We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,015: English reviews
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Perfect retreat. Food quality was not as good as Penang's street food Improvements can be made. Buffet breakfast was good and would taste better if the local dishes are not sweet. If the hotel could introduce tour buses it will be great

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LeoSeg
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear LeoSeg, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for your lovely review and for rating us 5/5. I have taken note of your comments on the food quality versus street food and Yes, we will certainly try to improve on this. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Lawrence Perera Hotel Manager

Ipoh, Malaysia
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My first time stay at the Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang was not an memorable one. I had to wait about 45 mins before I was checked-in at the Reception. The excuse was, shortage of staff. But this is unacceptable to a tired guest. It may be the holidays, but there must be anticipation on part of the Hotel management.The walls...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeyasingam R
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Jeyasingam R, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for posting your review of your recent stay with us. I do apologize for the wait in room which I will look into ways of trying to overcome the wait during peak times. As for the "durian" issue, we have place notices to advise guests that durians...

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a trip touring Penang. The hotel was ideally located for us; within walking distance to the Old Town, other tourist attractions and shops and restaurants. We stayed in a Standard Double Room on the 10th floor and paid £38 per night B&B for a couple. The room was very spacious and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cetra14
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Centra14, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for your in-depth review of your recent stay with us. I am glad that overall you had a nice stay with us enjoying the nice room & facilities provided. I will have a look at the Wi-Fi service that you had mentioned as we have engaged 3 x...

Klang, Malaysia
Reviewed 5 June 2014

hotel centrally located in georgetown area. walking distance to all place. room quite nice. very friendly staff, really appreciated that. wifi,swimming pool and gym just okay. just if they improve the parking area then it will be perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Khairul_11
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Khairul_11, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for your nice review. I am glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Lawrence Perera Hotel Manager

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed here for only one night unfortunately during a business trip. The hotel room was big and clean with large TV and a sea view. The hotel offered a buffet style breakfast with freshly prepared egg based options which was nice. Although I did not try the revolving restaurant on the roof it did look good with a nice bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Damian G
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Damian G, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for your nice review. I am glad that you had and enjoyable stay with us with our large clean room & amenities and the nice buffet breakfast served every morning. It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon....

Singapore
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Considering the price, we would definitely return for stay. The rooms are big and with great view. The toilets in the room isn't well decorated to provide the ambiance but it serves its function well, The location of the hotel is great! Close to the heart of most location and public transport is easily available. There are also many restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ToiletbowlJustin
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear ToiletbowlJustin, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for your nice review. I am glad that you had and enjoyable stay with us. I would be most appreciative if you could message me your room number so that I can get my IT to check on the Wi-Fi AP that is transmitting the signal to your...

Brixham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2014

It was the perfect place to finish our holiday in Asia. We had superior rooms adjoining which was really useful. They were big and spacious, spotless and had a great view, although they are building a new complex directly in front. Our son loved the pool so much it was hard to get him out and the most I saw...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Sophie H, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for your excellent review and for giving us a 5/5 ratings. I am happy that your family especially your son had a great time & enjoyed the stay with us. I have taken note of your comments over the coffee and I will see what I can...

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 2 June 2014

One of the unpleasant stays in any hotel ever. the breakfast is absolutely lousy with minimum staff service and courtesy. In the middle of the night I found a rat in my room and when I complained, the staff and security who came to my room to check, said its my illusion and it was not a rat. The rat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vikash k
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear vikash k, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown. First and foremost, my since apologies for the poor experience that you had encountered during your stay with us. A report had been made by housekeeping on your sightings and the professionals from the pest control company was immediately engaged investigate. Please let me assure you that all our kitchen follows a...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The best thing about the Bayview is that it situated conveniently to most things you'd want to do, see or eat in Penang. It's close to the Blue Mansion, Jalan Penang, Museum and a number of historic buildings including a series of churches, the high court and Fort Cornwallis. It's also far enough away from the backpacker district (Lebuh Chulia)...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank sonstar1705
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear sonstar1705, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you very much for your lovely review and I apologize for the "wrong" information given to you with regards to the "101" bus stop. We are in the midst of refreshing all our Superior & Standard rooms and I am sure that you will be pleased with the "new" rooms once...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I am having seminar in bayview hotel Georgetown Penang for 2days (31/05 & 01/06/2014), i stay in hotel for 3 nite. Sad to say, I requesting for non smoking room but they still give me the smoking room. When I request to change the next day, they keep telling me fully book from 8.30am until 5.30pm. No newspaper giving. Corporate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherinesss
bhgpg, General Manager at Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review

Dear Catherinesss, Greetings from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that we could accommodate your request for a non-smoking room as we were indeed running full house the 2 dates that you had mentioned. If you could message me on the "shortcomings" of the conference arrangements so that I...

930 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (505)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (85)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
View from Room (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (160)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (415)
Viewed
Amenities (63)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (40)
Viewed
Family Room (49)
Viewed
Grand Deluxe Room (40)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
Superior Room (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (73)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
1.4 km away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.4 km away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#20 of 84 in George Town
1,034 reviews
1.0 km away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
1,012 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.7 km away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#18 of 84 in George Town
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An award winning hotel for business or leisure. Hotel accommodation, food & beverage services, meeting facilities, banquet function. BAYVIEW HOTEL GEORGETOWN PENANG actively pursues opportunities to provide customer with creative, flexible and value-added promotions which meet your evolving needs in today's travel budget. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang

Address: Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 25A Lebuh Farquhar, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Price Range: $59 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room at Level 10 provides a bird's eye-view of Georgetown”
siewfongl2015, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“water views available”
rick_81_au, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms with a partial 'sea view' still have a good view”
C2668EDjenniferr, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother to come if you drive a car”
Ray5, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you tell the hotel if you want a smoking or non smoking room”
490marke, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5