We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 80: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2015

We were travelling with an English couple at the time we passed through here, it was a last minute stop and this seemed to suit all of our budgets. With the benefit of hindsight and after discovering that we could have gotten a bus onwards to Panama City that same night, we wouldn't have stayed there. The volunteer on site... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChrisNash1979
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Once more with feeling: It’s weird to respond to a review that’s been written many months after an alleged stay and with no way of identifying the specific circumstances. Nevertheless, we can’t help but wonder why someone who obviously uses TA for advice would still choose to stay with us after reading previous reviews.... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2015

The Purple House was clean and my friends and I had a good nights sleep in a private room for a good price. The location of the hostel is an advantage, 5 - 10 minutes walk from restaurants, a billiards club etc. However, I would never stay here again due the awful awkward atmosphere which the owner creates from running... More 

Helpful?
Thank TomElliott92
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

It’s weird to respond to a review that’s been written many months after an alleged stay and with no way of identifying the specific circumstances. Nevertheless, we can’t help but wonder why someone who obviously uses TA for advice would still choose to stay with us after reading previous reviews.... More 

Travellers are raving about these David hotels

St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We were travelling around Panama's hostels for almost a month and had a wonderful time, that is until we got to David. Firstly, every surface of the place is purple; the utensils, the sofas, the walls. The decor was dated, and the whole place was depressing, dusty and tacky. We love dogs; however with Panama's rain and humidity, having a... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Jane G
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

This guest was disgruntled because we charged her for 4 people even though one didn't show up at the last minute. She was also angry because she couldn't take advantage of our special promotional walk-in dorm price of $9.00, since she had reserved and paid in advance via a 3rd party online reservation service. Her vengeful fabrications and false comments... More 

Germany
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2015

My girlfriend and me stayed for one week in the Purple House in a private room for 23 $ per night and it was a very good experience. the hostel owner is courteous and friendly. in the hostel you can get a lot of important information about any contiguous place for travelers. The kitchen has everything you need. there is... More 

Helpful?
Thank adrian R
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your nice review. We really enjoy it when we hear that you had a good stay. It was a pleasure meeting you and we wish you happy and safe travels. More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2015

I didn´t like this place very much. I was welcomed by a volunteer, who obviously does is best, but I don´t really like much hostels who instead of hiring local staff use the free labour of international travellers. I felt like once upon a time a lot of good intentions had been put in this hostel, but that neglect let... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank allardveronique
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

It’s always helpful when a person who leaves a negative review can be very specific about the circumstances of their stay so we have a context for the complaint. For example, did this guest arrive in the morning to an empty dorm and discover a dirty bathroom from the day before? Or did she arrive late in the evening into... More 

Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2015 via mobile

Ok hostel to stay over night. The room was very small and there were some ants in the room even on the bed. Very nice and helpful staff. Nice garden to stay. Breakfast was included in the price, you got a fruit, porridge and coffee.

Helpful?
Thank Marika H
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

We are never quite sure why a person chooses to get online to complain about a situation that they didn’t mention when they were physically here, particularly when it’s regarding an inconvenience that would have been easy to remedy, had we been made aware of the problem. In a tropical climate, ants, (and other creepy crawlies), are unavoidable - even... More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2015

Let me be blunt: the location isn't great but the staff, kitchen, and facilities are. It's a bit of a walk to the bus terminal but from there you can get to amazing spots all over the region. We cooked up amazing meals in the well-supplied kitchen, enjoyed ICE and POTABLE WATER - luxuries in Central America and I'm still... More 

Helpful?
Thank yup66
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2015

The purple house overall is a very cute PURPLE. House.... We stay thee 7 days and met fantastik people the atmosfere was just spoiled by the ower who dont allowed drinking music parting( be happy in general...u will find note and post it everywhere and overall u feel u r in the army, apart for a very cuddling( no and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kanesc2000
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

This review is almost laughable, it's so obviously false. First of all, anybody who has even spent 5 minutes in the Purple House knows that Cute-si is the star attraction and constant belly-rubs and affection are required activities with her. Prevent a guest from petting her? Poppycock! We also have no limitations as far as partying and music goes. Our... More 

colorado springs, colorado, usa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2015

We spent 2 nights at the Purple House in David enroute to Boca Brava. The room was clean and the staff working there was wonderful. However, one of the reasons we were stopping there was to get laundry done before heading to Boca Brava. Although they advertise that its possible to do this, we ended up using a private party... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lovecr_9
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

How strange that for your entire two day stay you didn't realize that we offer several different options to do laundry. We have informational signs posted in several areas. Hand-washing is completely free, 1 load washed and dried with the solar dryer (aka , the sun :) ) is $3.00, and 1 load washed and dried with our gas dryer... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2015 via mobile

Andrea the owner is such a nice and helpful person. I got there in the middle of the night and the place was almost booked up but according to the staff , my "sad eyes" earned me the emergency bed available only for lonely girls looking for stayina place to stay at night. Not because of that big favor I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Guilhermepa
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks Luis, It was great having you here also. I think that the volunteer working here thought that you had very "handsome" sad eyes, and that is probably why you got the "emergency" bed, lol. I can't believe it but you actually left here without your key deposit, even after we talked about it! Well, now you know why we... More 

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these David hotels
0.9 km away
Gran Hotel Nacional
Gran Hotel Nacional
#3 of 13 in David
187 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Occidental
Hotel Occidental
#10 of 13 in David
20 reviews
1.6 km away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 km away
Hotel Las Olas Beach Resort
1.1 km away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
1.2 km away
Hotel Ciudad de David
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Purple House International Backpacker Hostel! We encourage you to visit us here in the wonderful city of David, Panama, a convenient jumping off point to many of the most popular tourist areas in Panama. Use David City (and The Purple House) as your home- base as you explore the regions! We have all the amenities that most travelers need and want, in a very safe convenient neighborhood of the city.The Purple House is a fun hostel and a great place to meet other travelers. It's homey, friendly staff, and it's very clean and comfortable because it is owned by experienced travelers who know what other travelers are looking for! Our theme is purple, and most guests are surprised to see just how many things we have managed to find in the color purple! We offer:Private rooms from 1-4 people with air-conditioning and TV, Dorm rooms from 6-10 people,Internet access including WIFI,Free Coffee and Tea all day.Fully equipped kitchen.Common Area with cable TV, stereo, DVD,Book Exchange (guests only!)Reference guide books, 24 Hour Check-in/Security.Unique Refreshing SPLASH PAD in our Outdoor Sun Garden,Laundry service.International phone calls,Eco-friendly and socially and community conscious atmosphere.A deep and abiding love for all things PURPLE! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel

Address: Calle C Sur y Avenida Sexta Oeste | San Mateo, David 0426, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Price Range: $26 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a private room”
 of 5 bubbles wayrobinson, 25 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here if you are planning on sleeping.”
 of 5 bubbles complete_chocoholic, 30 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Show up and ask.”
 of 5 bubbles yup66, 23 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Try to get a private room, this is a popular hostel.”
 of 5 bubbles lovecr_9, 26 Feb 2015 | Read review
“We had a room with an A/C option which we decided to use b/c of our little girls and because it was pretty hot that night.”
 of 5 bubbles telemarkg, 9 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay