We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sunshine Home Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunshine Home Hostel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 84: English reviews
Start your review of Sunshine Home Hostel
 Click to rate
Udon Thani, Thailand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the staff are so helpful and friendly, the bed was very comfortable, the location is amazing, you can use the kitchen, excellent fellow backpackers make new friends - from many different countries. Explore Guangzhou using Sunshine as your base.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterZ9695SP
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights over Chinese New Year and had the best time. The owners are super friendly and made us feel part of the family. Such a lovely place to hang out and they have an epic view! We stayed in a private room which was small but fine and across the corridor from a bathroom.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cfinn16
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Best place to stay with amazing view from the balcony & you make many foreigners friends, all are very friendly, they have kitchen as well so you can make your own food, i will definitely visit this place again whenever I come to Guangzhou. Even the owner is very helpful, she can help you out in each and everything &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 787namanc
Leanne_Gz, Manager at Sunshine Home Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Sunshine Home Guangzhou! It has been a pleasure to meet a friend from India!

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here 4 nights with some of the rudest and impolite roommates i have ever encountered. But my review will no lt reflect them. I paid for an 8 person dorm but 9 people stayed in my room. When the bathroom door is left open into the room a bad stench of sewage comes into the room. The owners...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GOHABSGO1984
Leanne_Gz, Manager at Sunshine Home Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Sunshine Home! I remember you were more into yourself during your stay; were busy with your computer. The dorm was not full during your stay - if you were not happy with your bed being next to the bathroom, you could have asked to change bed instead of suffering and then complaining...

Reviewed 22 June 2015

The place is a loft-converted hostel… everything was alright until I was about to leave China. I was interrogated by the police at the border about where I stayed in Guangzhou because my passport was not registered with the PSB by the hostel. There's no trace about my whereabout in Guangzhou. My stay was “illegal”, according to the police, who...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Hay L
Singapore
Reviewed 16 June 2015

I stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend in Guangzhou. The owner speaks fluent English, Mandarin Chinese and I think she probably speaks Javanese and Bahasa Indonesia because she's an Indonesian Chinese. The owner is quite friendly, helpful and considerate, and has Islamic prayer rugs (we call it sejadah) so you can borrow from her. Plus she knows the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rozaine s
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

Hello everybody if you want to have a nice visit in guangzhou you must stay in this hostel. The owners are so hepful, they tell you every thing that you need in guangzhou. And all the place always is very clean. I had a good time here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cankali
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 1 December 2014

A month stayed in Guangzhou without know nothing about mandarin languages, is terrible. Thanks God I found this place, where I can speak easily either Bahasa or English. Leanne are so kind which let me rest in this peaceful place with hospitable people. The place are near to Subway, easy to get halal food, and wifi connection are free!. She...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Agung_Nugo
Guangzhou, China
Reviewed 9 November 2014

Leanne speaks proper functional English and is such a helpful and welcoming lady. The bathrooms are clean and the beds are super padded and soft like what you're used to at home. I've been around China from Huhehoate to Beijing to Nanjing to Hefei, Chengdu, Shanghai, Zhengzhou, Shenzen and around in Guangzhou. It's hard to find a soft bed, most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sid_Siddique
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 31 October 2014 via mobile

The star is Leanne, who is very hospitable and helpful. Room condition is just right for what you pay for. Thin bed (normal in China), tight space in dorm room. Location is 10 minutes walk from bus terminal & subway station. Very practical if you are there just for fun. However, last time I was there to buy lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lucy_backpackgal82

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guangzhou hotels
1.8 km away
Guangdong Victory Hotel
Guangdong Victory Hotel
#30 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
546 reviews
10.1 km away
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
Oakwood Premier Guangzhou
#2 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
547 reviews
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
Holiday Inn Shifu Guangzhou
#22 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
Four Seasons Hotel Guangzhou
#4 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
597 reviews
1.9 km away
White Swan Hotel
White Swan Hotel
#19 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
111 reviews
6.0 km away
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
Guangzhou Baiyun Hotel
#34 of 3,376 in Guangzhou
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sunshine Home Hostel is a home hostel located next to Liwan Hu Park in the heart of Old Canton. We - Leanne and Liang - live in the hostel, to provide better service and to ensure 24-hour check-in and the safety of our guests. All our rooms - privates with shared bath and dorms (mixed and female) are equipped with windows and air-con and wifi. Hot shower 24 hours. Tourist Locations: Liwan Park and Lichi Bay - 5 minutes walk Chen Clan Academy - 3 bus stop Shamian Island - 3 bus stop Night Cruise - 5 bus stop Shangxiajiu Pedestrian Street - 3 bus stop Shisanhang, Zhongshanba Children Clothes Market, Nanfang Dasha Electronic Market, Jiaokou Flower Market, Fangcun Tea Market all close by. Public Swimming Pool with white beach - 2 minutes walk - 30rmb entrance fee We would be happy to chat with our guests over tea, having some fun drinking beer in the balcony enjoying the beautiful view of the Park. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunshine Home Hostel

Address: No.201 Huangsha Avenue | Hui Yang Yuan Apt Complex Bld 201 Apt 2408, Guangzhou 510150, China
Region: China > Guangdong > Guangzhou
Price Range: $17 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Sunshine Home Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunshine Home Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“24th floor with brilliant views”
 of 5 bubbles peterZ9695SP, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“make sure they properly register your passport info with the police or you may experience troubles”
 of 5 bubbles 186hayl, 22 Jun 2015 | Read review
“If you're with your gf/bf take a single room cos the dorms are single sex. If you're on your own and only there for a few days take the better rooms, it's really cheap. If you plan on being around for 30+ days, take the bunks, they're much better than what you expect, probably better than the shared room you had in college.”
  • The view from the balcony in the day
  • The view from the balcony at night
 of 5 bubbles Sid_Siddique, 9 Nov 2014 | Read review
“I slept on the bunk beds. But I think if you order a whole room it would be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles mingyueg2014, 19 Jun 2014 | Read review
“the room with a french window is more bright”
 of 5 bubbles poppyh75, 9 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5