . We appreciate your support and valued observations of your stay and information provided herein as it will encourage more visitors to holiday in the Eastern Highlands . You will be pleased to note that the Bvumba road is under repair which will be welcomed by...

Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn on the Vumba for four days after hearing it was linked to Inn on the Rupara in Nyanga where we previously stayed & loved, and after reading some great reviews on here. Inn on the Vumba cost us just under $190 per night per room. The Inn has some positive aspects but is perhaps a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yemurai N
InnsofZimbabwe, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive comments on your recent stay at our country retreat , Inn on the Vumba and will surely take up the issues raised in our quest to maintain and improve standards of the Inn(s) . Here's wishing you a blessed Christmas and all the best for 2016 . Kind regards , Gordon Addams Inns of Zimbabwe

Reviewed 12 September 2015 via mobile

Such a lovely hotel, great staff going the extra mile!! Could not belive how reasonable the prices are and what you get for it!! The Road to Mutare is perfect and completely re done. For a city break I would suggest it with only a 3 hour drive. We will be back!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandros Z
InnsofZimbabwe, Owner at Inn on the Vumba, responded to this review

Thank you for you lovely review our country retreat , Inn on the Vumba . The new road from Harare to Mutare makes such a difference to travelling time and has been welcomed by many motorists on this route . We look forward to your return in the near future , Kindest regards , Gordon Addams Inns of Zimbabwe

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mutare
0.0 km away
African Sun Amber Hotel Mutare
0.0 km away
Musangano Lodge
Musangano Lodge
#1 of 9 in Mutare
168 reviews
0.0 km away
Troutbeck Resort
Troutbeck Resort
#1 of 4 in Nyanga
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Eden Lodge Vumba
Eden Lodge Vumba
#2 of 6 in Mutare
10 reviews
0.0 km away
Ancient City Lodge
Ancient City Lodge
#3 of 9 in Masvingo
49 reviews
0.0 km away
Matobo Hills Lodge
Matobo Hills Lodge
#2 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Inn on the Vumba is 8km out of Mutare on the Bvumba road overlooking the Mozambique border. Caters for the businessmen , holidaymakers and specially families as it has hotel rooms with bathroom en suite , 2 deluxe cottages sleep 4 and 2 self catering cottages , also sleep 4 in each . In close proximity to Leopard Rock Hotel and Golf course , Bvumba Botanical Gardens . ... more   less 

Additional Information about Inn on the Vumba

Address: | PO Box 524, Mutare, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Manicaland Province > Mutare
Number of rooms: 11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Inn on the Vumba staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Inn on the Vumba staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unless they change standards w you're better off sleeping outside!”
X8070ZSrobertm, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have a great view”
ChrisW311, 23 Oct 2014 | Read review
“most rooms have the washbasin in the bedroom and carpeting on the bathroom floor. If you want to avoid this, ask to stay in either room 10 or 11.”
sahsameer, 4 Nov 2013 | Read review
“We did not go into the rooms which all have a great view of Mocambique but stayed in one of the self-catering cottages which was perfectly adequate but did not have a view.”
riverrat205, 29 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Facing the valley - Mozambique side”
KwameMokopane, 3 Feb 2013 | Read review
5 of 5