We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Georgetown City Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Georgetown City Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

402 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Georgetown City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 356: English reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

Dn expect much. It's Jz a old hotel which allow u to have ur rest after a day. But it's cheap and service staff still doing their best to make u confer table. Try uber if u guys trying to get to other place. Not to forget around the hotel there had the places call Thai Buddhist temple

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Child S
Abuja, Abuja Capital Territory, Nigeria
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

The hotel is situated at the heart of Georgetown, just 5 minutes walk from a shopping mall. The rooms are well planned but needs upgrade for luxuries. The wifi signal is poor The restaurant is small and a bit stuffy, but the food is good! Overall, I'd say it's convenient for a day's stay when you have no time for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad S
devsinghgch, General Manager at Georgetown City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ahmad S, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards. We are pleased to know that your overall experience with us was satisfying and that you enjoyed our food and location of the hotel....

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Walkable distance to the famous New Cathy coffee shop, gurney plaza as well as gurney paragon but old facilities, and the breakfast weren't great. You can hear loud music in the night as there was a nightclub/pub downstairs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kudos16traveller
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 23 May 2016

The bathtub have a stains,very old hotel need to renovation. Didn't supply slipper. When we check in told us the WIFI only available in Lobby. In the room have no WIFI. But I search in room, that is a WIFI, the receptions refuse to give me the password.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chowmk
devsinghgch, General Manager at Georgetown City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear chowmk, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards. We apologize that you had a poor experience with us. With respect to the conditions present in the room, I have forwarded your comments onto...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 20 May 2016

The hotel look and feel is very old,the rooms are just ok. The worst is when I asked for Dental Kit they told its chargeable.The hotel is expensive with not the best views or service.I would not recommend this to anyone.The bathroom had stains and wifi never worked.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aan1310
devsinghgch, General Manager at Georgetown City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aan1310, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards. Please accept my apologies for your unpleasant experience. We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping staff to ensure all guest rooms...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 18 May 2016

I checked in to Georgetown city hotel on 5/17/16. The room that i was given was yet to be desired. A/C was not working 27C and was not very clean. I ask for a fan and I tried to work will the front desk and I could not get the answer that i wanted. I was about to seek for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jsiu56
devsinghgch, General Manager at Georgetown City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jsiu56, We are delighted to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay at Georgetown City Hotel. Our goal is to always ensure we provide exceptional service to all our guests. We appreciate your acknowledging our staff and I will definitely pass your comments on our staffs' friendliness, level of service and also their response to your needs, to...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

Too small room, bath tub not clean. Almost broken chair.good staff.good location.7/11 is next to the hotel.over all I expected the min basic things but this lacked.television was non functional initially with local basic channels

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank leovive
devsinghgch, General Manager at Georgetown City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear leovive, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards. We apologize that you were not pleased with your room. As the hotel is older, it is well maintained by our staff as we have...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 16 May 2016

This hotel had definitely seen better days, and some of its facilities are a bit rundown as well. First experience of the hotel was at the carpark entrance - our car was kept waiting for at least 15 minutes because the ticket machine was unable to dispense a ticket. And then, upon parking, there wasn't sufficient signage to point to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
devsinghgch, General Manager at Georgetown City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charles C, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We will look into the issues you have raised attentively. We value your patronage and...

Reviewed 29 April 2016 via mobile

Room was good, clean and tidy, is old, it's time to do some renovation. Buffet at the hotel is very nice, it's worth a shot! The excellent attitude of the staff, and polite! Location approximately 15 minutes away from the city. Nearby are supermarkets and 7-11.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie_kikyo
devsinghgch, General Manager at Georgetown City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kikyo L, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards. We are delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and the services extended by my team exceeded your expectations....

Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

Service is not bad from the hotel receptionist. But the facilities is very bad. Design quite old. Shower until halfway then no water. Aircond not cold enough and television is so old model. Extremely difficult to switch on no matter how hard I press on the remote control. Won't consider to stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jiahui K
devsinghgch, General Manager at Georgetown City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jiahui K, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards. I will share your comments to the team as this will act as positive encouragement as they endeavour to offer the highest level of...

267 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (245)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (77)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
1.7 km away
The Northam All Suite Penang
The Northam All Suite Penang
#35 of 79 in George Town
446 reviews
1.2 km away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#27 of 79 in George Town
706 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Royal Penang
Hotel Royal Penang
#45 of 79 in George Town
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
3.2 km away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#20 of 79 in George Town
984 reviews
3.0 km away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Home to discerning business and leisure travellers, the Berjaya Penang Hotel is conveniently located as part of the lively ‘1-Stop Midlands Park’ business and entertainment centre. With enchanting cultures, heritage and tantalizing food all around, the Penang Island also heralds in a golden opportunity to make business a true pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Georgetown City Hotel

Address: 1 Stop Midlands Park, Burmah, George Town, Penang Island 10350, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Penang Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Price Range: $58 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Georgetown City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Georgetown City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Hotel Georgetown
Georgetown City Hotel Penang/George Town
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Georgetown City Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Jakarta, Indonesia

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Georgetown City Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There have sea view and shopping mall nearby.”
 of 5 bubbles Sharon_Kheoh94, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for sea view room... It worth seeing.”
 of 5 bubbles ummusaadahzubir, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the higher floor the better”
  • inside wardrobe
  • electricity box
 of 5 bubbles VeraV803, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask a room with sea view, and bring your own toothbrush, tooth-paste and shampoo.”
 of 5 bubbles siicad, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room minus breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles ykh_malaysia, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay