We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
See the most recent reviews
Showing 267: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

This was a leisure holiday trip with my medical collegues. At first I was a little worried upon seeing the exterior of the building. Seemed a bit worned out as in the paint but do not judge the hotel based on that. It provides you every bit of luxury feel you would ever need. Uncle Jeffry, the door keeper with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrakashVos26
Krishnan M, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Dear PrakashVos26, Greetings from Hotel Shangri-la Kota Kinabalu! Many thanks for staying with us recently and we are pleased to know you had a good time here in KK and the hotel. Your generous comment is very much appreciated and it motivates us to be consistent and improve further. Thank you once again and do call me if I could...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Seriously, this is Shangri-La??! Tremendously dissappointed. When I got to my room, the door was ajar and I don't feel safe at all in this hotel. To make matters worst, someone on my floor had brought in durians and the smell premeated through the air vent into my room. Had to leave my room, can't stand the smell.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adiwati Z
Krishnan M, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Dear Ms Adiwati, Greetings from Hotel Shangri La Kota Kinabalu! Firstly I would like to thank you for staying with recently. Though you did not enjoy your stay with us, I hope you had a good time in KK. Just a small refresher, we are not a grand 5 star hotel as you had preceived. Actually we are a small...

Malaysia
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Booked 2 nights at Shangri-la in late Oct. It is an old hotel so do expect an old fashioned furnitures. Room was a bit too small for two maybe there should change the concept a bit. Though the room is clean. Suits for the business traveller due to good location. Breakfast is just average. Overall the hotel is just average...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catniss310
Krishnan M, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Dear Catniss310, Greetings from Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu! Thank you for staying with us recently and giving us your valauable feedback. You are definitely spot on with regard to an aging hotel. That having said, our positives are on cleanliness and maintenance of the property. My team does put in lots of work in making sure the property is in...

Epping, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Stayed a week during a trip to Sabah and Sawarak - and used the hotel as a base for travelling in KK and wider. Some plus points are that staff were friendly and the hotel is convienient for walkinga round KK and car park was useful. However, the rooms were tired and at the front of the hotel noisy as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Underground_boy
Krishnan M, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Dear Underground_boy, Greetings from Hotel Shangri-La! Thank you for staying with us and taking your valuable time in giving us your feedback. It's very much appreciate as it helps us to improve where possible. I have taken note of your constructive comments on a few areas and definetely some of it is in our plans for improvement. Thank you for...

UK
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Stayed for 2 nights and the hotel was very good value. I have no hesitation in recommending it as a place for a short stay in KK. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was large, comfortable and clean. The location is great with plenty of shops and places to eat nearby and the waterfront in easy walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tgrafton
Krishnan M, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Dear tgrafton, Greetings from Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu! Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and we are pleased to know you had a good stay in KK. Your positive feedback on the hotel especially it's cleanliness, spacious rooms and location is very much appreciated. Comments such as this gives us further motivation to do better. Thank you...

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Big rooms, central area, you can walk to many different places in a short time (about ten minutes to waterfront or to the Gaya street Sunday market) and ok rates for the room, lil old bathtub, just don't get breakfast its terrible, but you can get the room cheaper with no breakfast!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mário R
Krishnan M, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Dear Mr Mario, Thank you for choosing Hotel Shangri-La for your stay here in KK. Hope you had a enjoyed time here. I have taken note of your excellent comments on the location of the hotel and proximity to most areas. As for areas of improvement, I will definitely review this with my team. Thank you once again for your...

Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

The breakfast was great the room is very clean but the outlet is our problem, struggle to charge and add more channel .Local people in kota sometimes they give wrong info. Thanks to the staff of this hotel(front office associate) they give correct info Isaac and fitri. The best of the staff is HASRIN he just like our friend he...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adam L
Krishnan M, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Dear Mr Adam L, Greetings from Hotel Shangri-la Kota Kinabalu! Many thanks for staying with us recently and we are pleased to know you had a good time here in KK and our hotel. Your excellent feedback on the hotel especially it's cleanliness and breakfast is very much appreciated and it motivates us to do better. As for the power...

Gili Trawangan, Indonesia
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights. very comfortable bed and pillows! Limited cable but who cares. No pool. Wifi spotty in room but works well in cafe and lobby. Excellent staff, very helpful. Can walk about anywhere. A very good breakfast buffet with both western and Asian foods. Omelette made to order and some good soups. Some items not kept warm on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trude57
Krishnan M, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Dear Trude57, Greetings from Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu! Thank you for staying with us recently and taking your valuable time to give your valued feedback. I am happy to get your good feedback on our associates services, room condition and selection of breakfast. I have also taken note of warm food being served and we will work to improve on...

Selangor
Reviewed 4 October 2016

The room was hillview, but it does not matter. It is clean, well maintained and big enough for us to add an extra bed. The hotel staff are friendly, well versed. We asked for an extra bed upon check in and there was no hassle. Mr Jeffrey - the concierge is a very helpful and nice person.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Foxxed_my
Krishnan M, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Dear Foxxed_my, Greetings from Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu! Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and we are happy to know you had a good time in KK. We feel good to receive your excellent feedback on the hotel especially it's cleanliness, room space and services. I will also relay your kind words to Jeffrey as comments like...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

For a big hotel where the standards were high the staff here were very relaxed. I mean that in a good way. The were efficient and friendly but you could tell they were relaxed about it, not that false smile because the supervisor is watching. We genuinely felt very welcome which is a nice change from a lot of 5*...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank underwater_is_best1
Krishnan M, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madam, Thank you for choosing Hotel Shangri-La for your stay here in KK. Hope you had a enjoyed time here. I have taken note of your comments and we will definitely work on our improvement . Thank you once again do contact me if I could be of any assistance to you in the future. Regards Krishnan

224 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (206)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 90 in Kota Kinabalu
1,121 reviews
0.6 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 90 in Kota Kinabalu
1,939 reviews
2.2 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 90 in Kota Kinabalu
579 reviews
0.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 90 in Kota Kinabalu
1,239 reviews
0.3 km away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#9 of 90 in Kota Kinabalu
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, situated in the heart of business district and entertainment spot offers comfortable yet affordable accommodation with panoramic view of Kota Kinabalu City. Located 10 minutes away from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and is walking distance to an array of restaurants serving sumptuous cuisines such as Japanese, Thai, Chinese, Indian, Malay and Seafood. It's central location makes it easily accessible to all major shopping complexes, Gaya Street Sunday Market, Night Market and Jesselton Point Jetty which provides regular 20 minute boat rides to our famous islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park. Our guest rooms are of reasonable size and comes either with double bed or twin bed and standard amenities such as working table, air-condition, minibar fridge, satellite TV, bathtub, hair dryer, free internet access, and ironing board on request. The hotel features a restaurant and bar that serves international food and beverage during breakfast, lunch and dinner with ample free parking space for it's guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu

Address: Hotel Shangri-La 75 Lorong Bandaran Berjaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $50 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu Sabah
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Back room on higher floors”
 of 5 bubbles briane962, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoide front rooms as traffic noise is high and check a/c”
 of 5 bubbles Underground_boy, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the hill. Go for a higher floor as I believe floors 2-6 are or were smoking floors. Floor 8 was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles 331daryls, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose another hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles Marwee3, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Family Rooms very good”
 of 5 bubbles davaoestate, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay