We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
See the most recent reviews
Showing 360: English reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We arrived late in the day to check in, the staff were courteous & helpful. It was raining that day & all the floors leading to our suite was wet. I almost slipped more than a couple of times on my way back to the room. The ref had a rotting leftover liverspread. The sheets were stained. There was no...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Liv_md
Philippines
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

I am currently here at the balcony of room 229, a Premiere Deluxe Room of the South Wing. The refrigerator and the safe is missing. The only towels provided are the bath towels, no hand and face towels. Telephone shower head is worn out. A cabinet puller needs to be replaced. There is In Room dining menu inside the room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
tbrphilippines, General Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan A, Thank you for your taking the time to send us your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the incomplete amenities. Please be assured that we took note of this incident to ensure that it will not happen again. Warm regards, Marvin Lanuza Hotel General Manager

Las Pinas, Philippines
Reviewed 30 June 2016

We stayed last June 26-27. My boyfriend and I went to Baguio first. Good thing they granted our request for a free shuttle to Thunderbird Casino (Note: Shuttles are exclusively for casino members only) Kudos to all your Sales/Reservations Team! We were impressed in all architectural aspects of the resort. The facilities from main entrance up to the beach area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audrey T
tbrphilippines, General Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review

Dear Audrey T, Thank you for your kind words! We are happy to know that you had a comfortable and convenient stay with us. Your satisfaction, of course, is our topmost priority. We do apologize for any convenience the ongoing construction might have left you. We are currently expanding the resort's facilities and amenities so you can enjoy more activities....

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

I was expecting a lot from Thunderbird. My mom raved about it years ago, and have had described it as one of the most luxurious hotel she have ever stayed in. Presumably because Thunderbird has just opened its doors back then. We also heard that it was one of the locations for No Other Woman. So we were intrigued. We've...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChenzelMae
tbrphilippines, General Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review

Dear ChenzelMae, Thank you for coming and for appreciating the beautiful sights in the property. I have also commended the staff for being of great service to you and your companions. We do, however, apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced especially with the transfer of rooms and the maintenance of the facilities. We assure you that these are points...

Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

this place was worth the price. I had my prenup photoshoot here last year and it was quite good. i stayed with my fiance and our photographers in 2 good rooms. the staffs were good and they allowed us to explore the place. really nice experience. 😍

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne D
tbrphilippines, General Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review

Dear Jeanne D, First off, let me send my best wishes to you and your husband-to-be! Thank you for choosing Thunderbird as your pre-nup venue. We are glad you had a great time! We look forward to having you again soon! Warm regards, Marvin Lanuza Hotel General Manager

Reviewed 21 June 2016

We checked-in at this hotel because it has been getting good reviews. The rooms are very good and worth the price. Bed is very comfortable and room is generally clean. Santorini-inspired architecture is refreshing and the one good shot of the main hotel is what you always see online. However, the grounds around the hotel is not well kept and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank comshock25
tbrphilippines, General Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review

Dear comshock25, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for commending the service we provided. We greatly appreciate your review. Your comments being points of improvement on our part. Please be assured that we will continue doing our best to serve you better. We hope to see you again soon. Warm regards, Marvin Lanuza Hotel General Manager

Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

The place has a good vacation ambiance; the villas and pools are picturesque. There are 2 pools: one for adult, one for kids, it has no shade at all so you'll get a tan for sure. Plus points for beach/swimming towels provided near the area. The beach is not picture perfect and looks a bit dirty (seaweeds, small black things,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvetteylafea
tbrphilippines, General Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review

Dear yvetteylafea, Thank you for appreciating the resort, especially the pools we have. We are happy to let you know that we are having expansions to provide you with more swimming options! We do hope you can visit us soon so you can experience it. With regards to your water concerns, we do apologize and please be assured that we...

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

It is our family's first time to stay in La Union. We chose Thunderbird Resort because of its Greek-like setting.. Our 2-bedroom villa was very spacious. They have a kitchenette where you could cook if you want. But they also have restaurants which serves good food (and pizza!). Try the Pizza Ilocano and the 4-cheese.. :) Our villa was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SweetVndy15
tbrphilippines, General Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review

Dear SweetVndy15, We are happy to know that you had a wonderful stay! With your convenience in mind, we do our best to make our rooms, facilities, and amenities adequate to let you have a "home away from home" experience. I have also extended your gratitude to Ms. Angela and Ms. Malou. We hope you can come visit us again....

Reviewed 2 June 2016

Went out of town for a late summer escape with the family and rented this very nice 3-bedroom Santorini-themed villa, fully air-conditioned (including living room and dining area). We fell in love with the architecture especially with the interior design of the villa. The resort itself is a beauty with that signature blue dome on top of the main building....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AldenM
tbrphilippines, General Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review

Dear AldenM, Thank you so much for appreciating the resort. As the Santorini of Asia, we do our best to maintain the facilities and amenities so our dear guests can feel like they are on a vacation in Greece. We can't wait to have you again and we hope you have another pleasant experience with us soon. Warm regards, Marvin...

Metro Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Had high expectations for this resort and I must say that it did not disappoint! Went here with my friend and stayed in a Deluxe room (PhP 9,000). The well-maintained room was big and had an amazing view of the ocean. We sure could wake up to that scene every single day! The bathroom was also huge and it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thebunnyhops
tbrphilippines, General Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review

Dear thebunnyhops, Thank you so much for enjoying your stay here at Thunderbird! It is heartwarming to know that you were satisfied with our services and offerings. We hope you can come visit us again and have a repeat of the great time you had. See you soon! Warm regards, Marvin Lanuza Hotel General Manager

805 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (570)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (115)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (237)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Beach (9)
Viewed
Deluxe (43)
Viewed
One (29)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)
Viewed
Two (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Fernando La Union
6.6 km away
Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa
9.5 km away
Awesome Hotel
Awesome Hotel
#1 of 5 in San Juan
154 reviews
55.1 km away
Villa Soledad Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
The Little Surfmaid Resort
The Little Surfmaid Resort
#8 of 14 in La Union Province
91 reviews
2.7 km away
La Union Blue Marlin Resort
La Union Blue Marlin Resort
#1 of 9 in San Fernando La Union
11 reviews
6.3 km away
The Circle Hostel La Union
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Golf Course
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hospitality and Leisure ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point

Address: Pennsylvania Avenue | VOA Compound, San Fernando La Union, Luzon 2500, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > La Union Province > San Fernando La Union
Price Range: $231 - $942 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Poro Point Hotel San Fernando La Union
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor for the PWD and senior citizens”
 of 5 bubbles shengchi, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor for the view.”
 of 5 bubbles babypacheco327, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Select Deluxe rooms on the left wing (if facing entrance), they have the best view of the resort and the sea”
 of 5 bubbles 366whitem, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“South wing second floor (which is first floor for westerners) overlooking ocean”
 of 5 bubbles 34gordonh, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“rooms with the beach view can be so relaxing”
 of 5 bubbles mamaroche, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5