We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Hotel Excelsior Jalan Sultan Abdul Jalil, Ipoh 30300 Malaysia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (196)
Room & Suite (39)
Dining (34)

About

#21 of 91 hotels in Ipoh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

If you’re looking for a hotel in Ipoh, look no further than Hotel Excelsior Ipoh.

For those interested in checking out popular landmarks while visiting Ipoh, Hotel Excelsior Ipoh is located a short distance from Ipoh Kallumalai Murugan Temple (0.8 mi) and Ipoh Town Hall and Old Post Office (0.8 mi).

Guest rooms offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator, and Hotel Excelsior Ipoh makes getting online easy as free wifi is available.

You can also take advantage of some of the amenities offered by the hotel, including a concierge and room service. In addition, guests can enjoy breakfast during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

During your visit, be sure to check out a popular Ipoh tapas restaurant such as Bricks & Barrels, which is a short distance from Hotel Excelsior Ipoh.

Plus, during your trip, don't forget to check out a natural history museum, such as The Geological Museum.

The staff at Hotel Excelsior Ipoh looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Bottled water
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
320Reviews7Q+A64Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 43
  • 121
  • 96
  • 32
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
RYT wrote a review Dec 2021
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia5 contributions1 helpful vote
For the price that I pay I could get much more. It supposed to be a mid price range hotel but you could get more else where. Can feel that the hotel should be better managed. 1. Very stiff bed with TWO very stiff pillow, it is the first hotel that I cannot sleep the whole night because the pillow was too stiff + very thick. Gave me stiff neck the next morning & ruin your day. Any hotel with experience would not give you TWO very stiff pillow, they mix 1 soft and 1 stiff pillow to cater to more people (and I search the cupboard, no other pillow) 2. I paid more for a hotel with it's own parking, but the parking was full at 8pm just because there is a function going on, was told to park after 10.30pm... 3. On 11th floor you can hear loud karaoke music from hotel ground floor (the function I supposed), that continues till almost 11pm... Who on earth would allow karaoke on ground floor lounge when it can be heard all the way up to 11th floor... I pity those that stay at lower floor. Across the road there is a food court also with loud music till 12am. 4. Cleanliness can be better, the room is not dirty but can feel it's a bit dusty 5. Expose wire next to bathroom sink 6. Though I know it is not guaranteed, it is the first time after I opt for king bed I was told because hotel is full they only have 2 single bed. Very rare for me to experience this. So in short I can't recommend this hotel to anyone. You just would get a lot more with the same price else where.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melvin Jerom, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Responded 28 Feb 2022
Dear RYT, I regret to learn about your less-than-pleasant experience at our hotel and truly appreciate your feedback for this recent visit with us. Please accept our sincere apologies and be assured that your comments regarding the service has been conveyed to the team for immediate action, along with necessary discussion and training with the involved parties. This was not acceptable and in keeping with the service experience you should have been provided. We thank you again for highlighting this to us so we can address this shortcoming. Please let me know the next time you are visiting the hotel so I may meet you in person or if I can assist in anyway. Inspiringly yours, MELVIN FRONT OFFICE MANAGER
Read more
Ella wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
The room fixtures and furniture were old. The cupboard was old too. The bathroom fixtures and tiling are old too. The morning breakfast choices are limited and the papedum served was already not crispy. The food was oily with not much vegetables. The check in process was interrupted by a group of LEO club gang causing delayed check in.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
John wrote a review Mar 2020
Belper, United Kingdom199 contributions104 helpful votes
Best positive was the location,the hotel is pretty dated,and a bit rough around the edges,cleanliness was not bad,nice polite staff,breakfast was above average,the wi-fi was terrible,the town was a bit scruffy,the pubs nearby was very expensive.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Juliecjl wrote a review Jan 2020
Jurong East, Singapore9 contributions8 helpful votes
This four star hotel should be downgraded a few stars. 1) first bug bear on entering the room 815, was the stench of urine. There were no visible signs of urine stains, but I wonder if somebody has just mopped the floor with a urine stained mop. I washed the whole bathroom myself. I am not one to trouble the front desk if it is something I can handle myself. The next day, my bathroom smelled ok. The day after that, it smelled of urine again, so I wondered if the bathroom is mopped every other day... wished they had left it alone. So it was another round of toilet washing for me. 2) the second bug bear was that somebody thought it was a brilliant company policy to blast loud music out of the corridor speakers positioned just outside the room doors. As this was something I could not resolve myself I had to apologetically trouble the reception. After some time, no action was taken so I called again ... and then again. The sound was so loud I could not concentrate on my work. Nor could I get any rest. Finally, a staff appeared at my door, and he he told me that nothing can be, as he does not know where the switch is for turning down or turning off the volume is, and the music is scheduled to go on till 11 pm! The sound stopped for a while and I told him that it seemed that something had been done. He said that they were just in between changing CDs. I was thinking that they should not load the next CD if they don’t know where the switch is! Sure enough, the music came back. As he couldn’t fix the problem, I asked to speak to his manager and asked that he call me, but as expected, nobody called. The next morning, I went down to the front desk and spoke to a lady and she said that it was their company policy to play the music and the staff could not do anything about it. Again, I asked to speak to the manager with a good mind to tell him how to manage a hotel! But he had not turned up for work yet and I had to go out However, there is one waiter Bakiaraj who somewhat saved the face of the hotel. He was ever cheerful and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melvin61, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Responded 19 Jan 2020
Dear Ms. Juliecjl, We hear your concerns and it has been directed to the proper channel. As for the operation hours of the Lobby Music, it has been a policy of the hotel to close within a stipulated time. Other 4 or 5 star hotels surrounding us also practices the same way. Between we did lower the volume as our concern to the guest. All our Manager report to work by 9 am including myself and did checked with my staff and heard that you've left early in the morning. Thank you for your reviews. We apologize again that you were not totally happy on your visit here. We would be pleased if you could grant us another opportunity to serve you again. Melvin Jerom Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
SKH wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
Our two nights stay during end December 2019 in a family unit was an enjoyable and a warmth one in this Hotel Excelsior. We love everything in this hotel, the service, facilities, amenities, etc. Thanks to a dear friend who recommended and booked this hotel on our behalf. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Melvin61, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Responded 7 Jan 2020
Dear SKH, Thank you for your feedback. It is great to know that you had a memorable time here. We look forward to more of your visits. Happy New Year to you and your family! Melvin Jerom Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
Andreas Andi M wrote a review Jan 2020
32 contributions59 helpful votes
This hotel is very good location, rooms are very compare to price. Around the hotel a lots of Dim Sum Restaurants. You can choose, one is Ming Court just behind the hotel. Also around there seafood restaurant and malaysia cuisine . Yummi must try, just 2 hours drive from KL.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Stay on 13th floor, not directly below the ball room.
See more room tips
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Melvin61, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Responded 7 Jan 2020
Dear Andreas Andi M, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you have enjoyed our services and facilities. As we are conveniently located, guests do find our location most satisfying. We are constantly upgrading our service to please our guests as much as possible. Look forward to seeing you back here again soon. Melvin Jerom Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
Xintong C wrote a review Dec 2019
Singapore, Singapore149 contributions41 helpful votes
I have stayed at this hotel for the past 2 years after recommendation from a relative. Initially l was impressed with the cleanliness and other amenities in the room but on my last 2 stays at the hotel, l noticed the cleanliness standard gas dropped drastically.. moulds on toilet walls, strands of hair and stains on the floor.. I won't be going back there until l read better reviews from other guests on future.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melvin61, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Responded 7 Jan 2020
Dear Xintong C, Thank you for your reviews. We appreciate your feedback and has forwarded them to the departments concerned respectively and the matters are being attended to it now. We apologize that you were not totally happy on your visit here. We would be pleased if you could grant us another opportunity to serve you again. Melvin Jerom Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
Bushymartin wrote a review Dec 2019
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia254 contributions53 helpful votes
I have stayed in this hotel a few times now. Considering the nightly charge it is not a bad hotel. Yes it is dated but ok. The location is very central so you can walk to depot parade and many restaurants and massage places. They did forget to put toilet paper in my room. I wish they had face washes but don’t. Just a few little extras would be nice.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melvin61, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Responded 15 Dec 2019
Dear Bushymartin , Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you have enjoyed our services and facilities. As we are conveniently located, guests do find our location most satisfying. We are constantly upgrading our service to please our guests as much as possible. Look forward to seeing you back here again soon Melvin Jerom Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
Jos wrote a review Dec 2019
4 contributions
We booked a family triple sharing room from 8 -12 Dec 2019. Upon check-in on 8 Dec 2018, we tried to call the concierge using the phone in the room (618) but the phone was not working. We went to the concierge to request for a change of room to another one with bath tub (Room 621). After moving into the new room, we could not find any bedroom slippers. There were a lot of ants crawling on the table and on the wall. There is also a strong stench in the room (just like the previous room) especially the wardrobe. While showering my son, we realised the shower hose was leaking water. That’s not the worst. The next morning, 2 red bumps appeared on my thighs. Upon examining, I realised they are bed bug bites (bite marks in the center of the red bumps). The bumps became very itchy in the following days. We felt really uncomfortable staying in the hotel. My husband told the hotel we need to check out due to emergency as we do not trust other rooms in the same hotel anymore. However the hotel advised that they are unable to do a refund. We had to forgo the money we paid for 4 nights. We rang another hotel and luckily they still have rooms available and we moved over immediately. We didn’t take a lot of photos as we left in a hurry and we left my son’s rubber duckies as well. Enclosed the photo of the room, sofa and the bed bug bites.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Melvin61, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Responded 15 Dec 2019
Dear Joseline, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate and value all comments we receive from our guests. Your request for bed room slippers could have been rectified on the spot if you could have told us earlier and we could sent it to your room immediately. Besides that, all your other concerns have been directed to the department respectively and is being looked into seriously. We hope that you can give us another opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Ipoh. Melvin Jerom Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
Has H wrote a review Nov 2019
31 contributions4 helpful votes
This is our first time in excelsior Ipoh hotel. We booked a family room and don't like the room. Pros Ample parking space Prompt service Cons -musky smell in room -blind in toilet was almost failing off, dangerous for my kids - curtain coming off -peeling wall paper -stained bedsheet -doorbel not working The maintenance guys came promptly to fix problems but it took almost 40 mins to rectify the problem. We were very tired by then. We managed to change room in the end. We booked five rooms in total.Verdict Dont recommend this hotel and not likely for us to come again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Melvin61, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Responded 8 Dec 2019
Dear Has H, Thank you for your feedback. We take every comment seriously and all concerns here have been directed to the respective departments. We do hope that this does not deter you from visiting us again. Melvin Jerom Assistant Front Office Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$30 - US$40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaPerakKinta DistrictIpoh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
197
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Excelsior Ipoh?
Nearby attractions include D.R. Seenivasagam Park (0.3 km), Ipoh Parade Shopping Centre (0.4 km), and Church of St. Michael (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Excelsior Ipoh?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Excelsior Ipoh?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Excelsior Ipoh?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Excelsior Ipoh?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Excelsior Ipoh?
Conveniently located restaurants include Yuk Sou Hin, Pusing Public Seafood Restaurant, Seafood, and Aun Kheng Lim Salted Chicken.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Excelsior Ipoh?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Excelsior Ipoh offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Excelsior Ipoh?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Gua Tambun Rock Art (6.7 km) and Tin Alley (0.9 km).
Is Hotel Excelsior Ipoh accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.