We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Istana

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Istana
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,460 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,962: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was surprised with an upgrade on arrival and at every turn the staff was gracious, prompt, and went out of their way to be helpful. Great breakfast too!! My only complaint was that it would be great if the gym were open late as I wasn't able to visit it before 10pm, but that was a very minor issue....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Austin M
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The whole experience was wonderful. I have been staying at Istana Hotel for the past 10 years and they have only improved across all aspects. the location is fantastic as it allows you to exit in any direction and helps beat the traffic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samir D
Langkawi, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There is NOTHING bad to say. The room was superb, very clean and spacious. The bathtub may have been old, but it was clean and very roomy! Not even a hint of smoke, which is pretty remarkable. The breakfast choices were amazing. A huge variety of fresh food. The staff were impeccable in every area. Always polite, helpful and courteous....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YodsIsMe
Hotel_Istana_KL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear YodsIsMe, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write your review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay well. We appreciate all your kind words and especially the recognition given to our hard working associates. We hope to see you back soon. Warm regards Aamir Khan General Manager

Lagos, Nigeria
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Fabulous stay with premium service. Buffet is a treat to the eyes! Location is central and easy access to all sight seeing activities. Spa is also great! A must visit if you need a peaceful and safe stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShineRrajan
Hotel_Istana_KL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear ShineRrajan, Thank you for your wonderful feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. We appreciate it very much and hope you will continue to support us in future. Warm Regards Aamir Khan General Manager

Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Maintenance works are definitely not being observed by hotel management, hammering all day with unbelievable smell all over the room which can damage your health. As per the hotel letter Maintenance work will be continued till July 2017 and all day from morning till 18:00, They never followed the assigned timings and always you need to complaint asking to stop...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
Hotel_Istana_KL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Sandy H, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are very sorry that you were disturbed with the on going soft renovations. It is our commitment to our guest that we continuously improve our facilities and further enhance our guest experience. We have taken note of your complaint and will ensure that our workers / contractors follow...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Location: 5/5 Locality:5/5 Room:3.5/5 Amenities: 4/5 I traveled here in January 2017 and stayed for 4 days. Staff is extremely Polite and helpful. Just across the hotel we have Monorail Station allowing us to easily travel to KL sentral with ease. Many ATMs, places to eat(both budget and luxury), 7 eleven nearby. In Room dining and bar items are also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mohit M
Hotel_Istana_KL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Mohit M, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We are looking into the towel issue and assure you that we will replace them ASAP. The price comparison between us ( a 5 star Hotel) and the shop lots behind or around the neighbourhood is not...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I am Ibrahim Che Mahmood the organizer of PETRONAS whom have done a function for our engineers program at Hotel Istana since 2001. The service of the hotel is excellent which made us come here for nearly 16 years and the person who brought us to this hotel is Puan Nora F&B Manager. Puan Nora has made a tremendous deal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Syed muazam sha... B
Hotel_Istana_KL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Ibrahim, We are very happy to see your wonderful and 5 star review on Trip Advisor. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and the company's support for all these years in the past and now. Indeed, Ms. Nora and team, Ms. Hamidah, Ms. Ana, Ms. Laily and Mr. Kalai are all our wonderful associate and we appreciate their passion...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very positive experience. I recommend this hotel in Kuala Lumpur, good location! The staff was very helpfull with golf reservations. Service in Lobby bar was impressive and the Urban restaurant was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leena M
Hotel_Istana_KL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Leena M, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your 5 star review and your recommendations. We hope to see you soon. Warm Regards Aamir Khan General Manager

Neath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel location is right in the center of KL about a 45 - 60 minute drive from the airport. You can see the tops of the Petronas Towers from the hotel and they are a short 10 / 15 minute walk from the hotel via the Sky Walk. A metro station is also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mivz P
Hotel_Istana_KL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Mivz P, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your positive feedback from your stay and your the appreciation of our wonderful associate. Our breakfast is talk of the town and many of our guest just loves it. We hope you will continue to support us and will...

Reviewed 1 week ago

My room at the Istana was a bit dated (though spotlessly clean, which is what counts - and I had a splendid view of the Petronas Towers out of my window). The breakfast buffet was only average, and could be improved. But my overall experience at the Istana was the best I can remember in a very long time, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TomW-SG
Hotel_Istana_KL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear TomW-SG, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see your wonderful feedback about your stay with us. We wish if you had elaborated more on the breakfast section as to what is it really that you missed for the breakfast and we assure you that...

1,574 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1230)
Viewed
Room/Suite (223)
Viewed
Bathroom (134)
Viewed
View from Room (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (248)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (58)
Viewed
Dining (89)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (398)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (332)
Viewed
Adult Pool (5)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Children's Pool (5)
Viewed
Club Suite (34)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (26)
Viewed
Deluxe Room Twin (24)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (72)
Viewed
Dining (65)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 km away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#22 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
906 reviews
0.2 km away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#25 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
498 reviews
1.5 km away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.6 km away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#30 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
2,998 reviews
0.8 km away
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#23 of 338 in Kuala Lumpur
2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Food & drink at the hotel
Taman Sari Brasserie
Taman Sari Brasserie
Cuisines: Asian, French, Malaysian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Hotel Istana

Address: 73 Jalan Raja Chulan, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $85 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Istana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Istana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istana Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Istana Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#21 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Istana staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Istana staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are great. Huge size. ask for the Petronas tower facing room on a higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles samird747, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The club lounge is great, so \i would recommend staying in a club room.”
 of 5 bubbles YodsIsMe, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pick a room on 14th or above floor for better city view.”
  • Petronas is much much closer than it looks in the picture.
 of 5 bubbles 809mohitm, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great views, very clean, quiet rooms and good water pressure in shower.”
 of 5 bubbles mimmob88, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go for the Club Rooms. Definite Value For The Room.”
 of 5 bubbles 906atiquer, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay