We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu

Save
Traveller (247)
Room & Suite (107)
Dining (25)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Save this hotel
and keep track of your top hotel finds.
Save now
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good43%
  • Average22%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“egg station”(9 reviews)
“bus stop”(5 reviews)
“room service”(15 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveller rating
103
145
76
23
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
103
145
76
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsegg stationbus stoproom serviceseafoodwalking distancenice hotelclean roomsgaya streetbreakfast spreadwater frontfront officecomfortable stayf blocation is greatbudget hotelroom was largewi fi
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
101 - 105 of 357 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

This was a leisure holiday trip with my medical collegues. At first I was a little worried upon seeing the exterior of the building. Seemed a bit worned out as in the paint but do not judge the hotel based on that. It provides you...More

Thank PrakashVos26
Response from Krishnan M, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota KinabaluResponded 28 November 2016

Dear PrakashVos26, Greetings from Hotel Shangri-la Kota Kinabalu! Many thanks for staying with us recently and we are pleased to know you had a good time here in KK and the hotel. Your generous comment is very much appreciated and it motivates us to be...More

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Seriously, this is Shangri-La??! Tremendously dissappointed. When I got to my room, the door was ajar and I don't feel safe at all in this hotel. To make matters worst, someone on my floor had brought in durians and the smell premeated through the air...More

Thank Adiwati Z
Response from Krishnan M, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota KinabaluResponded 28 November 2016

Dear Ms Adiwati, Greetings from Hotel Shangri La Kota Kinabalu! Firstly I would like to thank you for staying with recently. Though you did not enjoy your stay with us, I hope you had a good time in KK. Just a small refresher, we are...More

Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

Booked 2 nights at Shangri-la in late Oct. It is an old hotel so do expect an old fashioned furnitures. Room was a bit too small for two maybe there should change the concept a bit. Though the room is clean. Suits for the business...More

Thank Catniss310
Response from Krishnan M, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota KinabaluResponded 14 November 2016

Dear Catniss310, Greetings from Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu! Thank you for staying with us recently and giving us your valauable feedback. You are definitely spot on with regard to an aging hotel. That having said, our positives are on cleanliness and maintenance of the property....More

Reviewed 27 October 2016

Stayed a week during a trip to Sabah and Sawarak - and used the hotel as a base for travelling in KK and wider. Some plus points are that staff were friendly and the hotel is convienient for walkinga round KK and car park was...More

Thank Underground_boy
Response from Krishnan M, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota KinabaluResponded 31 October 2016

Dear Underground_boy, Greetings from Hotel Shangri-La! Thank you for staying with us and taking your valuable time in giving us your feedback. It's very much appreciate as it helps us to improve where possible. I have taken note of your constructive comments on a few...More

Reviewed 27 October 2016

Stayed for 2 nights and the hotel was very good value. I have no hesitation in recommending it as a place for a short stay in KK. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was large, comfortable and clean. The location is great...More

Thank tgrafton
Response from Krishnan M, General Manager at Hotel Shangri-La Kota KinabaluResponded 3 November 2016

Dear tgrafton, Greetings from Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu! Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and we are pleased to know you had a good stay in KK. Your positive feedback on the hotel especially it's cleanliness, spacious rooms and location is very...More

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
See all 96 hotels in Kota KinabaluSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$47 - US$92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$47 - US$92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Smoking rooms available, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (247)
Room & Suite (107)
Dining (25)
Pool & Beach (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Janet B
19 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from LadyWinda | Property representative |
Hi there, Yes they have for the both of your question.
0
Votes
Morning s
30 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Metta E | Reviewed this property |
These days no more free airport transfers unless the hotel already included transportation to-and-from the airport. Taxis are pretty cheap as the distance is not too far... Just be sure to agree on the fare before you jump... More
1
Vote
diannefmelbourne
25 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Shangri-La_Downtown | Property representative |
Dear Dianefmelbourne, Thanks for your inquiry. Yes, our restaurant is just at the ground floor. Other option, outside restaurant is just within walking distance from our hotel. Thanks, Jessica Hotel Shangri-La, Kota... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Rooms on the jungle side are quieter"
Read review
"5th floor and above are non smoking."
Read review
"dont take a room adjacent to the road"
Read review
"City View room is a must!"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing