We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

V8 Hotel Johor Bahru

Save
Share
2 Jalan Jati 2, Johor Bahru 81300 Malaysia
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.com
US$45
US$23
View deal
FindHotelUS$26
Hotels.comUS$27
Expedia.comUS$27
Booking.comUS$34
eDreamsUS$34
StayForLongUS$45
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (91)
Room & Suite (24)
Dining (4)

About

#33 of 194 hotels in Johor Bahru
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A brand new 4-star hotel is now started its operation in JB town! It will definitely be your best choice of hotel for business and vacation trip.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Burmese, Malay
106Reviews10Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 31
  • 37
  • 16
  • 9
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jacky Nguyen wrote a review Mar 2020
Hanoi, Vietnam106 contributions30 helpful votes
We stayed at the hotel one night in 2019. Our room's big, nice & warm but the bathroom smelled not very well sometimes. Staff were friendly and useful but minus point for the boring breakfast. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from GM_V8Hotel, General Manager at V8 Hotel Johor Bahru
Responded 19 Mar 2020
Dear JackySNN, Thank you for choosing V8 Hotel when stayed in JB in 2019. We appreciate all your feedbacks. We have never had any complaints from guest regarding the bathrooms but we will look into this. We do not serve buffet breakfast on certain days due to the number of pax having breakfast bit instead have a semi buffet where the main course is a selection of either Western or Local. We will have the Buffet spread when there is a substantial number of pax in the morning. Nevertheless, we will take note of your feedback. We hope that you would stay with us again on your next trip to JB. Regards, General Manager
Read more
Lyn T wrote a review Nov 2019
2 contributions2 helpful votes
During my telephone reservation, I had requested that the cleanliness of both the junior suites I had booked be ensured because of our medical needs. Though I was given the assurance that this would be looked into, we were extremely disappointed. During check-in, I reiterated my request and the FO lady assured us the housekeeper has checked and was waiting at the rooms for us to highlight areas that might need further attention. The housekeeper was indeed visible once the lift door opened but hastily pointed towards the direction of the rooms and vanished. We went into the room and found dirt, strands of hair in the toilet (weren't visible on carpet flooring so I cannot ascertain if the living / bedroom areas were vacuumed). I tried calling the housekeeping department repeatedly to no avail and we then had to clean up the place ourselves. Before heading out, I had informed FO that there wasn't anymore tissue paper and requested for some. Returned to the room and saw an extra roll of toilet paper instead. Tried calling housekeeping but to no avail and went personally down to FO then headed out of the hotel. Returned to the room again to find another toilet roll instead of the tissue paper. Called housekeeping and you guessed right! Called FO and reiterated the words Tissue Paper 3x and I was relieved the tissue paper was finally delivered. The toilet is really dirty - plenty of visible stains on the toilet bowl, walls, glass door, basin, sink, flooring and shower area. My skin cringed being in that toilet. Pillows had an awful stench. We ended up taking our own towels to lay above the pillows. To confirm my suspicion that the room is only cleaned on the surface, found greasy stains in the fridge and a feedback form from a previous guest still in the hotel's folder meant for guests. We survived on antihistamines to survive the poor hygiene of the place and my husband's asthma was triggered as a result of the dusty and dirty conditions. My daughter who was in the other room was scratching till the antihistamine took effect while my mum who was in that room too found it hard to sleep well because of the smelly pillows. It's no rocket science as to why I gave up calling FO / housekeeping. We had originally planned to stay in JB for 2 days but booked the suites for a night to try it out first and are glad we did so. The location is ideal for our needs and thus we wanted to give V8 a try, especially since we learnt the original nationality of her owner(s). Terribly disappointed though and sincerely hope the hotel will improve as I am confident that it's certainly more deserving than this if the feedback falls on the ears of the right people.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from GM_V8Hotel, General Manager at V8 Hotel Johor Bahru
Responded 4 Nov 2019
Dear Lyn T, Thank you for your feedbacks and we have looked into this matter seriously so that such mishaps will not occur again. We will ensure that such an incident will not happen again. We take all steps to ensure guests satisfaction during their stay with us. We hope that you would stay with us again during your next trip to Jhor Bahru. Do call upon the GM for your next reservation. We truly apologize for the experience. Regards, The Management
Read more
CherylRamas wrote a review Oct 2019
Singapore6 contributions7 helpful votes
We booked a family suite for 2 nights. We have family in Johor so we travel there quite often. Having stayed there before, we knew that the location itself is good, with many eateries around. It is a 10 min drive away from big shopping malls. The suite was spacious but not very clean. The sink had a bad stench which I suspect could have come from the sink being clogged up. Our package included daily breakfasts from 7am to 10am. On the first morning, we had breakfast at the ground floor cafe at 7.20am. As my husband was settling our young kids at the table, I walked over to the buffet line to get some food for my kids. I had a bad fall as I realised that the floor right in front of the buffet table was very wet. The floor tiles were smooth so the wet floor was very slippery. I asked the server why on earth the floor would be this wet at this hour, knowing that it was breakfast timing. He didnt reply and quickly mopped the floor. My husband went over to look and was equally shocked at the state of the floor. They quickly proceeded to put a blower to dry the floor. My husband approached the reception to look for the manager and was told that he would not be in till after 1pm. The pains started happening that very afternoon as we were out. I started bruising on my lower back, my right foot and thigh. We asked the hotel if they had any hotel doctor and was told no. They also said that the hotel manager and f&b manager was different so the hotel manager would be unable to assist. I went to the nearby doctor who suggested that my bruise was bad and would be better off going to the private hospital. Meanwhile, all the hotel said they could give us was a complimentary dinner buffet which we declined. We also did not go to the buffet breakfast at the hotel the next day. Till our check-out, the hotel made NO ATTEMPT to check on my condition nor offer any other resolution. The hotel is not customer-centric. I would not recommend to stay here anymore given our bad experience. Easily one of our worsts hotel stays in Johor.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Deividz wrote a review Aug 2019
Singapore, Singapore60 contributions22 helpful votes
Pros 1. Car park provided. 2. Kids like the Swimming pool. Probably the saving grace of the stay. 3. Location around has many eateries. Cons 1. Wifi is virtually at a snail’s pace. Unbelievable for a hotel in this era. 2. No pool towels. Need to bring your room towels down. My kids were freezing after shower even though we called housekeeping the min we got back. Poor planning. Not guest focused. 3. Paid extra for breakfast but should have just had it at the many choices within 5min walk. Even worse, aircon vents were dripping water. Not sure why restaurant staff only cleaned part of it. 4. Gym is old and barely usable. The KSL hotels are way way better than V8. Yes, I haven’t added the 4/5 stars hotels yet. For families thinking that this is a great hotel to chill, please check recent guest pics instead of hotel pics. I should have gone to Natural hotel for a family room instead....
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from GM_V8Hotel, General Manager at V8 Hotel Johor Bahru
Responded 12 Aug 2019
Dear Deividz,, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your views about the Hotel so that we can take the necessary steps to improve for the better. We have in fact already highlighted the issue on the Wi fi to Tm Net. We are also experiencing the same for all our offices. We have advised all guest via guest letters in rooms that we do not provide any pool towels and life guard at the pool side and all guest must bring along their room bath towels which can be exchanged with fresh towels when you return to your room. You might have missed reading the guest letter. We provide 2 breakfast which is with the room package for our Deluxe and 3 breakfast for the family suites. Any additional person will be charged accordingly. Our Gym is of a family gym and do not provide extensive equipment. What we provide is sufficient for a guest to have a work out. We always ensure that we provide the best services to all guest and will always strive for the better. We hope to see you again. Thank You General Manager
Read more
Ariyana wrote a review Jul 2019
Singapore, Singapore1 contribution
Stayed there for 3 nights. Best decision ever. Room is clean. Bed super comfy. The pool is the best as they have kiddy pool with slides for kids. That way parents can enjoy their swim. Check in was a little slow. But surely i will come by again soon. Wonder if they offer in room birthday decoration though 🤔
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from GM_V8Hotel, General Manager at V8 Hotel Johor Bahru
Responded 23 Jul 2019
Dear Firyana, Thank you for your feedback which I will definitely convey to all the staff. We always prioritize our guest needs and comfort during their stay. Yes, we do have in room decorations for any occasion which you can pre order when you make your reservations. We hope that you would come again during your next trip to Johor Bahru and rest be assured that we always look forward to have our return guest stay with us again. Thank You & Best Regards General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$27 - US$61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaJohorJohor Bahru DistrictJohor Bahru
NUMBER OF ROOMS
193
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about V8 Hotel Johor Bahru
What are some of the property amenities at V8 Hotel Johor Bahru?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at V8 Hotel Johor Bahru?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at V8 Hotel Johor Bahru?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to V8 Hotel Johor Bahru?
Conveniently located restaurants include Monsta Cafe, Lar Kopi, and Restoran Changman Dimsum.
Are there opportunities to exercise at V8 Hotel Johor Bahru?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does V8 Hotel Johor Bahru offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at V8 Hotel Johor Bahru?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Malay, and Burmese.
Are there any historical sites close to V8 Hotel Johor Bahru?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kranji Beach Battle Site (11.2 km).
Is V8 Hotel Johor Bahru accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.