We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ryokan Kaminaka

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Ryokan Kaminaka
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

21 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 9: English reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

The Ryokan was a five minute walk from the train station so very well situated. We arrived at midday and were welcomed to leave our bag there so we could explore Takayama. We chose not to include dinner or breakfast. The room was comfortable and air conditioning great for the summer heat. Enjoyed the traditional bath to soak in!

Thank Jo B
Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 6 May 2016

We stayed one night in this Ryokan (room with private bath). it was very close to train and bus station. 10 minutes walk to old town. Room was clean and staff was really nice. breakfast was really good. I really recommend to visit Hida Folk Village.

Thank omid1974
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 19 August 2015

You won't regret to stay in such traditional atmosphere with yummy cuisine, though the bath is apart from the room. At first, we was led to the room and served dessert and hot tea. The waitress asked us the willing of the dinner time and bath time. The dinner there was perfect and fresh! I even ate all of it!...

Thank Tiffany1202
Reviewed 31 May 2015

You cannot have this quality of Japanese cuisine (breakfast and dinner) at this price. If you go Japanese inns with this level of fine food at tourist spots like Kanazawa and Kyoto, it costs you 3-40000 yen per night. The owner, ex-manager of Tourism in Municipal Takayama, was trained in cooking in Toyama when young and is very knowledgable with...

Thank mishibe
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

We ordered a room with garden view, but when we were checking in, they took us to the end of second floor, we've be arranged in a tiny room without any view. After complained and wanted to cancel, we finally got the bigger room which we paid for. The first servers made our trip not very happy. This hotel was...

1Thank Idyll22137
kaminaka, オーナー at Ryokan Kaminaka, responded to this review

Thank you for stay at this Ryokan. I´m so sorry miss the reserved room. We served another the Garden view room for you. And the room charge was discount 1000yen. And it was full Hida beef for dinner than usual dinner. However I´m so sorry you didn´t at allenough my Ryokan. We effort on your opinion. Thank you so much.

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We opted for the room with private bathroom. Everything was clean. Friendly staff. I assume this was a rather typical Japanese Ryokan. Very nice, typical Breakfast. However, the 16800 Yen we paid for this seems rather expensive for the package.

Thank femto2
Hong Kong
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We stayed at the Kaminaka Ryokan for 2 nights. It is a big, old building with many rooms, quiet except for some kids running around at 7am. Our room was 8 tatami, with a window facing the courtyard and our own bathroom and toilet; both were really tiny and the bathroom very old, not well maintained and without vent. The...

1Thank europeenne
Reviewed 14 November 2007

Easy walk (with luggage) from train station. The ryokan offered a fine traditional ryokan experience with excellent service and food. The basic ryokan furnishings are spartan--as expected. If you are looking for this type of experience, this is a good spot. If you are looking for Western-type comforts/accommodations, don't stay in a ryokan.

2Thank ryoChicago
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 13 September 2007

In our trip to Japan we wanted to stay in typical japanese hotels, called Ryokans (except in Tokyo). Now I can say that it is hard for a western to stay in such hotels. You must sleep on the floor, with only a thin futon, and breakfasts are also very different from westerns are used to. My advice is that...


16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (12)
Room/Suite (3)
Bathroom (2)
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (4)
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Ayun Takayama Central Hotel
#53 of 172 in Takayama
38 reviews
Hotel Hana
#106 of 172 in Takayama
60 reviews
Washington Hotel Plaza
#100 of 172 in Takayama
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yado Matsui
#135 of 172 in Takayama
2 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Ryokan Seiryu
Ryokan Seiryu
#42 of 172 in Takayama
84 reviews
Hodakaso Yamanoiori
#26 of 172 in Takayama
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ryokan Kaminaka Japanese Traditional Inn KAMINAKA is situated in the heart of Hida Takayama, known as Little Kyoto, which cultivated its unique culture in a region surrounded by mountain peaks rising to 3000 meters and bound in winter by deep snow. This long-established traditional inn was built in 1888. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ryokan Kaminaka

Address: 1-5 Hanaokacho, Takayama 506-0009, Gifu Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama
Price Range: $97 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN and Ctrip TA so you can book your Ryokan Kaminaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#39 Top resorts Hotel in Takayama
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ryokan Kaminaka staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay