We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel

Expedia.comUS$47*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$72*
US$47*
Great Deal
US$49*
US$48*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 265: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went back to KB for a family gathering.. stayed here with my extended family for one night... Lobby and check in was smooth.. My husband had trouble to park the car.. so one of the staff volunteered to help, which I feel like a nice gesture.. Room and toilet was clean… Breakfast spread was adequate and taste good..Overall it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fatin Z
Adrian C, General Manager at Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fatin, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback on your recent stay experience at our hotel. We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay. Your positive comments will be shared among our associates. We also look forward to welcome you back the next time your are in town ! Regards Adrian Cecil

Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

My last visit here was 2003. Now its already 2017. Service was not up to my expectations. There is only 1 bath towel in the room. When i asked for extra towel, they said have to wait till late evening and they dont have extra at the moment bcause hotel.was running full. I am a bit disappointed when there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank imee hezal b
Adrian C, General Manager at Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Imee, First and foremost, thank you for being a return guest and for supporting us. We also appreciate the time you spent to share your feedback on your recent stay at our Hotel. However, we regret that your stay experience was not that satisfying. Please accept our sincere apologies for the setbacks. Meeting our guest’s highest satisfaction has always...

Reviewed 14 March 2017

The hotel is fairly new and the staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable. We were there for only two nights, but it must be the best hotel in town as each morning the movers and shakers of industry and commerce seem to have had breakfast there; or meet for brunch, events and seminars. The location is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert d
Adrian C, General Manager at Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience during your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay and totally pleased with our services. Your positive feedback will be shared among our associates to inspire them to give their best at all times. We also look forward to welcome you back...

johor bahru, Malaysia
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Second visit this year so I'll just jump straight to the points of improvement. Rooms are too cold as you enter, seems like air conditioning is left running for every room, occupied or not. Second amenities in the room are missing, toothbrush kit, bedroom slippers. But the most annoying of all, one that made me whip out my phone to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin Y
Adrian C, General Manager at Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Justin Y, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at our Hotel. We regret that your stay experience was not that satisfying. Please accept our sincere apologies for the setbacks. Your constructive comments have been shared with the relevant department heads and we will ensure that appropriate measures will be taken to...

bayswater
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

I would like to congratulate the hotel management for the excellent service the staffs provide to patrons. We felt so welcomed. From front desk all the way to coffee house... One feedback though, the room floors have a strong musky smell. If they could do something about it, this would be great! Keep up the good job guys! Zulaini is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BayswaterHoliday
Adrian C, General Manager at Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BayswaterHoliday, Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are glad that you had taken the time to share your recent stay experience at our Hotel. It is a great feeling to know that we have managed to meet your expectations in terms of our services. Every one of us here at Renaissance Kota Bharu always strives hard in meeting...

Kuching, Malaysia
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Overall, was very happy with the services by the team. They were very informative and helpful. The room is nice, but I believe that this hotel is quite old, based on the airconds and certain parts of the hotel. It is situated in the central of the city, and there is a shopping center

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AChee74
Adrian C, General Manager at Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AChee74, Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on our Hotel. We are pleased to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us. FYI, our Hotel is in the midst of a renovation process which is being done by stages. Our top priority is to meet our guest’s highest satisfaction, please be rest assured that...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We had a short stay at the Renaissance,nevertheless a wonderful and a memorable one. We would like express our gratitude and thanks to the Management and every one there from the Reception, the driver,the Housekeeping,especially the Chef and everyone in the dining area who ensured that we had enough to eat and forever very attentive to our needs.; Kota Bharu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debgloury
Adrian C, General Manager at Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Debgloury, Thank you for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. It is good to know that you had enjoyed your stay. Your positive comments will be shared among our ambassadors (staff) to inspire them to improve further. We will definitely look forward to welcoming you back ! Best regards Adrian Cecil

Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

The hotel was nice however service need some improvement. Checked in to a room in 10th floor and was given only one towel. Called for additional towel and waited for 30mins and still not delivered. Was told only 4 housekeeping staff on duty but I cannot comprehend why as I only ask for towel. The room water heater is not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CK_Ong8271
Adrian C, General Manager at Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on our Hotel. We regret that you had encountered some unpleasant experiences during your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the setbacks. Meeting our guest’s highest satisfaction has always been our top priority and we regretted that our objective was not met during your recent...

Shah Alam, Malaysia
Reviewed 15 December 2016

I booked two rooms at this hotel for two nights in August 2016. The rooms are large and comfortable. Amenities provided in the room are satisfactory. The check-in and check-out processes were very smooth, efficient and fast. The staff are courteous and helpful, they can provide information regarding the places of interest in Kota Bharu. The breakfast was included with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bbsiqinsr
Adrian C, General Manager at Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your stay experience at our hotel. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable experience for your stay here. Your positive comments will be shared among our team-members to inspire them to provide the best service at all times. It feels good to know that our goal to...

Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Reviewed 6 December 2016

We wanted a slight higher ended hotel in KB and this is one of the two available. The hotel is very clean, neat and tidy in general and the room was spacious and comfy. Amenities provided are adequate and clean. However, I dislike the reason given for a single towel set provided and we had to call for an extra....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nok O
Adrian C, General Manager at Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had enjoyed your stay despite a few setbacks. We will share your positive comments among our associates to further inspire them. On the other hand, please accept our sincere apologies for the setbacks. Please be assured that meeting...

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Bharu
1.2 km away
Hotel Perdana
Hotel Perdana
#1 of 38 in Kota Bharu
363 reviews
2.4 km away
Grand Riverview Hotel
Grand Riverview Hotel
#4 of 38 in Kota Bharu
133 reviews
2.2 km away
Crystal Lodge
Crystal Lodge
#3 of 38 in Kota Bharu
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Tune Hotel Kota Bahru City Centre
40.1 km away
Tok Aman Bali Beach Resort
Tok Aman Bali Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Pasir Puteh
120 reviews
2.2 km away
Crown Garden Hotel
Crown Garden Hotel
#12 of 38 in Kota Bharu
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the rich Malay culture at Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel and the city's only five star international class hotel with premier convention and wedding venue. Conveniently located in the heart of Kota Bharu's commercial and shopping district and also close to the domestic airport. For business or leisure traveler, the 298 spacious accommodation rooms and suites provides world class service and facilities including High Speed Internet, 2 Executive Floors with dedicated Club Lounge,Business Centre, wireless meeting rooms with Grand Ballroom, an on-site event management to create exhibitions, conventions, meetings and most extravagant weddings. The Renaissance Fitness Centre is Kota Bharu's largest gymnasium equipped with latest fitness equipment, steam rooms, sauna, Jacuzzi and a heated outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel

Address: Jalan Sri Kota | Jalan Yahya Petra, Kota Bharu 15100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kelantan > Kota Bharu
Price Range: $74 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel Kelantan
Kota Bharu Renaissance
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Alor Setar, Malaysia
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor rooms probably.”
debgloury, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose rooms at higher floor rooms for good view”
  • King Bedroom
  • Twin Bedroom
bbsiqinsr, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a non-smoking higher-level rooms. You will be liable to a RM1500 penalty if you smoke in a non-smoking room.”
  • December rainy days in KB
noko742, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Away from the road recommended”
robinmT9204VN, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“High level”
mrizal2016, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$47* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$49
Renaissance HotelsUS$48
TripAdvisorUS$48
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates