We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
See the most recent reviews
Showing 491: English reviews
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed at the Ana Crowne Plaza, Kyoto - Japan in May 2013. The hotel is so-so. The lobby looks newly renovated, but the rooms have a lot to be desired. REALLY need an overhaul. However, the Restaurants are by far some of the best, we have dined in. Who knew! We ate twice in the French/Japanese Fusion restaurant, and the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank PTJ123
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hotel rooms are clean and maintained well but relatively small. It is likely that most Kyoto hotels may not have much spacier rooms, however. What bothered however is the busy breakfast restaurant, having to wait to be seated and we even saw some guests wait upto 20 minutes to be seated. Hotel of this size should have a larger dining... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Rama J
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear rmjager, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Location - Convenient for Nijo castle and close to Japan Rail and Subway stations - Some distance from Kyoto station, but the hotel does operate a shuttle bus. Alternatively, a taxi costs about Y1500 - Some distance from the major temple sites, but these are also served by public Transport - On balance, hotels closer to Kyoto Station may be... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Anon A
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear Anon A, Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from... More 

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We travelled to Kyoto, Japan for the first time. In fact it was our first time in Japan. Our stay at the ANA Crown Plaza Kyoto was excellent. The hotel staff were nice and courteous. However the concierge "Simon Finch" was excellent, one of the best. He helped us plan the whole day, all 3 days we were there. Helped... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kiran S
Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Kyoto is quite a quaint, relaxing and welcoming city and this hotel definitely enhanced my first experience of this unique place. Others have mentioned Simon, the concierge. He is a huge asset to the hotel in catering for english-speaking visitors. All the desk staff are helpful, though, and the atmosphere throughout the hotel is very friendly. Our room was large... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank aussiesinspain
Durham, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here during a business trip. The rooms are very comfortable - the decor impressive, free wifi, staff helpful. As one other reviewer commented there are not many plugs - but I always bring a three-way adaptor. The price was notably lower than it would be for a similar hotel in the UK.

Helpful?
1 Thank HugoPDurham_UK
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stayed here on a family vacation in kyoto. Simon, the head concierge was very helpful and kind to assist us during our stay. Location is great considering it's next to the Nijo castle and a few steps away from the subway stop. I was mainly turned off by the breakfast service staff because they were rude. I was waiting for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Newsoul90
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear Newsoul90, Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I am sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We got a room with a view of the Nijo Castle (apparently an upgrade from what we initially booked) and it was perfect. Pretty big for Japanese standards (two double beds instead of one queen) and with all sorts of amenities. I especially loved the eye warmers in their sleeping kit. The bathroom was well appointed, there was a minibar... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Piolina
Canberra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I am a Priority Club / IHH Club member, and have been so since 2005. In that time I have stayed a at many IHG affiliated hotels worldwide, for both business and personal reasons. The ANA Crown Plaza is, without any doubt, the worst IHG (let alone any other world recognised hotel chain) hotel that I have stayed in (and,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Balanced C
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear Balanced C, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff. However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our room condition and room amenities. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The hotel itself is in dire need of renovation. The lobby is ok but rooms need major help. I am not even sure where to begin: the smell, the cabinets falling apart, the network wire broken, etc. BUT, the service is great and the sleep is ok too. Particularly Simon Finch in the lobby is an amazing resource for travel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lenusvyat
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear lenusvyat, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is nice that our service was good for you. I apologize that you were inconvenienced however with the condition of the property being dated. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. Once again, many thanks for... More 

769 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (542)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (110)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (218)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (193)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (Castle View) (80)
Viewed
Pool & Sauna (1)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
Kyoto Tokyu Hotel
#39 of 351 in Kyoto
966 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#17 of 351 in Kyoto
2,721 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
City Center
Kyoto Hotel Okura
Kyoto Hotel Okura
#19 of 351 in Kyoto
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in City Center

Neighbourhood Profile
City Center
No district of Kyoto is quite as representative of its blended nature as the City Center. By day, the covered shopping arcades along Kawaramachi and Shijo Street bring deal hunters and fashionistas out in droves to peruse the clothing, accessories, gifts, and home goods offerings. When it grows dark, the City Center is a hip spot for nightlife, alive with bars and clubs. A trendy culinary scene and an abundance of local watering holes give the Center its youthful vibrancy. In contrast, the quieter areas of the City Center seem a world away, shielded from noise by the foliage of the public gardens and zen spaces surrounding the area's shrines, castles, and the Imperial Palace. These ancient and sacred spots are seamlessly folded into the scenery, providing a respite from the energy of the city, but close enough to put you directly back onto the pulse of the city when you're ready.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The ANA Hotel Kyoto looks almost out of place with its modern exterior nestled amongst the sublime beauty and historic grandeur of Japan s old capital. This however belies the traditional hospitality and classic atmosphere to be experienced within her four walls. ... more   less 

Additional Information about ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Address: Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0055, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Price Range: $147 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and IHG so you can book your ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyoto Ana Hotel
Ana Hotel Kyoto
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#24 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#25 Business Hotel in Kyoto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try and request for a room with a view of Nijo Castle.”
  • Comfortable and nicely furnished room
 of 5 bubbles aktan6336, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“high floor give good views over adjoining rooftops”
 of 5 bubbles briangBaildon, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try a rom with castle view”
 of 5 bubbles ClaudiusSg, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to specify the non-smoking vs smoking room before you walk away from the check-in counter.”
 of 5 bubbles K1997VIkellyw, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room that faces the Nijo Castle”
 of 5 bubbles derekph5, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay