We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sunset Valley Holiday Houses

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Sunset Valley Holiday Houses
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunset Valley Holiday Houses
See the most recent reviews
Showing 201: English reviews
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 19 March 2016

I stayed here with my wife and 3 young children for 16 nights over Christmas and New Year and had one of our best holidays ever and im still dreaming of returning. We stayed in the Field House which has a really nice terrace overlooking the paddy fields and well kept gardens, the house itself was very comfortable even with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Camereas
Educat2012, Owner at Sunset Valley Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Dear Michael, thank you very much for your heart-felt revue about your stay with us over Christmas and the New Year. We really enjoyed your company during the time you spent with us as guests at Sunset Valley and we were delighted that you could join us for the wonderful new year masquerade celebrations at The Westin. We would love...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 18 March 2016

My boyfriend booked this place for my 30th birthday because it looked nice and quiet and average reviews. We should have read more into the reviews before we booked this place. We booked the gate house for 4 nights and for the first two nights we didn't sleep at all because our room felt like a sauna. Paying 80$ a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sofie_Oestergaard
Educat2012, Owner at Sunset Valley Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Dear Sophie We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our beautiful Sunset Valley. We wonder why your very polite and well mannered boyfriend chose Sunset Valley as your holiday destination in the first place if you don't like wild life and nature because that is what Sunset Valley is all about. Choosing an...

Langkawi, Kedah, Malaysia
Reviewed 5 March 2016

We were unable to host our guest and recommended Sunset Valley to them and were invited at Christmas for an absolutely lovely b.b.q. with roasted chicken, a variety of salads, drinks and of course bathing if we so wished. Our guest were thrilled with our recommendation and could not say enough about the beauty and tropical location, as well as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julie F
Educat2012, Owner at Sunset Valley Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Dear Julie We are very grateful that you referred your dear friends to Sunset Valley and of course we are delighted that they enjoyed their stay here so much. It was great that you and they could also join us for our traditional BBQ on Christmas day evening.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 March 2016

We booked the Forest House via Airbnb and were immensely disappointed. It was described that it “will provide luxurious space for two couples… house six guests very comfortably”, instead the house was not so ample as it is described and it felt stuffy and the bedding had a humidity smell. The description as a "modern" "2 bedroom" kampong house was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jael F
Educat2012, Owner at Sunset Valley Holiday Houses, responded to this review

This review is so utterly contrary to the vast majority it defies belief. Unfortunately you found everything wrong and nothing right with Sunset Valley from the moment you arrived. We were baffled, confounded, perplexed and puzzled by your constant fault-finding and disappointed that this left you no time to enjoy this beautiful heritage place because you seemed to spend all...

Gurgaon, India
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

I booked this place ( forest house) through air bnb and give it an avg rating because of the pros and cons listed below- Pros - - friendly hosts willing to offer advice and help - green and peaceful surrounding with a lovely pool overlooking paddy fields - polite and helpful staff - simple but tasty breakfast. - cozy Malaysian...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NonTourist_traveller
SunsetValleyLangkawi, Owner at Sunset Valley Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Dear Mohanty Firstly thank you for the kind words in your review. Perhaps your expectations were not realistic in terms of the type of accommodation offered of which we are extremely proud. Our holiday houses are all authentic Malay houses all found on Langkawi and resurrected on site. The Sunset Valley Holiday Houses property is a treasure for Langkawi in...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 23 February 2016

My friend and I stayed in the Paddy House, which resembled an authentic Malaysian Kampung house. The house was well maintained, with cooking facilities, fridge, etc. Our only concern was the lack of privacy with the bathroom, however, this was in keeping with the original architecture. The Resort, itself is extremely peaceful and the views over the paddy fields magnificent....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beverly J
Educat2012, Owner at Sunset Valley Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Dear Beverly Gudrun and I were delighted to have you and your friend as our guests. We very much enjoyed your company and the time we spent together. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed some quiet time in our little paradise and we certainly look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 3 February 2016

We had an amazing time at Sunset Valley. It's an incredibly unique place. An oasis of calm and tranquility. And the views at sunset over the rice fields are stunning. Great houses which are well-equipped and the hosts are fabulous. Superb shared pool area. Everything is extremely well-organized and thought through. We stayed in both the Garden house and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alistairduck
Educat2012, Owner at Sunset Valley Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. The prime objective of the team at Sunset Valley is to provide a very special, memorable and pleasant experience for our guests. When we hear that we are ticking the right boxes we are very gratified and will keep trying even harder. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with...

Brisbane
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

This is a very long overdue review. Apologies to our wonderful hosts, David and Gudrun... time stands still on Langkawi but life has been hectic back home. My family has done a fair bit of traveling, and we would rate Sunset Valley Holiday Houses in our Top 5 favourite places in the world. There is not a week that goes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mumneedsaholiday
Educat2012, Owner at Sunset Valley Holiday Houses, responded to this review

We are simply delighted that after such a break you still remember us so well. Thank you very much for your great review. We are flattered and proud that you rate us so highly. We have a wonderful place in the world that we just love sharing with holiday makers from around the globe. We love our little piece of...

Westfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2016

We stayed in the Paddy House at Sunset Valley, Christmas 2015. David and Gudrun gave us a first class welcome on our arrival which included a tour of the the complex. They were very helpful, and as it was Christmas they put on a BBQ for us on Christmas Eve which included some of their friends and Rotary colleges. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
Educat2012, Owner at Sunset Valley Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. Good reviews are very motivating for us as we just love to see happy customers. It certainly makes what we do worthwhile. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Reviewed 12 January 2016

Gudrun and David are both very nice people who love what they do. We stayed in the Paddy House for three nights in August and it was fantastic. You're surrounded by nature and you can tell by the many animals that you encounter during your stay. I would definitely go back again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen010
Educat2012, Owner at Sunset Valley Holiday Houses, responded to this review

Thank you Jeroen for your short and sweet review. We enjoyed your visit with us and hope that you do come again, next time for a few days longer so you can get to know our island paradise and fall in love with it as we have.

279 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (244)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
14.4 km away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
14.0 km away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
6.4 km away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 km away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
386 reviews
3.0 km away
The Ocean Residence Langkawi
9.5 km away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sunset Valley is located in the middle of the main island of Langkawi's 99 island archipelago overlooking the beautiful rice paddies with a view to the 500 million year old geological formation and rain forest. Our resort has 6 traditional Malay houses for rent, all with inside and outside living areas, kitchen, veranda, air conditioning and western style luxury bathrooms. There is a swimming pool and pavilion with BBQ facilities in a common area. We also offer breakfast as an optional extra on request. In our little convenience store our guests can buy food and drinks for meal preparation in their own houses. This is especially convenient for late arrivals. We are happy to help and advise our guests choose the most suitable island activities for them. The most popular activities are: snorkeling or scuba diving, mangrove boat tours, luxury boat cruises, island hopping, jungle walking, kayak tours, SPA and massage treatments, and many more.Another great way to discover the island is by car or motorbike which we are happy to book for you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Valley Holiday Houses

Address: Lot 2220 Jalan Makam Mahsuri | Kg Teluk, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Price Range: $106 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Valley Holiday Houses 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset Valley Holiday Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langkawi Holiday Houses - Sunset Valley Hotel Langkawi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Valley Holiday Houses staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Hyderabad, India
Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Valley Holiday Houses staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have their own charm, are spacious and quiet and have a lovely view.”
 of 5 bubbles Marie-FranceGaron, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Talk to the helpful owners who will guide you to the perfect cottage for your situation.”
 of 5 bubbles BeverlyJ161, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose the "Forest House" for family travel”
 of 5 bubbles James_Vanessa, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Garden House is roomy and overlooks the pool, while the two-bedroom Forest House is the best choice for a family of 3 or 4.”
  • The Field House, from a previous visit -- lots of rain, so the grass was super green
  • The spacious front patio of the Paddy House
  • The Paddy House, the oldest kampung house at Sunset Valley
  • This is the Farmer's House at Sunset Valley
  • Looking at the common pavilion and pool from the Paddy House
 of 5 bubbles chadley25, 16 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Field House and Garden house have the best views”
 of 5 bubbles Camereas, 18 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay