We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

HM Hostel Moscow

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
HM Hostel Moscow
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for HM Hostel Moscow
See the most recent reviews
Showing 24: English reviews
Brno, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hostel is very small, clean, and tidy. It's not your typical hostel, it's a very nice flat with three rooms: girls dorm, mens dorm, and mixed. The staff is very friendly and everyone speaks English. Excellent location, too! I really recommend it, I wouldn't mind staying there again.

Helpful?
Thank Martin K
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this review

Dear Martin! Thank you for your warm review. We are happy you liked the place and we will be glad to see you again nest time you are in Moscow. Big hugs! HM team. More 

Germantown, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I had to make a last minute change to my vacation plans and stayed in this hostel for 2 nights. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. The facilities were actually quite good, good amount of space, nice lounge, full kitchen, and good bathrooms. Being a hostel, you have to expect your quality of sleep to suffer, but I have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan K
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at HM's. We hope to see you next time when you come to our city. Hugs from Moscow! HM team. More 

Saviese, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Very nice stay in HM Hostel. The staff was helpful and friendly. They speak english or german. The room was amazing! It was big with a small couch and a table. The beds (I tested 2 of them) were very comfortable. The locker seems new. Everything is close and for those who don't like to walk, the metro station is... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarieLyinna
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this review

Marie! Thank you for your warm words. We hope to see you again. And we are thinking of changing the water price and codes policy. It was a pleasure to have your company as guests. Hugs! More 

Ranfurly, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Friendly atmosphere without being over the top. Natural in all ways. Really comfortable bed or bunk. Marble bathroom has full size bath and great pressure in the shower. One toilet in bathroom and second next door. Lovely kitchen with marble topped benches and fully equipped. Free internet in lounge without pressure. As an older female traveling alone I felt very... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Tushka
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine! Thank you for your review. We are always waiting for you to come again. Hugs from Moscow! More 

Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Great staff and friendly people... not exactly a good sleep night, but people are very nice. Free internet is wonderful as much as the central location (15 min walking to Red Square)... unfortunately there are no separated rooms for female and male, even if booked as it!!! Building first impression were a little bit creepy. Old entrance, archaic elevator..but getting... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Nina_Novelli
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this review

Dear, Nina! Thank you for your review. We are happy you liked to stay with us. We are working on to make the building more beautiful. As for the female and male rooms... we always had both separate rooms and one mixed room. I'm afraid maybe you stayed in the hostel that is one floor before?.. Well, anyways we always... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The location is great for getting to the Kremlin and the Arbat Metro station. Clean good quality hostel, but with only one bathroom which meant quite a bit of queing unless you get up early. The hostel used to be an apartement so there is a good sized kitchen and lounge area with tables, chairs and a TV. Very good... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank IGL86
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your detailed review. We are changing every day to become better and better so I hope one day you will visit us once more and would be able to notice the positive changes. We are happy that still you liked our place. Waiting you in Moscow. Hugs! More 

Mae Sot, Thailand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in August. I found the location was close to main attractions and metro. However, it seemed to very hidden at first because it was located in the site street of Old Arbat. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially Natalia. However, the facilities seemed to be insufficient because there was only one bathroom which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Panini_poonie
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this review

Dear Mae! Thank you for your review. We are working hard to provide to our guests everything that they want and so they wouldn't be disappointed. So the reviews are very useful. Hope to see you in Moscow again so you could see the positive changes. Hugs from Moscow! More 

Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

When we got there, our reservation was for 10 people however the hostel was only counting on 9 persons. The hostel guy charged us 40 Rubles to keep our lugage on the day we were leaving and 10 Rubles to print one black & white voucher that we needed to travel. It's hard to sleep when there's a semaphore on... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank jpmikos
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you had to meet with such a problem. We are working hard for that situations of that kind would never happen again. The luggage and printing prices we made after some guests were using these facilities too much. Now we think to change it. Thank you for the tip and for the understanding. More 

exmouth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

the hostel's location is perfect, right in the centre. The hostel is clean and reasonably spacious for a hostel. The tiled floor in the kitchen is broken and uneven, so wear slippers. Dasha the female hostel receptionist is very helpfull and I give 10/10 for her, but the two males are absolutaly hopeless, the french guy sleeps all day in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank devonka
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this review

Thank you for your useful reviews. We understand that the attitude of the staff is one of the most important aspects in the hostel. We will be glad to see you again in Moscow to notice that we solved the staff and floor problems. Hugs! More 

NYC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I used HM Hostel to process my visa invitation and registration. Their employee Pavel failed to monitor opening hours of the russian post, where registration is completed, and did not register my visa. Then demonstrated complete indifference to responsibility and tried to prevent my contacting a manager. Failure to register is a serious crime in Russia which can result in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_in_NY
HM_Hostel_Moscow, Guest Relations Manager at HM Hostel Moscow, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, Mike! Pavel is not working anymore in the hostel. Maybe it's not such a serious thing as you described but still, in Russia you never know what can happen, so sorry you had to deal with that. All the best to you. More 

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moscow hotels
Arbat
Davydov Hostel
Davydov Hostel
#36 of 1,343 in Moscow
52 reviews
Arbat
Indie House Hostel
Indie House Hostel
#35 of 1,343 in Moscow
47 reviews
Khamovniki
Russo-Balt
Russo-Balt
#18 of 488 in Moscow
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landmark Hostel Arbat
#17 of 1,343 in Moscow
92 reviews
Arbat
Landmark City Hotel
Landmark City Hotel
#44 of 1,343 in Moscow
26 reviews
Red Square & Kitay-gorod
No photo provided
Seven Hills Lubyanka
#89 of 1,343 in Moscow
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Khamovniki

Neighbourhood Profile
Khamovniki
Khamovniki could be considered a city of its own – here it’s possible to find some of Moscow’s most important cultural institutions such as the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts, the Novodevichy Convent and Trubetskikh Estate, great sport locations such as Luzhniki stadium and aqua complex, and long and beautiful Luzhniki embankment. Pick your preferred form of transport to explore the area – bicycle or river cruise during the summer and taxi in winter as many of the great places are situated beyond a short walk.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
HM Hostel is located in the heart of Moscow, next to the famous Arbat Street and only a few minutes walk from the Kremlin, Red Square and the Cathedral of Christ the Savior. We are located in a very close proximity to two metro stations, making all of Moscow easily accessible to hostel guests.The Arbat area has a lively night life with many bars and restaurants, yet more often than not, guests like to stay in and enjoy a night together at the hostel, because of its warm and friendly atmosphere. Our friendly English and of course Russian speaking staff are at the hostel 24/7 to make your stay enjoyable, to provide assistance as needed and to ensure that the hostel is clean and friendly at all times.Our hostel has several dorm rooms, including one which is men only and a women only room as well. We do not simply push guests into every available corner we have, but made our rooms a very spacious and non-claustrophobic place to rest your head. We have a beautiful bathroom and our well-equipped kitchen is a great alternative to visiting Moscow’s (not so cheap) restaurants. We also offer free Wi-Fi and have a computer in our cozy common room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about HM Hostel Moscow

Address: Gogolevskiy b-r 33/1, 4th Floor | Apt. 14, Moscow 119019, Russia
Region: Russia > Central Russia > Moscow > Khamovniki
Price Range: $14 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your HM Hostel Moscow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from HM Hostel Moscow staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from HM Hostel Moscow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms and dorms are equally perfect, illuminated , same closeness to toilet , calm and all got landmark view.”
 of 5 bubbles Maged54, 12 Oct 2014 | Read review
1 of 1
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay