We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Jen Male

Show Prices
#2 of 36 Hotels in Male
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Jen Male
Hotel Jen Male
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

538 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Jen Male
See the most recent reviews
Showing 456: English reviews
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 22 December 2016

Hotel Jen Male is located on Male Island......do not expect the Maldives experience as it is located on the inhabited capital city Male. I recommend the place for the convenient location close to the airport. Complimentary speed boat ride to and from the airport (4-6 minutes). rooms are small but compact, clean and efficient. Minibar, Iron and tea coffee available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Montevideo41
HJMD_GM, General Manager at Hotel Jen Male, responded to this review

Dear Montevideo41 Thank you for the five-star review. We are glad to know that the service provided by my friendly colleagues was well-received and that the guest room was to your comfort! It is great to know that the food spread was well-loved by you, which will certainly motivate our colleagues in the kitchen. Our hotel benefits many guests in...

Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Hotel Jen is a more casual brand of SHANGRILA group . This particular hotel situated in the heart of Male' and stands very near to the port, easy walk to the water front. The hotel is of international standard and probably one of the very few in Male'. The room is nice and clean and has a the amenities you'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chappy C
HJMD_GM, General Manager at Hotel Jen Male, responded to this review

Dear Chappy C, Thank you for the kind review with multiples highlights of the hotel. Our rooms have been designed to provide fuss-free easy access for guests and we are pleased to know that it was well-liked by you. Thank you for your kind recommendations and my team and I look forward to your return visit! Best regards, Rahim Flynn...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Hotel Jen is supposed to be part of the Shangri-La group, but I must say it felt more like a budget hotel. was nice for a night but not longer. mixed feeling about the staff the management did everything they could to make our stay comfortable but small things like our luggage being left in the lobby when it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ishtiyaq M
HJMD_GM, General Manager at Hotel Jen Male, responded to this review

Dear Mr Ishtiyaq M, It is truly disappointing to learn that we have failed to live up to the standards set for our loyal guests. Please be assured that the highlighted departments has been looked into and will be constantly monitored for us to deliver product and service excellence. Thank you for your kind review which we appreciate and we...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 19 December 2016

This property is more suitable for only and only.... i repeat only for business trip. If you are coming on vacatio/honeymooon please avoid is this hotel >since this a hotel on mainisland and not a resort with beaches Pros, In Male city 5min from airport nice rooms Cons No beach No alcohol

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yogeshgarg2k
HJMD_GM, General Manager at Hotel Jen Male, responded to this review

Dear Yogeshgarg2k, Thank you for the review. We are glad you’ve enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel, the room and the complimentary speed boat transfer from Airport. Just to share with you, we do provide excursions to nearby islands and resorts where you can enjoy the individual resorts full facilities at a special price and still enjoy the simple...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

Spent an afternoon / evening here when our flight was delayed Friendly staff , lovely modern comfy room and delicious food Bit too noisy in the room though as we were situated at the front of the hotel by the road , but apart from that couldn't fault it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mellymelsie
HJMD_GM, General Manager at Hotel Jen Male, responded to this review

Dear Mellymelsie, Thank you for the kind review of the hotel. We are happy to know that the service provided by our colleagues helped make your short stay more pleasant. Our thoughtfully designed rooms aim to deliver a fuss-free experience with the simple things done right such as good bedding and excellent showers. The food served at our outlets has...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 5 December 2016

My room was so modern, beautiful, clean and full of great amenities. The washroom was spacious and the shower has a great view into the room through the glass walls if you keep the blinds open! Very lovely. The staff have been so friendly and helpful taking care of my every need. The provides a complimentary transfer to and from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RozW
HJMD_GM, General Manager at Hotel Jen Male, responded to this review

Dear RozW, Thank you for the five-star review of Hotel Jen Malé Maldives. We are glad to know that the service provided by my friendly colleagues was well-received and that the guest room was to your comfort! It is great to know that you enjoyed the Azur Rooftop Restaurant and the view. Our hotel benefits many guests in terms of...

Pilsen, Czech Republic
Reviewed 28 November 2016

We stay here just one day but everything was perfect. Nice pool with amazing view. Restaurant on top is like realy 5star. I recommended tuna mix starter. Staff is excelent and very friendly. I like this place. Best choise in Male.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dusanhrich
HJMD_GM, General Manager at Hotel Jen Male, responded to this review

Dear Dusanhrich, Thank you for your excellent review of Hotel Jen Malé Maldives! The hotel location has indeed benefitted many travelers as it is convenient to many places of interest. And thank you for the recommendation of our Restaurants. We appreciate your kind loyalty to the hotel and it will be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back for another...

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Originally booked 4 nights, but hadn't heard good reports on male so decided to cut it short to 2 nights and very glad we did. On the positives, the staff were very friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough for you, so absolute no complaints there. Also the location was good. Rooms were OK, but nothing special, but the housekeeping was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gael999
HJMD_GM, General Manager at Hotel Jen Male, responded to this review

Dear Gael999, Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are sorry to read of your recent experience at the hotel and apologize for the unpleasant encounters you had. Upon receiving your comments, we have addressed the issues regarding with our team, please be assured that this is not our usual standards and training will be implemented with...

Asia, Peru
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

After a long, late flight, it was really nice to retire for the night to Hotel Jen Male. The staff were very helpful - met us at the airport and then we were led to the airport jetty and transported by boat to the Male jetty closest to our hotel. The staff took care of the transportation of our luggage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pippyclearsoup
HJMD_GM, General Manager at Hotel Jen Male, responded to this review

Dear Pippyclearsoup, It is our greatest delight to receive your review, it is comments like yours that motivates the team to continuously strive for service excellence. It is our pleasure to ensure the stay was a smooth and enjoyable one here at Hotel Jen Malé Maldives! My team and I look forward to welcoming you back for another stay with...

Reviewed 23 November 2016

This was my first time at Jen property of Shangri-La chain and I did love the concept. Jen Male is a 4 star hotel. Any other place than Male in the world and I would give it 3 due to some areas of improvement: 1. The room was decent sized bit a little more attention to details and perhaps I...

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank viotel
HJMD_GM, General Manager at Hotel Jen Male, responded to this review

Dear Viotel, Thank you for your review and support to Hotel Jen Malé Maldives. We are pleased to hear that the hotel's aesthetics has worked for you. Lime restaurant serves a great selection for breakfast and has created many positive experiences for many travelers. It is great that you have benefitted from the wash and fold at fixed price! We...

628 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (287)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Other (94)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (330)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room with Balcony (35)
Viewed
Other (59)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (52)
Viewed
Executive Room (37)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Rooftop Infinity Pool (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
8.8 km away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,606 reviews
1.3 km away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 36 in Male
90 reviews
30.9 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
11.4 km away
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa
5.5 km away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
There's so much to do, see and taste in Male and I've got you covered on everything you need to get started! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Male

Address: Ameer Ahmed Magu, Male 20096 (Formerly Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives)
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Male
Price Range: $281 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Male 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Jen Male reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traders Hotel, Male, Maldives Hotel Male
Hotel Jen Male Maldives
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Jen Male staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Jen Male staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher is probably better - for the views, and for the quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles CampbellT_12, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We all had high floor rooms - 6 - 10. No complaints from anyone”
 of 5 bubbles leee611, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you don't want to hear street traffic ask for a room that does not overlook the street or one that is on a high floor”
 of 5 bubbles SusanAdventure, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room with a view of the harbor”
 of 5 bubbles RozW, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Enjoy the island tours instead”
 of 5 bubbles 568mansik, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5