We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Lot 2-5, Block A, Sutera Avenue Jalan Sembulan, Kota Kinabalu 88100 Malaysia
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Early Bird with Breakfast
Expedia.com
US$64
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/12/22
Booking.com
US$70
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/12/22
Agoda.com
US$48
View deal
Hotels.comUS$64
Official SiteUS$67
TravelocityUS$64
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (7)

About

#38 of 179 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the heart of Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia, The LUMA Hotel prides itself on being the hotel that cares for KK the most,giving travelers an escape from the hustle and bustle of the city.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Breakfast buffet
Happy hour
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Umbrella
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Walk-in shower
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Malay
Hotel links
Special Rate:Early Bird with Breakfast
14Reviews11Q+A3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 10
  • 1
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
PG_Cumbus wrote a review Oct 2022
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia193 contributions102 helpful votes
+1
Stylish boutique business stay for Kota Kinabalu, located on the right side of town for the airport and also within 5 minutes walk to the new shopping/commercial hub in town (Gleneagles/Imago/Riverson) Rooms are immaculate, stylish and luxuriously kitted out. I had a minor issue with the Nespresso machine in my room - but this was fixed immediately and professionally. Reception staff are excellent and the lobby exudes calming vibes with the piped in aromatherapy. The hotel is known for its F&B outlets, especially the cool Jojo's Bar. The hotel is also located in a building complex (Sutera Avenue) with excellent dining options - such as Awan Restobar (good food with sunset view). The included breakfast was OK - nothing to shout about - the best thing being the basket of buttery croissants. Overall - unless you definitely need a pool - this is a top notch choice for a short business stay in KK
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Bring a water bottle as the hotel provides water dispensers on every floor. Quieter rooms...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The LUMA Hotel, Marketing at The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels
Responded 27 Oct 2022
Dear Pep G, Warmest Greetings from The LUMA Hotel. Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us through this review. It was our pleasure to have you with us during your recent visit. We are glad to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and received outstanding service. The team will be delight to see this positive reviews. We look forward to your next visit and till then, safe travels always.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rhinorceros wrote a review May 2022
Singapore, Singapore63 contributions13 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
The only hotel in DesignHotelsTM group in Borneo island! The lobby and room design, coffee, cocktail and food quality is probably the best you'll find in Sabah and its at par with Singapore standards. The hotel doesn't just give you the environment of a design hotel, great coffee, bespoke cocktails, delicious food but it also offers true Sabahian hospitality that you will not experience anywhere else. As soon as I arrived, one of the hotel owners personally came and greeted me and spend his time to give me a tour and explain the concept of the hotel and its design. The design of the hotel is influenced by different Sabahian landscapes and local craftsmanship depicted through contemporary means. Materials and craft is all sourced locally. I had the chance to meet both the owners and their hospitality was unprecedented. They took their time to get to know me and introduce Sabah and its culture. Something that you will not experience at big chain hotels. The LUMA is a brand new hotel group. There will always be room for improvement in their services. The willingness to improve is there and they listen if you have any complaints or needs.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The LUMA Hotel, Marketing at The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels
Responded 16 Jun 2022
Dear Rhinorceros, Warm Greetings from The LUMA Hotel! Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us through this review. It was our pleasure to have you here with us during your recent visit and glad to know that you were pleased with our property and service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Until we meet again, safe travels always.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
siokjin wrote a review Sep 2022
Kajang, Malaysia328 contributions93 helpful votes
+1
The good about this hotel: Big and comfortable, clean room Complimentary fruits, espresso and coffee in the room Nice sofa and seating area in the room making it spacious Toilet, shower and bathtub are all separated Lighting is good and warm Water dispenser of coway is available outside the room The not so good: Lacked a stand-alone hotel facility because it is sort of shop based The lift to each floors can be confusing Breakfast is mediocre and short of variety. Extremely simple breakfast menu Location is a bit isolated from malls and nightlife except for Imago shopping centre which is about 10 mins walk across the main road Parking is charged daily and getting in and out of the basement car park can be troublesome Verdict: I will return to stay if it’s a business trip but perhaps not for a family retreat
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The LUMA Hotel, Marketing at The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels
Responded 27 Sep 2022
Dear siokjin, Warmest Greetings from The LUMA Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us through this review. We are glad to know that you were satisfied with the hotel's cleanliness and the amenities provided. Your feedback regarding the breakfast is well noted, we will look into this and improve accordingly. Just sharing some information when you are back for a business trip, the hotel is located nearby the city center which takes around 10 minutes drive to Suria Shopping Mall and Waterfront (nightlight) and around 10 minutes drive to Kota Kinabalu International Airport. Kindly approach to our colleague at the front desk as we will be very happy to share more information with you during your next trip. Wishing you a wonderful day ahead and hope to see you around the hotel soon. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
paulynyyy wrote a review Sep 2022
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia1948 contributions437 helpful votes
+1
We stayed for two nights. When we arrived after a 2-1/2 hour drive from Kundasang, we were greeted with a nice scent in lobby area which was soothing for me. Check-in was quick and we were able to get to our double-bedded room in a jiffy. The room was equipped with the amenities of a 5-star hotel; capsule coffee machine, slow drip coffee, bathtub and shower, bathrobe and slippers, the plate of local fruits etc. With 2 adults and 2 children, we feel that the room is spacious for us. We had good sleep for the two nights. Parking is chargeable, however, the hotel does offer daily parking rate at cheaper price. There are two convenience stores next to this hotel and Imago shopping mall is about 8-10 minutes walk away. The staff are courteous and eager to help. This hotel ticks all the boxes. Worth coming back if I'm back in Kota Kinabalu.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The LUMA Hotel, Marketing at The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels
Responded 21 Sep 2022
Dear paulynyyy, Warmest Greetings from The LUMA Hotel. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us through this review. We are beyond glad to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here and received outstanding service. We are honored to receive these acknowledgements and the team will be delight to see this positive review. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to another chance to having you and your family here with us again. Till then, safe travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
petersjsim wrote a review May 2022
Tawau, Malaysia1984 contributions148 helpful votes
+1
The rooms and hotel facilities are well designed and decorated. The staffs are friendly and helpful. A bit disappointed as one of her attractions, the rooftop garden, was not accessible during my stay. Surprise to learn that house guests need to pay for car parking.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Plenty of eateries at the area, just step out of the hotel there are many choices. Having a car...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The LUMA Hotel, Marketing at The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels
Responded 16 Jun 2022
Dear petersjsim, Warm Greetings from The LUMA Hotel. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are pleased to know that you were happy with our service and we do our best to meet our guests' needs. We sincerely apologize to the inconvenience that has caused you regarding the accessible to the rooftop and the charges for the carpark. Despite the situations that you have encountered, we hope that you flew back with great memories and we look forward to welcome you back again soon. Until we meet again, safe travels always.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cheryl Tsen wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Staff were very friendly, the design of the hotels and room very nice and stylish, room is clean. Rooms and Bed very comfort....like their bathroom very much. Hahahaha and also especially with their super nice breakfast....nice coffee and croissant 🥐.... The best coffee in town. Definitely will come again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The LUMA Hotel, Marketing at The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels
Responded 16 Jun 2022
Dear Extraordinary67741, Warm Greetings from The LUMA Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We truly appreciate your compliments regarding the hotel's design, room cleanliness, food and coffee. We will definitely be sharing this review with the team. Wishing you a wonderful day ahead and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Until we meet again, safe travels always.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ming明 wrote a review Apr 2022
台灣31 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
The room is confortable and new. The best service by the employees. The details of the hotel are so nice.Shopping mall is close to the hotel, I will choose this one in next time. 酒店的房間很棒又新, 員工的服務很好. 酒店內有很多小細節做得很深得人心, 從酒店到購物廣場距離也很近, 下次我還是會選擇預定這酒店.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The LUMA Hotel, Marketing at The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels
Responded 16 Jun 2022
Dear Venture804239, Warm Greetings from The LUMA Hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us through this review. We are happy to know that you are satisfied with the service provided and the hotel's design. Thank you for choosing us again in the near future. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon. Until we meet again, safe travels always.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
潔晞 陳 wrote a review Apr 2022
Taipei, Taiwan6 contributions
A great design hotel with cozy atmosphere. When you stay in the hotel that you can really feel all the details. Very close to the shopping mall with convenient location. A reasonable price for a new hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The LUMA Hotel, Marketing at The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels
Responded 16 Jun 2022
Dear Trail779857, Warm Greetings from The LUMA Hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us through this review and glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here. We looking forward to having you with us again. Till then, safe travels!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy chen wrote a review Apr 2022
New Taipei, Taiwan10 contributions
+1
This is a newly opened hotel in the city center. The location is very good. It is very convenient for shopping and eating. It is also very close to my business trip. The hotel room is very comfortable, you can get enough rest, you feel at home, the attitude of the service staff is also very good, the breakfast is not bad, I will visit again next time.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The LUMA Hotel, Marketing at The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels
Responded 16 Jun 2022
Dear Andyoleole, Warm Greetings from The LUMA Hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with us through this review. We're happy to know that you like the hotel's room and also satisfied with the service and breakfast provided. We look forward to your next visit. Till then, safe travels!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MineUae wrote a review Apr 2022
UAE6 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
Stayed at The Luma hotel in their Palm Marvelous room in March 2022 during a recent business trip. Location wise it's just across the street from Imago shopping mall so it's convenient if you needed to get anything quickly. It's probably one of the most instagrammable hotel in KK. You'll find very nook and corner great for photo taking, but the place is not just designed for good photos, the furniture is actually comfortable to sit on. It's a hotel I'd like to come back to for R&R after a long business meeting and I wouldn't want to go out because both the cafes and the restaurant offer great food and drinks too. In terms of the room, it's designed for guests' comfort. There was a diffuser in the room with pre-filled water & essential oils so you could come back to a relaxing room after a long day. Amenities such as an espresso machine, high-quality bathrobe, towels, and essential oils infused shampoo and conditioner are great for travelers looking for a comfortable stay away from home. Verdict: I'd come back to The Luma again the next time I visit KK.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from The LUMA Hotel, Marketing at The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels
Responded 16 Jun 2022
Dear MineUae, Warm Greetings from The LUMA Hotel. Thank you so much for the wonderful review of the hotel. We are happy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here and so honored to receive these compliments regarding the location, hotel's design, food and beverage provided and room amenities. It was our utmost pleasure and we do our best to meet our guests' needs. Please do come back again in the near future as we will be very happy to have you here again! Till then, safe travels.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$50 - US$65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MalaysiaSabahWest Coast DivisionKota Kinabalu DistrictKota Kinabalu
NUMBER OF ROOMS
115
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE LUMA HOTEL A MEMBER OF DESIGN HOTELS (S̶$̶8̶4̶) S$65: UPDATED 2022 Reviews, Price Comparison and 108 Photos (Kota Kinabalu, Sabah) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels
Which popular attractions are close to The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels?
Nearby attractions include Imago Shopping Mall (0.4 km), Escapee (0.4 km), and Sullys Bar (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels?
Conveniently located restaurants include SOULed OUT Kota Kinabalu, Camaca, and Vino Vino Bistro.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Malay.
Are there any historical sites close to The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Monsopiad Cultural Village (8.8 km).