We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2-11-4 Habashita, Nishi-Ku, Nagoya 451-0041 Aichi Prefecture
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (172)
Room & Suite (301)
Dining (55)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Kyoya Ryokan
Updated 02/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 202 hotels in Nagoya
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Please try to experience Japanese traditional atmosphere ! Very popular with foreigners ♪ Good information on foreign languages! ! ! * A taxi about 1000 JPY from Nagoya Station (same as Sakae Station) is recommended ♪ Take the Nagoya City Bus No.1(幹名駅1)to Meidocho bus stop and walk for 2 minutes. ***No smoking on the premises*** Thank you for your kind understanding. *We apologize we cannot accept children under 12. *You can order "Japanese style breakfast" as an option. *We have no elevator.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Bicycles available
Adults only
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
245Reviews15Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 201
  • 37
  • 5
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Najing Xiang wrote a review Feb 2020
13 contributions3 helpful votes
I’ve travelled around the world and I admit this is the best hostel I’ve stayed ,,, the staff are super friendly and everything is so cleaned. Coffee tea and even bicycle are free to use ,,, they have a beautiful Japanese garden with a hot bath inside , a bonus !! The gentleman upgraded me a private room and I couldn’t thank him enough ! Definitely will come back for future trips !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from KyoyaRyokan_Nagoya_J, マネージャー at Kyoya Ryokan
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Dear najingxiang, Thank you for sharing your experience and nice photoes. Fortunately (unfortunately for us (T_T)), we had some vacant rooms at that day, so we upgraded you. Anyway, it is our honor that you thought of us as the best hostel ! We are looking forward to your next stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sew_Chun_Liang wrote a review Dec 2019
Singapore, Singapore87 contributions10 helpful votes
The room comfortably fit a family of 4 and with adequate space for a living room with a 4-seater sofa. The room opened up to a beautiful garden. The view is breath-taking. The ryokan has all the modern amenities to keep you comfortable, and yet have the rustic homely feel and warmth to charm you. The host is extremely friendly and helpful. The only down side is its distance from the Nagoya Station (about 17min walk). But the walk is generally along well pathed and flat walkway. It is not too difficult even when lugging luggage. In summary it is a wonderful experience that my family cherished.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KyoyaRyokan_Nagoya_J, マネージャー at Kyoya Ryokan
Responded 24 Dec 2019
Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to writing a review. We are so pleased to hear you liked the view from guest room. We are also glad to have received positive feedback regarding the room size, amenities, and atmosphere. Kyoya is not very close to the station, particularly for guests with heavy luggage, thank you for your kind understanding. Anyway, I hope it was a memorable trip for you and your familiy. We are looking forward to hosting you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven wrote a review Dec 2019
5 contributions3 helpful votes
Went with my family of 4 to Nagoya and wanted to experience traditioal Japanese hospitality, hence decided ato void typical iotels and decided on ryokan for the 4-day visit (1-4 Dec 2019). Although the check-in time was supposed to be in the afternoon, we landed in Nagoya at 10am and decided to drop off the luggage at the ryokan (which was allowed). To our surprise, we were able to check-in early and that was very helpful. Our room on the ground floor was recently renovated and was in fantastic condition. It is spacious and facing a nice little Japanese garden. The bathroom is also bigger than epxected (considering this is Japan where space is a big premium). The host speaks good English and that makes communications easier. Free wi-fi was also provided. We also ordered traditional Japanese breakfast and dinner during our stay, just to have the full experience instead of eating out. The meals were fantastic. Additionally. the host also provided many recommendations of good restaurants around the neighbourhood for us to try. Many other thoughtful items were also noted - such as umbrellas for outside use, slippers for use in rooms (and to be taken away as gifts), coffee/teaa provided in common areas, etc. Overall, it was a wonderful Japanese experienc and worth a trye.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from KyoyaRyokan_Nagoya_J, マネージャー at Kyoya Ryokan
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Thank you so much for your review (and sorry for late reply.) We are so glad to hear how you felt in detail. Since room cleaning have been finished early that day, we took you to the room a little eariler. (This service is not guaranteed.) Even if you could not check-in earlier, we can keep your luggage before check-in, please feel free to contact us. We are also happy to know you satisfied with meals and our complementary services. We will do our best to give a wondeful experience to guests and looking forward to your next visit !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kaye P wrote a review Nov 2019
Melbourne, Australia41 contributions58 helpful votes
We booked Kyoya Ryokan based on all the fabulous trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. From the moment we walked up the path to reception and were greeted by the man behind the counter we knew we were in for a treat. We opted to stay in a tradition room with tatami mat flooring and futons on the floor. Our room opened out onto the courtyard and was a quick walk to the Onsen - which was beautifully set up although we didn't use it. Our room was spacious and very restful and again great to have a fridge to store wine,beer etc. You could also help yourself to complimentary tea and coffe or any toiletry that you may have forgotten from the guest lounge. There is also laundry facilities which were a welcome surprise. We opted to try their set menu for one of our dinners and this was a great experience and included wine. We chose not to have the traditional Japanese breakfast but opted to purchase our own items and eat them at leisure in our room. The gentleman at reception was fantastic with absolutely everything and soooo helpful. Staying here was a real treat and we are so glad we came. I cannot recommend this ryokan more highly - so if you are in Nagoya you must stay here
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Choose a traditional room opening onto the courtyard
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from KyoyaRyokan_Nagoya_J, オーナー at Kyoya Ryokan
Responded 26 Nov 2019
Thank you for your staying with us. We are really happy to get your positive review. It is our honor to get such a review. Besides, we appreciate that many guests find our inn through TripAdviser and book us, and we are happy to have opportunities to let users of TripAdviser know Kyoya. We will make further effort to improve our service and facilities. Thank you for your kind words and nice photo to us. We are looking forward to hosting you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Explorer wrote a review Nov 2019
3 contributions
The hotel is very cosy with everything you need. The Japaneses breakfast is delightful, staff - Sato san is fantastic. We also use their free bike to tour around Nagoya Castle. Thanks so much for your great service during our stay!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from KyoyaRyokan_Nagoya_J, マネージャー at Kyoya Ryokan
Responded 5 Dec 2019
Thank you so much for your positive review (and sorry for late reply.) We are so happy to hear that you satisfied with your stay and you feel that our services are great or fantastic. We are looking forward to serving you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sirc808 wrote a review Nov 2019
Minneapolis, Minnesota159 contributions43 helpful votes
+1
I spent the night in Nagoya and needed a place to rest my head so I booked this Hostel online. I didn’t scroll much through the pictures as it was a last minute booking but I was pleasantly surprised when I walked up to the hostel. The gentleman behind the counter was extremely helpful, kind, spoke English, helped me with my bags and gave me a tour of the facility. To my surprise, there is an Onsen that is open over night!!! What a treat. The Onsen is a must do! I left early in the morning to sight see and I was able to leave my bags in a secure locker onsite and picked up my things on my way back to the airport. I was even allowed to shower one last time before my long journey home. I highly recommend experiencing this hostel if you’re in Nagoya. The beds a comfy, the entire facility is clean, safe and there a lot of amenities.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from KyoyaRyokan_Nagoya_J, オーナー at Kyoya Ryokan
Responded 4 Nov 2019
Thank you for your staying with us. We are glad to get your positive review. It is our honor that you were satisfied with our facilities and service. We hope your enjoyed Japanese style public bath. Our public bath is open from 5p.m to 8a.m, so customers can enjoy bath all night. Thank you for your review and photos, and we are looking forward to seeing you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mchertok wrote a review Aug 2019
San Francisco, California12 contributions14 helpful votes
Kyoya is a beautiful traditional Japanese inn, in the city, with many conveniences, and a warm welcoming proprietor. Sleep in a room with a tatami mat floor, and wear traditional Japanese slippers. Enjoy sitting in the Japanese garden courtyard, and bathing in a traditional onsen. Hot and cold tea, coffee, water, and any toiletry you may have left at home is readily available at all hours.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from KyoyaRyokan_Nagoya_J, オーナー at Kyoya Ryokan
Responded 5 Aug 2019
Thank you for your staying with us. We are glad to get your comment. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our service and facility. We hope you enjoyed traditional Japanese atmosphere during your stay. Thank you for your review, and we are looking forward to seeing you again. Thank you
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OrdinaryTravelMate wrote a review Jul 2019
Munich, Germany65 contributions29 helpful votes
Hidden in a side street of Nagoya, this Ryokan is definitely a small gem of indulgence. It is run by a very friendly staff, has a beautiful inside garden and a onsen to relax if you are passing through Nagoya. The breakfast was delicious and we had a great night's sleep on the futon beds prepared for us. Would definitely come again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from KyoyaRyokan_Nagoya_J, オーナー at Kyoya Ryokan
Responded 5 Jul 2019
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are so happy to hear that you had a relaxing time and enjoyed your breakfast. We will launch new garden view room this summer, if you have a chance to stay us again, please try it. We are looking for ward to your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ferdinand C wrote a review May 2019
Quezon City, Philippines5 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed at Kyoya Ryokan Nagoya for 5 days in May 2019. It is a traditional Japanese inn (complete with a Japanese garden and public bath) located in a quiet residential area. Since it is about 15 to 20 minutes walk from Nagoya station, we always booked a taxi going to and from the train station. The cost of a one-way taxi ride was 700 to 1,000 yen. The owner was very friendly and helpful. He happily accommodated all our requests and attended to all our needs, including booking taxis early in the morning. He even gave us a going-away present when we checked out. We stayed at a dormitory-type room with four beds, a small living room, and a kitchenette complete with plates and utensils. There's even free coffee and tea 24 hours a day at the ground floor. Our group of three friends had the room to ourselves during the duration of our stay. Thus, we had all the privacy we wanted for a very low price. If central location is not a big concern for you, then you will surely enjoy your stay at Kyoya Ryokan. It's a home away from home.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from KyoyaRyokan_Nagoya_J, マネージャー at Kyoya Ryokan
Responded 2 Jun 2019
Thank you very much for your long stay and such a nice review. We are honored to hear you say Kyoya is a home away from home. We will keep in mind to provide considerate service, and makes you feel at home here. You’re always welcome. We are looking forward to your next visit !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Oggie W wrote a review May 2019
6 contributions7 helpful votes
We spent a month in Japan and this ryokan/lodging was one of the exceptional ones. Extremely friendly and helpful owner who goes out of his way to look out for the comfort and convenience of his guests. A wonderful inner garden that guests are invited to use, and a very pleasant/relaxing Onsen (bath). The dinner served was exceptional. Located within walking distance of train station. Free coffee/tea/barley tea, and all sorts of thoughtful amenities provided. No complaints!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from KyoyaRyokan_Nagoya_J, マネージャー at Kyoya Ryokan
Responded 5 May 2019
Thank you for staying with us and writing a positive review. It's a great honer to hear that you felt "exceptional" about our inn. You said you had no complaints this time, but if you have a chance to stay us again, please don't hesitate to tell us your requests or suggestions. We are looking forward to serving you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
LOCATION
JapanChubuTokaiAichi PrefectureNagoyaNagoya Station
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kyoya Ryokan
Which popular attractions are close to Kyoya Ryokan?
Nearby attractions include Shikemichi (0.4 km), Kabuki Cafe Nagoya Za (0.2 km), and Endoji Shopping Street (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kyoya Ryokan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a hot tub, and self serve laundry.
What food & drink options are available at Kyoya Ryokan?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Kyoya Ryokan?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kyoya Ryokan?
Conveniently located restaurants include THE CORNER Hamburger & Saloon, Sake Bar Marutani, and Taniya.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Kyoya Ryokan?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Kyoya Ryokan?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nagoya Castle Hommarugoten (1.0 km), Nagoya Castle (1.1 km), and Kiyosu Castle (6.1 km).