We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cititel Penang

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cititel Penang
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,023 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cititel Penang
See the most recent reviews
Showing 880: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Just came back with my 2 nights stayed with Cititel. I made a booking through their hotel website and there was promotion of 10% discount with at least 2 nights stay. Extra bed can be requested through their online booking as well at 70RM/night. I feel that this is quite cheap priced. The exterior appearance of Cititel looks quite normal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vieon
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. It is indeed very heartening to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Cititel Penang. My team and I truly appreciate your kind comments about our hotel facilities and services and look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Cititel Penang soon. Thank you once again for...

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Cititel hotel, Georgetown. We took an airport taxi to our hotel in Georgetown. First impressions were of a large reception area with a distinct smell of tobacco. Check-in was quick and the receptionist pleasant, offering to provide local advice or access to tour guides if required. Using our key card as additional security, We took the lift to the 18th...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mythos_1969
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang . Thank you for taking the time to write and for sharing the experience of staying with us – I have taken note of the lingering smoke smell in the hotel and am in the midst of reviewing the non-smoking policy in the hotel. My sincere apologies for the discomfort and hope that...

Fremantle
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have just returned from four nights at this hotel and were really impressed. We stayed in a Deluxe room with great views, the room was very well equipped and a reasonable size. If you enjoy a good start to the day the breakfast buffet will not dissapoint, with a choice of western, asian, continental and japanese options all very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank samandfee
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. My sincere thanks for your kind and gracious compliments of our services and facilities during your recent stay at Cititel Penang – they are truly appreciated. It is always gratifying to learn that we have exceeded your expectations during your stay - I will share your kind comments with my team, especially our...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Booked online with hotel directly, am quite happy with their reservation staff as they replied to my queries efficiently and were very helpful to assist me on other stuff. When we arrived at the hotel driveway, there's no one to help us unload the luggages. The hotel lobby was quite impressive and looks very classy. Checking in was fast. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blessedwoman08
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay with us and appreciate your kind words about our Reservations team. My sincere apologies for the lack of attention upon your arrival – please be assured that this is not our usual standards of service that we maintain here...

SELANGOR
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I stay at Cititel Penang at least once every year for the past six or seven years, at least. This year, I was there for five nights in late March. I will be there again for three nights in early April. The greatest improvement I have noticed is in staff efficiency. Check-in is now faster and smoother. Staff are friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yeongml
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Mr Yeong Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you very much for your continued support and for staying with us when you are in Penang. Thank you for your gracious comments about our services and hotel facilities and kindly allow me to explain our online reservations policy; as with other online reservations system, the rates online are relatively much...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Booked online 3 rooms and stayed 2 nights with a group of friends. We managed an early check-in which was quick and smooth. Reception staff were prompt and helpful, including contacting a doctor for us. Stayed on non-smoking, high floor with good views. Wi-fi was ok. Wide selection for a buffet breakfast. Very good location, short walking distance to amenities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EvelynC180
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. It is wonderful to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind and gracious comments about our facilities, services and location. My team members and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit and our sincere thanks once again for sharing...

Wodonga, Australia
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We arrived about 11.00am and entered the reception all 5 star we checked in and they advised us that our room was not ready and would be about 2 hours which was fine as we were early so the concierge took our luggage andf gave us directions and a map and went shopping. Our room was ready on return and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm505
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang! I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Penang and thank you very much for taking the time to write in. My apologies that our Room Service fell short of your expectations – I’ve spoken to our Chef and our Kitchen team about this shortfall. Please be assured that...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel. We paid extra for a room facing the sea and it is worthy for the upgrade. Every morning you'll see the sea with boats and ships passing through. The stuffs were all very friendly and helpful and always have smiles to greet you. It is conveniently located and a free shuttle stop is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank callesmanlaw
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. It is indeed a delight to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. My team members and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit and our sincere thanks once again for sharing your experience with us. With best wishes and kind regards, Tony Goh...

Timbuktu, Mali
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I was quite disappointed when the cab approached the hotel cos it looked pretty small and rather nondescript. But all that changed with the terrific reception at the concierge. Check-in was quick and smooth and before we know it, we were led to our room. We stayed at the deluxe room and if I'm not wrong, it was recently renovated....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ValiantValium
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you so much for writing in to share your thoughts – I am so pleased to note that you have had a most enjoyable stay here and my sincere thanks for your kind and gracious comments about our hotel team members and the service rendered. It is always gratifying to know that...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 26 March 2013

At first it was a reluctant choice - I did it because everywhere else was packed and got pricier. I saw the pictures in the internet and they really felt 90's-ish. When I was at the hotel passed the reception area and into the room, the whole place gave me a feeling that what ever it may not possess in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Davitowalker
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang! It is most heartening to note that you have enjoyed your stay here - thank you very much for your positive comments and for your kind words about our services, facilities and location, which are most appreciated. Thank you for recommending Cititel Penang and my team and I look forward to welcoming you...

982 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (552)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
View from Room (86)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (121)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (216)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (400)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Deluxe Heritage View Room (54)
Viewed
Executive Suite Seaview Room (93)
Viewed
Indoor Pool & Jacuzzi (14)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Standard Heritage View Room (38)
Viewed
Superior Seaview Room (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 km away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.0 km away
Cititel Express Penang
Cititel Express Penang
#29 of 82 in George Town
221 reviews
1.3 km away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#16 of 82 in George Town
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#23 of 82 in George Town
962 reviews
1.2 km away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#22 of 82 in George Town
740 reviews
1.1 km away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport, 5 minutes drive to Penang Ferry terminal, 5-10 minutes walk to nearby tourist attractions such as street arts and UNESCO heritage trails, 15-minutes walk to Chowrasta market and Mydin Hypermarket, 20-minutes walk to Komtar/Prangin Mall/1st Avenue Mall, 20-minutes walk to Esplanade/Beach Street and the Red Garden Hawker Centre is located just opposite the hotel. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Address: 66 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Price Range: $63 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cititel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 451
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown
Cititel Penang George Town
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cititel Penang staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Cititel Penang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room on the high floor facing the sea is more relaxing”
 of 5 bubbles lmakk109, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request for sea view room”
 of 5 bubbles seaton188, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 1615 very high floor for non smokers and with good seaview”
 of 5 bubbles KiKi2148, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a room on the 6th floor (non smoking floor) with a view of the sea. It was great.”
 of 5 bubbles kaleselvirajoo, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Select rooms away from the main traffic areas”
 of 5 bubbles hod799, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5