We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst
See the most recent reviews
Showing 117: English reviews
Toronto
Reviewed 20 March 2015

We were given a room right next to the exit door at the back of the hotel. Despite the hotel being half full (possibly 1/3 full), the lady at the desk decided to assign us the loudest room possible. We were kept up all night by the sound of opening and closing exit doors, and then in the morning, the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kurtchel
Cheryl J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for making us aware of the issues you had while staying with us. Our sincerest apologies that you did not have a pleasant time while you were in our care. We take to heart the comfort of our guests and feel disappointed that you did not have an exemplary time while with us. We would love another opportunity...

Port Perry, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 19 March 2015

Stayed one night while shopping in area. Pool just closed for some lengthy renos which was tuff to explain to kids. Otherwise a good stay. Place needs some updates on the decor. Staff were friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason E
Cheryl J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I'm so sorry the pool was out of commission for your stay. We try our hardest to choose a low occupancy time when updating areas of our hotel. We were offering any guests that wanted to swim a day pass to the Aquatic Center in Tonawanda which included transportation. I'm glad you enjoyed our staff...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 8 March 2015

We stayed here for one night to visit Buffalo State (10 min car ride to college and 15 min to airport). It was just okay for a Holiday Inn. They allow people to come in and out of hallway outside doors which makes it VERY cold in the hallway while the lobby was blasting hot air. There was a bus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenn012_10
Cheryl J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for being a guest with us. Let me apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on making a special connection with our guests and we are disappointed when we do not succeed. Buffalo has had a record breaking year with freezing temperatures and we absolutely agree with you that it has been a...

Sandy, Utah
Reviewed 20 February 2015

After a long day of work, sweat and travel, I had a short night's sleep before catching an early flight from Buffalo. All packed and just needed to shower. Except when I went to turn on the water for the shower, the water faucet handle pulled right off. No set screw to hold it in. Obviously had been this way...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Otto K
Cheryl J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Even though it is in a negative light, we still appreciate feedback. My apologies for the problems you faced while staying with us. Our goal is for every single guest to have the best experience possible when at our hotel but we obviously failed you. Please know that the occurrence in your room is not...

Pickering, Canada
Reviewed 27 January 2015

My son in law, because he travels a lot is in the position to help us with our rooms. As a gift for our anniversary our kids sent a nice card stuffed with money for us to have a weekend away. My son in law booked and paid for our room. We arrived on the Monday after about 3 hours...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BobbyD65
Cheryl J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Bobby, Thank you for your wonderful review! Our team is dedicated to making every stay "exceptional" for each and every guest. We are delighted that we can now be your hotel of choice when you come to the Buffalo-Niagara Falls area. Many of our guests have become like family when they return to see us again and again. You have...

North Tonawanda, New York
Reviewed 18 January 2015

This site was clean and convenient for our visiting family. The laundry area was almost across the hall from the room. The pool was nice if a bit chilly. The best part was the kind and courteous staff who were very helpful in every way.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcia B
Cheryl J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Marcia, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all of our guests and love to hear their feedback. I'm glad you had the time to enjoy our pool, the wonderful ceiling to floor windows that give the feeling of being outdoors when you're indoors. We look forward to having you as our guest again!

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 January 2015

We stayed for two nights on an extended family vacation during summer. The hotel is close to shopping malls and restaurants. We liked the convenience of the location. There is not much more than that. Rooms and service are just about what you would expect at this price range.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelbugflies
Cheryl J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Travelbug, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Shopping is one of the top reasons our guests choose to stay with us due to our location so close to the Boulevard Mall and Outlet Shops. We're happy we could meet all your needs and hope to see you again the next time you visit historic Niagara Falls.

Vaughan, Canada
Reviewed 2 January 2015

We stayed overnight for New Years Eve and the rooms was spacious and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable and clean. Had dinner at the on-site restaurant ... which was average with limited menu.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ray K
Cheryl J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Ray, Thank you for your review. Our comfortable beds are one of our guests favorite things about our hotel. Another favorite is our indoor pool and cozy restaurant. We strive everyday to create that "home away from home" feel for all our special guests. Our staff looks forward to being able to welcome you once again for your next stay!

Campbellford, Canada
Reviewed 21 December 2014

In November, my fiancé and I stayed at the Holiday Inn, Buffalo Amherst. We were not disappointed. The Front Office Manager, Monique Camp, was very welcoming, as was her staff. If you are staying away from home and want to feel at home, this is where you want to stay. Each and every staff member was friendly and courteous. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dale R
Cheryl J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Dale & Bert, Thank you so much for the kind words! We appreciate every guest who comes through our doors and we are looking forward to you becoming a regular part of our family when you return. We'll make sure to have the Beef on Weck and Chicken Wings ready for you! See you soon!

Reviewed 9 December 2014

I am currently staying in the hotel for the week for work. The front desk was very helpful upon check in. However, after leaving and returning from work THE FIRST DAY, I come to find my ring has been stolen. I reported the incident to the front desk, who took my information down and informed me they would let the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Barryleblanc
Cheryl J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review

Mr Leblanc, While I wish it was under better circumstances, it was nice speaking with you. After our conversation, I'm hopeful that your missing item can be found to ease your mind as to it's whereabouts. Anytime something goes missing, it becomes priority one to assist in any way we can to find any item and I hope you feel...

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.2 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#6 of 17 in Amherst
249 reviews
2.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
2.8 km away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
3.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
6.6 km away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Buffalo-Amherst, conveniently located between Buffalo and Niagara Falls, NY. Only a few miles from the Buffalo Niagara International Airport we offer free 24-hour airport shuttle. Our location is ideal for taking in the sights around Buffalo. Only a short drive to Niagara Falls, the Boulevard Mall, University of Buffalo Center for the Arts, and many summer festivals including the Italian Fest, Allentown Art Festival, Wing Fest and the Canal Fest. The hotel offers an indoor pool, 24hr fitness center and full service restaurant; blvd Bar and Grill offering American fare including Buffalo wings and award winning Bar-B-Q Ribs. The Holiday Inn Buffalo-Amherst is an ideal place to stay for the sports fan. Close to UB Alumni Arena, Northtown Center in Amherst Ice rink and Coca-Cola Field, home of the Buffalo Bisons. Ralph Wilson Stadium, home of the Buffalo Bills, is only a 30-minute ride. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst

Address: 1881 Niagara Falls Blvd, Amherst, NY 14228-3517
Region: United States > New York > Amherst
Price Range: $232 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Holiday Inn Amherst
Amherst Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Lyndonville, New York
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Buffalo Amherst staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Couples would like the back rooms where it is very quiet, while families would probably prefer a midrange room to be closer to the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Maggiet1946, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get a room on the 2nd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Alan2996, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the back are further from the road and quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles kathym646, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't get 121, get a few rooms down because ice machine is very loud. I'd also ask for interior room to prevent morning sun waking you up.”
 of 5 bubbles jmoonesq, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“A room at first floor since there are no elevators.”
 of 5 bubbles permanentourist, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay